We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brunch in 50 Years of Travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheerwater

Sheerwater
1500 Orange Avenue, Hotel Del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118-2918
+1 619-522-8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheerwater is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 86 Restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Sheerwater offers California coastal cuisine: regional specialties that emphasize bold flavor, tantalizing spices and seasonally inspired menus. Relax on the umbrella-dotted patio overlooking the sea at this casual Coronado restaurant. Feast on fresh local seafood, delicious smoked meats with house made barbecue sauces and slaws, flatbreads, sandwiches and salads, plus an expansive breakfast buffet. Serving breakfast, lunch, cocktails, light fare and dinner daily.
Carefree
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Best Brunch in 50 Years of Travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Loved dining out on the patio with morning sun and fresh air. The food was delectable - everything any palate could desire. Disliked the plastic curtain being down to block open air.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Sheerwater. Please come back and dine with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    123
    67
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Great food; service was a little pushy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

The Sheerwater at the Hotel del Cornado is a legend. Now, if I say a hotel restuarant is good, I always need to add the disclaimer, "for a hotel restaurant." But the Sheerwater was just plain good, no disclaimer necessary. I had the tortilla soup, which was boiling hot and tasty. My steak was cooked to a perfect medium. My only complaint was the service - our waiter was a bit pushy.

More on our time in San Diego:
http://justanothertravelblog.blogspot.com/search/label/San%20Diego

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for sharing your great experience and endorsement of Sheerwater. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
“So-So lunch for $75 with no alcohol!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Sheerwater restaurant currently overlooks the temporary skating rink, so the sea view is very minimal, even from the outdoor terrace.
We had lunch here and I was very disappointed by the quality of service and the bland food.
The waiter firstly brought the wrong order and then brought my cioppino whilst I was only half way through my starter. He then almost hurried us along; whisking the bowl away as soon as I took the last mouthful and then produced the desert menu. (We declined and ate elsewhere)!
The cioppino itself was plentiful very, very bland and with a thick film of grease on the top. I have certainly eaten better at far finer establishments!
The advantage of eating here is that you can wander thought the hotel and soak up the history. However, if I eat here again, it will be at the bar and for far less than the $75 we shelled out for a mediocre lunch (with no alcohol).

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to assess our guests' praises as well as concerns and act accordingly. We are truly sorry that there were issues with your lunch at Sheerwater in which you were not satisfied. Thank you again for your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Breakfast or Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Particularly enjoyable is the Sheerwater breakfast buffet. Great view of the ocean. Good selection of breakfast fare. Lunch is also very pleasant with choices that you won't find everywhere.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at Sheerwater and its spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southrn California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Love the Sheerwater!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Sheerwater at the Del is one of my favorite costal SoCal hang-outs for a leisurly lunch, with incredible ambiance, basking in the shade of an over-sized umbrella on the veranda, just steps from the Pacific. The food is good, if not great. The staff is most often spectacular, which is quite a feat as they are most often quite crowded. The food is not inexpensive, but resort-reasonable...

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Sheerwater, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to our oceanfront restaurant. We strive to provide exceptional service and appreciate your recognition of our wonderful staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheerwater also viewed

 

Been to Sheerwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheerwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.