We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no thanks” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Coronado Island Inn to your Saves list
Coronado Island Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Island Inn
301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Coronado
San Diego
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“no thanks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for work travel. I was in the "annex" across the intersection. Traffic noise wasn't as bad as I expected, but the bed was TERRIBLE. The entire room is run down looking, it has a window A/C unit stuck in the wall, and the bathroom vent fan is connected to the light so fan runs the entire time the light is on - very noisy! I left after one night for a room at the Marriot that was ONLY $4 more for a government rate and obviously was about 1000 times nicer... I had no issues with wifi or the water buy my coworker 3 doors down couldn't connect to wifi and had to take a cold shower!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Planet Earth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Comicon - other reviews are actuate as to bad wifi (apple devices would not connect) sulfur smell coming from water - ran sinks and toilets and it largely went away. I never received an email confirmation on my room had to call and confirm it went through. Room description said there was fridge and microwave but only had fridge, room was quiet enough being on one of the busiest intersections on Coronado. Room was size of postage stamp. Two beds, fridge, tv, night stand bathroom. Outside security lights shine into room windows at night. Shades would not block it. I finally went out and unscrewed the bulb for the night. I was good a put it back in the am. We arrived and an HBO guide was on our bed. HBO was no where to be found on the TV. Called desk to ask what channel it was and they did not know but promised to call back. Never heard from them again. Location was walking distance to Ferry landing and a few shops and restaurants. The place has room for improvement for sure and I had low expectations going in so it did not shock me badly. I would only stay here if I needed a basic bed for the night and nothing else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

At $99 per night, I won't tell you that the Coronado Island Inn was overpriced. Apparently, it was not for Coronado Island. I will tell you to set your expectations to the fact that this is among the lowest priced hotels on the Island.

While not all rooms are identical, I had a small refrigerator in mine, which was nice. The TV also had a lot of channels for a hotel TV. The staff was very friendly. If you don't mind walking across the busiest road in Coronado, they have a descent pool at their more upscale, connected Coronado Inn. Breakfast was okay...it did include nice fresh fruit. Parking is free, and the parking lot was really nice and easy-to-access from the rooms.

But, after that, the hotel quality begins to really drop. First, the Internet: it barely worked. If this matters you, stay elsewhere. My room (104) smelled very stale, not quite of sewer, but the smell did emanate from the bathroom. The fan in the bathroom was so loud, I didn't turn it on, and did all my bathroom stuff in the dark. The ceilings are thin, so if you get someone above you who is loud, you will hear them. The bed wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great. Otherwise, it was a very basic room, that suited me fine as I spent very little time in it.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Every time we travel to San Diego we stay at the Coronado Inn with our pets. Always a pleasant stay. We reserve the same room every trip.Hotel is always very clean and the grounds are very well kept. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 51 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I looked for a hotel that was near restaurants and bars while in San Diego. The Coronado Island Inn was one block from restaurants, a liquor store and a market. I had booked the weekend here as the Island Inn's website looked nice.

1) We had arrived late. Well, the check-in was across the street at the Coronado Inn. Once in the room, we noticed the T.V. remote did not work and it was not the same brand as the T.V. I called the front desk to see if they could exchange it or fix it, but they tried walking me through programming the remote. After numerous tries, they said they would send someone first thing in the morning.

2) We had a hard time with the Wifi. Yes, it usually is really easy to enter the passcode and login. Once I was able to enter the passcode, the Wifi was unusable. Called the front desk again, this time they told me that their system does not work with Apple devices. So, all of you Yelpers with Apple iPhones, iPads and Laptops should not stay here then, right?

3) One of the windows would not completely close, so it was cold at night. The other windows did open and close.

4) The Coronado Island Inn is on the main road onto Coronado Island and it is noisy all day and night. If you are a light sleeper, this is not a place for you.

5) Next issue was the shower. The water started backing up and not drain. This happened from the first shower upon arrival as well as the last shower on Sunday.

The next day after a day of fishing the bay, the remote was not reprogrammed or replaced. The service reliability here is terrible. I called again to complain about the remote and Wifi. The front desk said they would send someone to fix or replace the remote, and he showed up within 20 minutes.

6) On a busy weekend, the Coronado Island Inn does not have enough parking spaces. I had to park a block away.

7) This facility does not have an ice machine, but a freezer to hold bags of ice. Well, there was no ice all weekend.

Room Tip: Its cheap with issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

negatives:
The comforters on the beds felt dirty -- wife and I had itchy skin throughout the night. Room has very poor sound and temperature insulation so it got extremely cold in the room during the night and could hear whenever cars drove by. The heater/AC is a wall unit with a broken vent panel so it was somewhat weird. The TV remote didn't work. The shower had poor water pressure.

positives:
The checkin counter was very friendly. The bed mattress was pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I love the clean, simple, basic, and very affordable rooms that allow me and my family to spend a couple of extra vacation days every year in a gorgeous location. The affordable rooms ensure that we have extra spending cash for anything we want to do around town. There's even a cute pool to cool of in the evening after coming back from the beach. Walking distance to restaurants and to the ferry landing. Be realistic in your expectations, and you will not be disappointed. We always had a very friendly staff, and we've been lucky enough to never have had loud neighbors. Hopefully our luck will hold, we're definitely going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coronado Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Inn

Address: 301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Island Inn is located in Coronado, CA, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. The hotel is centrally located and is only a short distance from local shops and restaurants. Recently renovated, the Coronado Island Inn is perfect for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Coronado Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Island Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.