We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place,awesome breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villanueva Restaurant

Villanueva Restaurant
956 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
(619) 435-4191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 89 Restaurants in Coronado
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Hermosillo, Mexico
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Nice little place,awesome breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Loved the breakfast! I ordered the California omelette and it was delightful. It came with square potatoes with I think it was paprika and pepper, and to the other side, a little croissant(it was some sort of salty croissant). I didn't know what to order because everything looks delicious. They also have a nice selection of coffee,and I liked the cozyness of the little place.
The service was Ok. They were busy, but the waitress seems smiling all the time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“pretty pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ate breakfast here and I had a hard time choosing between all the pretty pastries and the more savoury egg dishes. Every dish I saw looked tasty and generously-portioned. It was busy and noisy when we were there and the staff seemed a bit under pressure so the service was not ideal. You place your order at the counter, serve your own coffee and find a table to sit down and await your food. Our meals were quite goodand reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Cute little place to have breakfast. I had the California omelette and it was delicious! The potatoes were on spot! The staff were very friendly and the pastries all looked divine! We took two muffins to go. I can't wait to try th!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cos
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice visit if you are willing to wait a long time for your meal. We all had omelets and they were excellent. Pastries were on the high average end with the croissants not having the typical texture - a little on the tough side. A great upside is they give a 10% military discount - and they ask if you are active duty so it is not a secret. The restaurant is self-seating so it was difficult to get a table during the breakfast rush so plan accordingly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious omelets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Although small, this cafe serves delicious food. Our family ate breakfast here twice and both times the food was excellent! It was a little pricey for breakfast (we spent 30) for two but overall we would go back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villanueva Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Villanueva Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villanueva Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.