We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glorietta Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added Glorietta Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glorietta Bay Inn
1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$159 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a standard king size room overlooking the marina - yes you do have to overlook the carpark in the foreground but its really not that bad!
It was a great room with all the amenities of a good, clean standard hotel room that is tastefully decorated - no flamboyant tropical print here!
beautiful breakfast room and perfect position near the amentities of Hotel del Corondado, the marina and Orange Ave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    164
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
171
252
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed in an upper floor suite with a bedroom and sofa sleeper. It was spacious--had two bathrooms, a balcony and some kitchen accommodations. No view of the bay, but we still enjoyed it. The location is close to the beach at the Del Coronado and many restaurants along Orange Avenue. Except when going into San Diego, we walked everywhere. The picturesque marina was a stroll away and we ambled through the surrounding quiet neighborhoods admiring the historic homes. We were in the area to visit San Diego State University which was about 20 minutes away when we drove there in mid-morning. The wifi was free and dependable. We've had better complimentary breakfasts but this one was fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just got back from a 3 night vacation on Coronadoa and have only the best things to say about the hotel and staff. We arrived early in the morning (9:30) and our bay view room was not ready yet so they gave us a temporary room to use at no charge until it was ready. The staff is incredibly friendly, and they went out of their way to make us feel at home. Our room had a great veiw of the Glorietta Bay, and was just a short walk to the beach. We also had a late night flight when we left so they gave us an extended checkout as well. I would defintely stay here again. Only draw back was the nearby Naval Air Base. Sunday and Monday were quiet, but Tuesday they flew helicpopters over the beach all day long and well into the night on training missions (every 5 minutes another one buzzed overhead), so eventually it got pretty annoying. Wednesday was also pretty noisy on the beach as well from the helicopters, but not as bad as Tuesday.

Room Tip: Pay the few extra dollars for a bay view room, it is well worth it. The morning sunshine comes in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 4 nite stay ..my friend and I met there for her birthday..she mentioned it was to be a birthday get together..there was wine and baloons waiting in the room.!!!!we arrived at 11 am..they let us in immediately ..no need to wait till 3 pm ck in.very comfortable room overlooking the bay,free breakfast ,professional and friendly staff.we walked across the road to the famous del hotel..happy we stayed at the inn and saved money..right on orange ave...close to great little shops and restaurants...definitely the best hotel I ever stayed at....

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Glorietta Bay Inn is warm, inviting, serene, quiet, charming, and clean. The staff and management team exceeded my expectations for our 4 day get away. The morning breakfast was great and the presentation was wonderful. I intend to book another get a way there very soon. We walked to several shops and nearby restaurants which were locally owned and operated. We did not need a car to get around and had easy access to the Trolley and bus line to go to San Diego. The beach is across the road and it has easy access from the hotel. Highly recommend for family or couples or girlfriend get a ways!!

Room Tip: Bay View recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were here only one night , Asked for a quiet room away from the pool , and that's what we had . Great bedding , love good sheets ,small , clean , ask for a second floor room bay view . people smoking by the pool and on the 1st floor patios was a bit of a turn off .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from The Glorietta Bay Inn and had the most wonderful time there. It's located across the street from The Hotel Del in a great location and also sits across the street from the bay overlooking the water and sailboats. We stayed for three nights. There were three of us sharing a double (two queen beds) room and we were on the second floor overlooking the pool. Very pleasant and close to the hot tub, the lobby and the breakfast room. This place was very quiet, clean and had nice amenities for the shower. Loved the balcony where we sat and had a nice glass of red wine in the evenings. The wine came free with the package we had, as did the breakfast and the parking. The beds were SUPER comfortable with big puffy pillows. The front desk staff was really nice, mailed our postcards for free (they have a stamp machine there), opened the doors for us when we walked out and made nice suggestions for dinner our first evening on Coronado. We ate at the Brigantine. Had the Napa Valley Nacho's (OMG SO GOOD) and shared the fish tacos. Excellent.
The complimentary breakfast was really great. It consisted of hard boiled eggs, bagels, pastries, granola, yogurt, orange,apple and cranberry juice, fresh mango (YUM!!) and pineapple, melon as well as cottage cheese, oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins, muffins, cereal, coffee and a nice tea selection. Much better than most places I've been who offer a continental breakfast.The staff there was always so pleasant, always smiling.
We came back to the hotel in the evenings and enjoyed a hot cup of tea in the beautiful lobby, where they had a player piano playing.
I highly recommend this hotel. Not ONE complaint. It was just wonderful and the location on Coronado could not have been better. Walking distance to the beach and all the shops too. Wish we could have stayed longer~ We will be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We asked for their best view with two beds and were given the room on the second floor overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glorietta Bay Inn is Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Glorietta Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glorietta Bay Coronado
Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glorietta Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.