We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Glorietta Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glorietta Bay Inn
1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Coronado
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location was awesome. We booked two rooms. One was the standard room and the other was a Jr. Suite. The rooms were spacious. The suite had two bathrooms. The hotel was walking distance to restaurants and shops. Their was a fridge and microwave in the room. Beautiful scenery. The place is pricey, but we got a good rate because we attended a wedding in the area. You had a choice to stay in the mansion side or the newer side. I could not tell the difference because the decor was made to look the same as the mansion side. The free breakfast could be better. The muffins were good. I would stay there again in a heart beat either with my family or just as a couple.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jr. suite and it had two bathrooms. There are different size rooms and prices to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    158
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
161
246
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed one night at the GBI. The front desk staff were very helpful and very friendly. It's a nice location. The room was ok and very clean. The bed was comfortable. We stayed in the hotel and not the mansion. They were able to accommodate our early arrival and also gave us beach chairs and towels. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The restored mansion evoked a time past in Coronado. Although the wifi, flat screen TVs and updated rooms provided modern comfort, the architecture and many sepia photos acknowledged the history and grandure of the original mansion. Great location near the beautiful beach and easy walk to restaurants and bars. Delicious coffee available at 6:00 am and a varied continental self-serve breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the history of the inn, the modern amenities it offers, and our 24-hour self-serve coffee. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon, ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spent a week at Glorietta Bay Inn with my wife. The total experience was exceptional and well worth the price. Room was very nice and well appointed. Front desk always cheerful beginning with the phone reservation process though the entire visit. The free breakfast saved us a lot of time and money. Location is central to anything you want to see in Coronado or San Diego. The beach is across the street behind the Del and very convenient. We considered staying at the Del, but having visited the property during our stay, we saw many of their facilities off limits because of "private affairs". Frankly, if I was paying to stay at the Del, and experienced those restrictions, I would be very upset. Out next stay will be at Glorietta Bay. No question about it.

Room Tip: The best rooms are facing the front parking lot, not the ones overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Glorietta Bay Inn. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable from start to finish. Our staff strives every day to perform exceptional customer service to our guests. We hope to see you again! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penhook, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I (who live on the east coast) decided to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary in Coronado CA, where I was born. The hotel was recommended by a friend who lives in San Diego. This was originally a mansion but it has been extended by many rooms which wander all over the place - rather like a labyrinth. Our room was very nice with a balcony and a partial view of the harbor. It was well equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc. Other rooms were in rather dark corridors and may not have been quite as nice. The continental breakfast was quite good, One of the nicest aspects of the hotel is that it is within easy walking distance of several good restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful, making reservations at an excellent restaurant for our anniversary celebration, where we were treated like royalty - even had a VIP card on our table. We would certainly recommend the hotel without reservation, and if/when we return to Coronado, will stay there again.

Room Tip: the top floor (of two) offers better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel to celebrate your 50th anniversary. We’re happy you enjoyed our boutique inn and that our location and friendly service made your stay more comfortable. All of our rooms offer the same wonderful modern amenities such as lighting, flat screen HDTV, mini refrigerator, and coffee maker no matter which location the room is on property. We appreciate your referrals and look forward to seeing you again in the future! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The staff was very helpful and nice at all times. We had Lillie's Room in the Mansion and it had just been redecorated and the updating was done very tastefully. The large screen TVs are really nice and offer many channels. Free internet, although slow. Comfortable bed. Quiet enough. Great A/C. Nice (free) continental breakfast brought to our room in the morning if we ordered the night before. Room and hotel lobby/public areas were clean and kept up nicely. They brought really great cookies and chocolate to our room when the bed was turned down - a classy touch (cookies were SO good). No elevator, though. It was so close to the Hotel Del Coronado, right across the street! We walked over there to eat a couple of times and the GBI is close to other restaurants and shopping that we also took advantage of.

Room Tip: Lillie's Room was really good unless you're looking for a great view. But this room offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our location great and that you liked the new updates to the Lillie's Room. We hope to see you again. Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent Springs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Exceeded our expectations. Beautiful grounds, lush landscape, attentive and personable staff eager to make your trip memorable. Mansion suites delivered as promised and then some - we felt spoiled & pampered. Providing a level of service I thought was a thing of the past....their eagerness and excitement to see the patron enjoy the facilities. It is attention to "all the little details" that hold Glorietta Bay far superior to other options. Can't wait to return with my family.

Room Tip: Mansion suite rooms are worth every penny! Sugar Baron suite was perfect for us as we value the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, Public Relations Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Your comments about your stay at Glorietta Bay Inn made me smile. We know it’s the little things that make your stay more comfortable along with our special mansion suite pampering. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Kelsey McCabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glorietta Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.