We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn

The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coronado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn
Save
You added The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn to your Saves list
1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Whitefish Bay, WI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Note: This is the same review that I posted for the Glorietta Bay Inn main review page.

We have been to Coronado quite often, but never have stayed here. From now on we will always stay here!
From the moment that we arrived early on a Friday morning, we were treated extremely well (A special shout out to Georgia at the Front Desk!) Somehow our room (in the Mansion) was ready for us after our red eye flight from Hawaii. This let us know that this place was going to be focused on us...the guests of the hotel.
The rooms are smaller than modern hotels, but therein lies the beauty of the place. Comfortable beds, turn down service (with cookies!), and a well appointed continental breakfast with outdoor seating all lead me to state that this is a great place!
The customer service even extended to allowing us a later check out when our flight plans changed without batting an eyelash!
Thanks again!

Room Tip: Sunset Room #104 Talk to Georgia at the Front Desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Switz City, Indiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have stayed here in the past several times, the rooms are becoming tired. We lived there 42 years ago while in the Navy. We had a king suite that faced the harbor. The room was fine, but not for 250 a night. The bath is extremely small, no tub shower only, door is totally in the way. The hotel has beautiful flowers and they keep it very clean. Easy walk to downtown. They charge extra for parking, breakfast is good, no meat. The laundry does a good job at a low cost. I think next time around we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

One never thinks of hotels in America that are B&B's. This hotel provided a Continental breakfast which was sufficient, the staff very helpful. My thanks to Mrs Hopkins, she is very professional. Other names I like to mention is Mrs. G. Kirkhead and Mr. M. Murrell. Thank you all for your help.
The location is opposite a marina, not too far from the beach and one can get free towels and small beach chairs. There was also free cookies, coffee and lemonade, what a sweet touch.
The location is beautiful and one can take long walks along the beach, hire bikes, take the trolley, sit at the many restaurants, cafe's.
Also not too far from all the attractions. What an incredible place. Our hotel room had a small balcony and it is nice just to relax outside your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, which is on the first floor. If possible, a room with a view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a four night stay here. We splurged and stayed in The Mansion - room 102 - The Sugar Baron. We had a very delightful stay and were so happy we opted to stay in the mansion. Our king sized bed was extremely comfortable and my husband just loved our huge balcony. Our room's balcony had a table for four and chez lounge and some planters -- it is big with a view overlooking the pool and marina. You could also see the ocean (and parking lot too). We made use of the in room refigeratior and free wi-fi! We thought our room was quiet and we had a very, very relaxing stay. (The TV's could use an upgrade our room had a VHS deck! However this was a minor hitch as we were on vacation and hardly watched any TV.)

The staff was exteremely friendly. John who worked in the evenings at the front desk- really made us feel welcome and provided excellent service. The GBI is a smaller / boutique hotel - but I think this works in its favor as everyone here made us feel extremely welcome and special. The GBI has a great location - it is super close to the beach and lots of shops and resturants. It is located on a fairly busy street but this did not seem to effect our stay at all. The free continental breakfast was also very good. As a nice added touch -- every afternoon there was free lemonade and cookies in the lobby and also a turn down service at night that featured tasty cookies and milk. There were a lot of little touches that added up to us having a wonderful vacation. We will definitely be staying at The GBI again!!

Room Tip: Splurge - ask for the Sugar Baron - room 102 - huge balacony and super comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived at The Glorietta Bay Inn just before 11am as we had just come of a cruise ship. We expected that we would have to leave our luggage and come back for check in, but the staff (especially Mike) could not have been more helpful and said that our room was ready for occupation. The room was a good size with a table and 2 chairs, and a good size bathroom. There is a swimming pool and outside terrace where you can enjoy the view towards the harbour. Continental breakfast is complimentary and there was a good choice which was more than adequate. Coffee and tea are available throughout the day. Just before we were due to checkout we noticed that one of our suitcases had been damaged (presumably when it came off the cruise ship). The only solution we could think of was to put some duck tape round it, and once again Mike came up trumps sending one of his maintenance staff to do a repair job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for pleasure. Upon arrival, the staff was kind enough to change our room so it would be better for 2 adults, one who had trouble navigating stairs. Rooms were well kept, comfortable, and clean, the grounds are nice, the afternoon punch and cookies a treat. It was nice to have coffee and tea round the clock. The morning breakfast had a good variety and was long enough to enjoy it leisurely. I enjoyed eating out on the patio. Free newspapers in the morning. The location was handy to everything we wanted to do. Can't recommend it high enough and will stay here again. Delightful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay may be a bit louder since they have a road so request an inner courtyard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We are recent retirees and have been staying at the Glorietta Bay Inn for 13 years. Our last stay was December 2012. It is superb. The staff are so good, they could teach customer service to the Ritz Carlton staff. The room and maintenance staff are equally friendly and helpful. We have stayed in many rooms. We like the Garden Room in the mansion and 336 in the other rooms. The latter has a cute private table outside the door and is quiet. We have stayed in the Library Room, but it is close to the staff morning breakfast set-up and tends to be noisy in the early morning. The proximity to the Del Coronado across the street is perfect because one has full access to the facility and beach without all the crowds, especially at Christmas. A very nice place, one of the best in America.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glorietta Bay Inn, Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mansion At Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado
Mansion At Glorietta Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.