We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Coronado Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glorietta Bay Inn to your Saves list
Glorietta Bay Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing Coronado Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a four night stay here. We splurged and stayed in The Mansion - room 102 - The Sugar Baron. We had a very delightful stay and were so happy we opted to stay in the mansion. Our king sized bed was extremely comfortable and my husband just loved our huge balcony. Our room's balcony had a table for four and chez lounge and some planters -- it is big with a view overlooking the pool and marina. You could also see the ocean (and parking lot too). We made use of the in room refigeratior and free wi-fi! We thought our room was quiet and we had a very, very relaxing stay. (The TV's could use an upgrade our room had a VHS deck! However this was a minor hitch as we were on vacation and hardly watched any TV.)

The staff was exteremely friendly. John who worked in the evenings at the front desk- really made us feel welcome and provided excellent service. The GBI is a smaller / boutique hotel - but I think this works in its favor as everyone here made us feel extremely welcome and special. The GBI has a great location - it is super close to the beach and lots of shops and resturants. It is located on a fairly busy street but this did not seem to effect our stay at all. The free continental breakfast was also very good. As a nice added touch -- every afternoon there was free lemonade and cookies in the lobby and also a turn down service at night that featured tasty cookies and milk. There were a lot of little touches that added up to us having a wonderful vacation. We will definitely be staying at The GBI again!!

Room Tip: Splurge - ask for the Sugar Baron - room 102 - huge balacony and super comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    196
    38
    18
    9
See reviews for
211
326
30
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Glorietta Bay Inn, in Coronado, a couple of times now and have felt very spoiled each time .

I have stayed in many hotels in my life but I can honestly say the people who work at this hotel are the nicest, friendliest, helpful people working in the hotel industry. Everyone from the Housekeeping staff and the maintenance crew to the front office staff and the Managers, go out of their way to say "Good Morning" everyday. Whenever they see you around the property they ask how your stay is?, how are you doing?, if you need anything?. They go above and beyond.

The property is prettily landscaped, the rooms very clean and housekeeping friendly.

This hotel is situated across from the Hotel Del Coronado on Orange Ave., (which is the busy main road that runs thru Coronado) but the way the hotel is located you would not think it was on a busy road.

I have a bad back and was uncomfortable with the mattress in the room (it was a good mattress, my Hubby slept well on it, just unfortunately not good for me), so these guys would not stop until they had changed the mattress out twice and found one that worked for me. That is how amazing they are. All done with cheerful sincerity :)

The hotel is great value; check on line for discounted rates. Also, there are a variety of rooms :)

I Highly recommend this hotel :) They just make you feel so happy to be there :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am a Personal Assistant who recently booked this hotel for my client who was attending a conference nearby. She was incredibly happy with her room with balcony, and most of all the complimentary wifi as so many other hotels charge a ridiculous price for this. One thing which I hadn't realised when booking this venue is that they do not have a restaurant, so they do not offer lunch, dinner or room service but it wasn't a problem as there were plenty of places locally for my client to dine.
My client also wanted to host a business meeting with an important guest during her stay here so we were offered to hire the one-bedroom suite with living area and kitchen which actually worked perfectly for the type of meeting my client was hosting. At first I thought that not being able to provide catering was going to be a major inconvenience however Raj at the hotel was incredibly helpful, he recommended a wonderful caterer (Continental Catering SD) who delivered excellent lunch for the occasion. My client really wanted me to thank all of the staff for their excellent care of her and of her business client, so thank-you team she really enjoyed her stay here and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Despite the serenity their publicity photos suggest, the GBI is actually located on a busy street corner across the main drag from the Del Coronado. It's not quiet, but it is convenient to many shops and restaurants and is within easy walking distance of the beach. Downtown San Diego tourist locations are a quick 5-6 miles away on the other side of the Coronado bridge (no toll).

Our balcony room nominally overlooked the pool, but the front parking lot dominated the view. A few balcony rooms overlook the side street with the marina on the other side--the only views to be had from balcony rooms. Our room was on the small side with a very small outdated bathroom/sink area. Fridge, but no microwave.

Staff is excellent; service is very friendly and helpful. Good marks for the included breakfast which has the usual pastries, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, cold cereal, cottage cheese. They also have fresh brewed coffee available 24/7.

Parking is $10 per day, a fact that's not widely advertised.

Room Tip: Most patio rooms border parking lots. Those that don't are in courtyards that don't get muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Price is better than the other hotels around the area. Rooms are a bit sparse not much to recommend but the location and ambiance. Best thing about Coronado is the beach - golden sands, fantastic sunset.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GloriettaBay, General Manager at Glorietta Bay Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review from October. While you are correct our location is on the corner of the main drag, we do hope that you enjoyed what the property had to offer. I hope that you will head this way again in the future, and if you do you will give us another chance. We are currently in the process of renovating rooms and continually work at beautify our property.

Thank you again for your review, we value each one as it helps us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Check out their on-line specials which offer great discounts. We chose the Historic package that included two nights, a DVD of "Some Like It Hot" (the nearby Del Coronado Hotel was where the film was shot), a $25 restaurant voucher, some candy and a free ticket to a walking tour. What a great deal...and we got to stay in well appointed deluxe rooms. The staff is very professional and helpful. When we phoned the front desk because we were experiencing difficulty connecting with their free WiFi internet service, a technician was at our door in minutes to help. The old mansion is elegant and historic. You'll enjoy breakfast in the library or out on the sunny patio.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived at The Glorietta Bay Inn just before 11am as we had just come of a cruise ship. We expected that we would have to leave our luggage and come back for check in, but the staff (especially Mike) could not have been more helpful and said that our room was ready for occupation. The room was a good size with a table and 2 chairs, and a good size bathroom. There is a swimming pool and outside terrace where you can enjoy the view towards the harbour. Continental breakfast is complimentary and there was a good choice which was more than adequate. Coffee and tea are available throughout the day. Just before we were due to checkout we noticed that one of our suitcases had been damaged (presumably when it came off the cruise ship). The only solution we could think of was to put some duck tape round it, and once again Mike came up trumps sending one of his maintenance staff to do a repair job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 18 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
12.9 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#2 of 25 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glorietta Bay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glorietta Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.