We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will certainly return.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Glorietta Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glorietta Bay Inn
1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will certainly return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Glorietta Bay Inn recently and would not hesitation to recommend this lovely hotel. We were made to feel very welcome and even though we arrived early in the day were checked in and even offered breakfast. Our room was spacious, extremely clean and well presented. Breakfast on the patio was lovely way to start each day. There is no restaurant at the Glorietta but there is an extremely good choice close by. We did the historical walk from the hotel and would recommend it to everyone, the guide was very good and it is a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours. We didnt have a car and found the location ideal, taxis and bus stop close at hand and Coronado is a super place to take a break from the City. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    157
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
161
244
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meadowbrook, Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rented a two-room suite for a family reunion (2 seniors, 2 adults, toddler and an infant) stay of four days. Beautifully located facility just steps away from everything, and yet seemingly secluded setting. Staff could not be more friendly and supportive. Rooms and bathrooms clean and comfortable without being ostentatious. Good quality, albeit not extensive, complimentary continental breakfast in lovely setting. Safe environment for kids, who seemed to be welcomed by the staff. Excellent value in this otherwise pricey locale. Downside: no elevators (except a private 2-person elevator to penthouse suite) makes the second floor a little tough on seniors with knee issues or arthritis; no on-site restaurant (but plenty nearby - some quite good, ask at desk for good leads) and vending machines for sodas and snacks on premises along with coin-operated laundry). Also, on-site parking can get tight. Will we go again? You bet. Looking forward to it.

Room Tip: If stairs represent a challenge for any reason, ask for a first-floor accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed for five nights at the Glorietta Bay Inn and we were very impressed with the attention given to us by the staff. The room was comfortable with a microwave and refrigerator. The beds and pillows were first class. The pool was small but adequate and there was a coin operated laundry for guests.That is a plus particularly when travelling with children. The continental breakfast was quite good with a selection of fruit, yoghurt, bread and pastries. The area near the Inn is really beautiful with a beach a short walk away. I would recommend that visitors have a car as we did find it more expensive to travel to various places as the inn is about 10 miles from downtown San Diego. We used a company called Flex Transportation to get us to the zoo, Sea World and Legoland and I would highly recommend them to any person who required transport in the San Diego area. The vans were spotless, the staff friendly and the service exceptional. Thank your for making our visit so pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My Husband and I spent our wedding night at this Hotel. The general Manager Claudia Ludlow receive us, giving us a wonderful welcoming. She took the time and courtesy to give us a tour of the Hotel/ Mansion and share with us the story behind this amazing place. She knew we just got marry so she send us Champagne at our suite following with a plate of homemade coockies and chocolates.
Our experience staying at the Glorietta Mansion was above our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It's one of my favorite hotels in the San Diego area. Located across from the beach and the breakfast is wonderful (alright, fruit!). The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The people who work there are friendly and helpful. Overall, it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were 2 couples traveling together with only a couple of days to enjoy Coronado. We booked the 2 bedroom suite at this hotel. It was exactly what we were looking for! We each had a bedroom with ensuite bathroom, main area large enough to spread out in, with a nice balcony. Mini kitchen was set up with fridge & micro & sink. Altho we weren't staying in the old mansion part of the hotel, we surely enjoyed it during our breakfast there and just exploring. While the hotel does not offer room service or meals other than the continental breakfast, we thought they were 'spot on' in their services. We all found what we were looking for in the breakfast! The location was fabulous for walking around. Place was super clean, the staff all super nice....add in the reasonable price, what else would you want?

Room Tip: I think I would book anywhere in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beginning with the front desk staff, to the bellman, housekeeping and morning breakfast staff, you couldn't ask for more professional, friendly, accomodating people. They all could'nt have done enough for you, without even asking. They knew exactly what to do. In addition, the room was immaculate and the pool was sparkling. The Glorietta Bay is my definite destination when staying on Coronado Island.
Maria Salvio

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, General Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Ms. Salvio,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate you coming to stay with us and hope to see you soon.

Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glorietta Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.