We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coronado's best value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Coronado Island Inn to your Saves list
Coronado Island Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Island Inn
301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
“Coronado's best value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Every time we travel to San Diego we stay at the Coronado Inn with our pets. Always a pleasant stay. We reserve the same room every trip.Hotel is always very clean and the grounds are very well kept. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 51 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carson, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I looked for a hotel that was near restaurants and bars while in San Diego. The Coronado Island Inn was one block from restaurants, a liquor store and a market. I had booked the weekend here as the Island Inn's website looked nice.

1) We had arrived late. Well, the check-in was across the street at the Coronado Inn. Once in the room, we noticed the T.V. remote did not work and it was not the same brand as the T.V. I called the front desk to see if they could exchange it or fix it, but they tried walking me through programming the remote. After numerous tries, they said they would send someone first thing in the morning.

2) We had a hard time with the Wifi. Yes, it usually is really easy to enter the passcode and login. Once I was able to enter the passcode, the Wifi was unusable. Called the front desk again, this time they told me that their system does not work with Apple devices. So, all of you Yelpers with Apple iPhones, iPads and Laptops should not stay here then, right?

3) One of the windows would not completely close, so it was cold at night. The other windows did open and close.

4) The Coronado Island Inn is on the main road onto Coronado Island and it is noisy all day and night. If you are a light sleeper, this is not a place for you.

5) Next issue was the shower. The water started backing up and not drain. This happened from the first shower upon arrival as well as the last shower on Sunday.

The next day after a day of fishing the bay, the remote was not reprogrammed or replaced. The service reliability here is terrible. I called again to complain about the remote and Wifi. The front desk said they would send someone to fix or replace the remote, and he showed up within 20 minutes.

6) On a busy weekend, the Coronado Island Inn does not have enough parking spaces. I had to park a block away.

7) This facility does not have an ice machine, but a freezer to hold bags of ice. Well, there was no ice all weekend.

Room Tip: Its cheap with issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

negatives:
The comforters on the beds felt dirty -- wife and I had itchy skin throughout the night. Room has very poor sound and temperature insulation so it got extremely cold in the room during the night and could hear whenever cars drove by. The heater/AC is a wall unit with a broken vent panel so it was somewhat weird. The TV remote didn't work. The shower had poor water pressure.

positives:
The checkin counter was very friendly. The bed mattress was pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I love the clean, simple, basic, and very affordable rooms that allow me and my family to spend a couple of extra vacation days every year in a gorgeous location. The affordable rooms ensure that we have extra spending cash for anything we want to do around town. There's even a cute pool to cool of in the evening after coming back from the beach. Walking distance to restaurants and to the ferry landing. Be realistic in your expectations, and you will not be disappointed. We always had a very friendly staff, and we've been lucky enough to never have had loud neighbors. Hopefully our luck will hold, we're definitely going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This has to be one of the last remaining original motels on the island. WE ended up here because we neglected to make reservations early enough to capture a more desirable property. The Coronado Island Inn rooms are very small. The motel is at the corner of two of the busiest streets on the island, so commuter noise is as bad as it gets. But the rooms are fairly well insulated. The worst noise comes from the antiquated air conditioning unit mounted to the rear wall of our room. Strangely, one can adjust to the lack of sophistication and amenities ... and the place begins to endear itself to you. But if I had a choice, I'd probably start earlier next year to find a more desirable hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the sister motel across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

First let me say that I read all of the reviews for 2012 before making our reservations here, and those were very helpful in setting realistic expectations of this property. I find that I sometimes need that 'reminder' so the I give properties a fair shake.

Room was a great size, clean, and neat. Water pressure was horrible, TV remote had a mind of its own, and the internet never worked. If I had asked for a new remote, they would have given it to us, but we were only there 1 night and it was late. The water pressure was evidently a water leak they didn't know about till I told them when we checked out. For a resort island, and on the main drag - that was a good value for the money and a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same side of the street as the pool - as this property is split into 2 locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a quick overnight in San Deigo. This property was only about 15 minutes from the meeting in "central" SD, but was just a reasonable walk to a dog beach. The rooms are all on a platform, so when our neighbors came in around 3 am, it was pretty loud with foot thunking (only was to describe it). The room had all the essentials, and was fairly basic. The fridge and microwave were awesome to have for keeping frosty beverages frosty. Our only snafu was upon checkout, where a billing question we had a couple of days later was only answered after we gave them a deadline or "we would dispute the charges and write a bad review." Over all, it was a basic, clean property with a friendly staff, very dog friendly, and we would likely return. If you are expecting luxury, then cough up a few hundred dollars more per night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coronado Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Inn

Address: 301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Island Inn is located in Coronado, CA, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. The hotel is centrally located and is only a short distance from local shops and restaurants. Recently renovated, the Coronado Island Inn is perfect for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Coronado Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Island Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.