We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Island Inn

Save Saved
You added Coronado Island Inn to your Saves list
Coronado Island Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coronado Island Inn
301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011 via mobile

Adequate room, great location, and very friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

if you are looking for a clean and affordable place to stay on Coronado Island then this is it. It's a short walk to eat and go shopping down at the ferry landing. our family stayed here and was able to go across the street to the coronado inn for the breakfast and even used the guest computers to map out directions. i was happy that we could afford to stay here on the island and will be back with my family again.

Room Tip: downstairs corner room was our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta,georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

we just stayed last week after seeing it on line and what a nice place to stay. because i booked it online i was concerned with the rate being so low but when we arrived we were surprised at how nice everything was. they had flat screen tvs. i would recommend this to anyone looking for a great value on the island.

Room Tip: ask for upstairs it maybe a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We were not expecting luxury by any means, but this was worse than a Motel 6. The bathroom floor was peeling up; stand alone tiny shower; no bathroom vent (probably why the floor is peeling up); linens were beyond poor quality (thinest/tiniest towels possible); toilet would not flush all the way unless you stood there and held the handle down for 20 seconds or so; very old, unsupportive mattress. Certain staff members are nice - depends who you get. Make sure they charge you the price you booked it for if you book online - they raised our price, but I had brought my online reservation receipt so they lowered it back down. They will call cabs for you. We thought it was relatively clean, but it needs repair and updating. It did have a mini kitchen -fridge, stove, microwave, sink. To check in/out or talk to the staff had to cross the busiest intersection on the island (took about 5 minutes) because the main property is caddy corner from this one. The shower takes 5-10 minutes to heat up to a semi-warm temperature and then it would give short bursts of scalding hot or freezing cold water throughout our showers. There are no deadbolts, just a regular lock that someone could break into with a credit card - a little concerning considering that the rooms walk right out onto the busiest intersection of the island. We put a chair under the doorknob to feel a bit more secure at night. Their continental breakfast consisted of packaged Hostess desserts/pastries, "juice" (not real juice), and coffee. We could walk to the beach and restaurants (about a mile though, so if you aren't into walking much -something to consider). I noticed the owner claimed in April 2009 that the hotel addressed the issues prior reviewers posted, but this is obviously a false statement. Don't expect much if you stay here - it is the cheapest price on the island for a reason. Even though it was a cheap price - I still think it wasn't worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The price for this hotel was good - $89 but that was about it. The hotel is on the busiest street in Coronado so expect a noisy evening. All of the traffic coming on the island stops at the corner where this hotel is. There are no dead bolt locks on the doors. The room is small with no frills. You have to walk across the street to check in where they do have juice and coffee and there is a continental breakfast in the morning. There is no guarantee parking although it is free and there is not enough parking. The place is somewhat dirty with bugs. The bugs enter around the air conditioner since there is no seal. It is close to the ferry/water taxi area. I would look for another place next time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I usually don't feel compelled to write a review of my hotel stays. In this case I am going to make an exception. My room was clean, modern and secure. But it was the staff and ownership who in this case made the difference. On the second evening of my stay I went to the Gaslamp District in San Diego for dinner (restuarant wil remain anonomous) and had my purse stolen from the table. Upon my return the staff became aware of my situation and in the morning there was a knock at the door, it was the owner of the inn. To my surprise he offered cash, use of a cell phone and his pledge to help me with anything I needed. In fact, he even offered a tip on horse running at Del Mar which I later found out had won and paid nearly $20.00 off a $2.00 bet. Thanks for everything, you've made a friend for life!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I shudder thinking about this place. Yes, the staff is extremely friendly and professional. But no, I would never stay here again. There was no lock or deadbolt to lock the door and we were right on the first floor (motel style). The room was so old and dated and the bathroom was a nightmare. There was no room to put anything. It was just a little box of a room. The complementary breakfast is Hostess cupcakes and packaged Cinnabuns. The onsite parking is extremely limited so you have to park on sidestreets, if you can find a spot that doesn't block someone's house. I would not ever stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronadoinn, Owner at Coronado Island Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
The Coronado Island Inn has just completed a remodel that addressed the concerns of our guests. We spent time listening to what each guest had to say and feel that we have done everything possible to correct the problems this guest experienced. The new remodel will satisfy all of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronado Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Inn

Address: 301 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Island Inn is located in Coronado, CA, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. The hotel is centrally located and is only a short distance from local shops and restaurants. Recently renovated, the Coronado Island Inn is perfect for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Coronado Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Island Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.