We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place we visited in San Diego!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tartine

Tartine
1106 1st St, Coronado, CA 92118-1407
619-435-4323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 81 restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Hammond, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite place we visited in San Diego!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Amazing! I can't truly find words to describe the desserts and pastries at Tartine. We found this gem by accident on our visit to Coronado Island. It was the closest place to the parking spot we found. How lucky we were to find Tartine! We were in San Diego for 5 days and visited Tartine 3 times within that time frame. The first meal I had a chicken curry salad, and my husband had the chicken curry on a sandwich. We split a piece of cheesecake that was "divine". It was the most incredible cheese cake I have ever had. We went back two more times for breakfast and enjoyed their quiche. The wait staff knew who we were by the last visit. We even took a box of cookies home to Chicago with us!

There is great comfortable seating inside or outside the restaurant. All the menu items seemed tempting. If we lived in San Diego, I think we would go to Tartine at least once a week! if you live in the San Diego or Coronado area, please do yourself a favor and visit Tartine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    62
    42
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice place for a relaxed breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went on a Friday morning. Biked from Marriott, about 20 minutes. On the corner of First and Orange. Sat outside on the patio. Service a tad slow but we were not in a hurry. I had a strawberry vanilla scone (under $4), and a espresso-excellent. My wife had Quiche with fruit and I ended up eating at least half- it was a huge slice for $10. She had a latte. Outside seating was nice to people watch.

Great for breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trendy idea with meh follow through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's a trendy little spot, the wait staff is often discombobulated and distracted, the menu lacks range and the prices are ridiculous - but they are happily located in an easily accessible area - overall its not worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were staying nearby and just happened to walk in. The food was outstanding! My three-year old was tired after a day at the beach and the staff went out of there way to bring him a snack and keep him happy-a rare find in any CA restaurant. The pastries were to die for and beautiful. I wish this lovely place was near my house. Go and be happy here!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat in Coronado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Tartine's is my first stop when I go to Coronado. Everything I've tried at Tartine's is wonderful but my favorite is the Pan Seared Flat Iron Steak. It's perfectly cooked, the salad is tasty and the pomme frites with aioli is delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartine also viewed

 

Been to Tartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.