We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Coronado Island Inn to your Saves list
Coronado Island Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Island Inn
301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Honolulu, HI
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Return Guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

This is our second trip to stay here and it is all about the price. We found the rooms be exceptionally clean. Also, we were able to use all the amenties at the other property coronado inn so we enjoyed swimming ang using there barbecues. We also found that they do not charge any more for 2beds and many of the rooms have kitchens. We will be back again next year.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BURBANK, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

The location of this hotel is actually very nice, right in the middle of the island. The cleanliness is another issue, our bathroom was cleaned twice in one weekend and the bathroom floor had hair from the previous tenant still on it when we left. The coverspreads to the bed were stained and filthy. So it's not worth the price unless you clean the place yourself and bring your own bedding.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surprise, az
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

Good price for the area but soooo noisy! I had read other reviews and therefore requested the quietest room they had. I did not get the quietest, I got the loudest, right on the corner of both of the busy streets. If you want to sleep through the night, do not stay in room 106! Otherwise, the room was a good size and clean. I recommend you bring earplug regardless of the room you stay in.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — how loud it was
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights as part of our trip around southern California. We loved it. The hotel itself is beautiful and has a wonderful charm about it. The hotel lobby is fantastic with an oversized chandelier in the centre and the original old fashioned lift.
We stayed in the most standard rooms which wasn't huge and the bathroom was extremely small but I suppose you get what you pay for. Apart from size the room was very clean and well serviced. The only other downside is the pools. There are two but both are very small. One advantage was that there was an adult only pool so it was nice to have a more peacful area to soak up the sun.
There are several restaurants at the hotel and the shops are lovely to walk around. The beach is also a bonus, very nice place to stroll by day or night.
Coronado Island itself is wonderful with its small boutique shops and variety of restaurants and cafes. The atmosphere is very laid back and the people are very friendly. Its only a short hop over the bridge to downtown San Diego too if you are looking to do some shopping or take in the numerous bars and restaurants. We would definately go back.

  • Liked — character
  • Disliked — room size and pools
  • Tips/Secrets — Shop around for the best deal. its an expensive hotel but we got the best deal with AA Vacations
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

We traveled on a budget this summer and loved to visit Coronado and did not want to spend alot on a hotel room. We found this hotel upon checking around the city and found it to be the least expensive. We liked that there is no fees for parking and with the price we got a continental breakfast. I would like to come back some day to Coronado and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2004

This hotel is so over-rated I just can't beleive it. When you arrive at the front desk, they act super nice, and sweet...Then, the charges come in. $12.00 Resort Fee $16.00 Parking Fee (WOW!). We were promised a free breakfast, but they didn't deliver as promised. Our room was moldy and nosiy and toilet was hard to flush. We were not informed that there was a naval base in the area. We LOVE our service men and our Country, but this was suspossed to be a "QUIET HOTEL". Jet fighters fly over area every 5 to 6 minutes. We ran out of towels, and called three times. It was 50 minutes before we finally received our towels.The management was indiffenet to our concerns and cared less. This hotel is extremely overpriced, extremely noisy and not what they promise or tell you about. Please people, save your time, money, and find some other hotel to stay at. I hope this review helps others, so they won't have to go through the hell we went through. Best to you all!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coronado Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Inn

Address: 301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Island Inn is located in Coronado, CA, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. The hotel is centrally located and is only a short distance from local shops and restaurants. Recently renovated, the Coronado Island Inn is perfect for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Coronado Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Island Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.