We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn

The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coronado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn
Save Saved
You added The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn to your Saves list
1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Switz City, Indiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“getting dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have stayed here in the past several times, the rooms are becoming tired. We lived there 42 years ago while in the Navy. We had a king suite that faced the harbor. The room was fine, but not for 250 a night. The bath is extremely small, no tub shower only, door is totally in the way. The hotel has beautiful flowers and they keep it very clean. Easy walk to downtown. They charge extra for parking, breakfast is good, no meat. The laundry does a good job at a low cost. I think next time around we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

One never thinks of hotels in America that are B&B's. This hotel provided a Continental breakfast which was sufficient, the staff very helpful. My thanks to Mrs Hopkins, she is very professional. Other names I like to mention is Mrs. G. Kirkhead and Mr. M. Murrell. Thank you all for your help.
The location is opposite a marina, not too far from the beach and one can get free towels and small beach chairs. There was also free cookies, coffee and lemonade, what a sweet touch.
The location is beautiful and one can take long walks along the beach, hire bikes, take the trolley, sit at the many restaurants, cafe's.
Also not too far from all the attractions. What an incredible place. Our hotel room had a small balcony and it is nice just to relax outside your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, which is on the first floor. If possible, a room with a view of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a four night stay here. We splurged and stayed in The Mansion - room 102 - The Sugar Baron. We had a very delightful stay and were so happy we opted to stay in the mansion. Our king sized bed was extremely comfortable and my husband just loved our huge balcony. Our room's balcony had a table for four and chez lounge and some planters -- it is big with a view overlooking the pool and marina. You could also see the ocean (and parking lot too). We made use of the in room refigeratior and free wi-fi! We thought our room was quiet and we had a very, very relaxing stay. (The TV's could use an upgrade our room had a VHS deck! However this was a minor hitch as we were on vacation and hardly watched any TV.)

The staff was exteremely friendly. John who worked in the evenings at the front desk- really made us feel welcome and provided excellent service. The GBI is a smaller / boutique hotel - but I think this works in its favor as everyone here made us feel extremely welcome and special. The GBI has a great location - it is super close to the beach and lots of shops and resturants. It is located on a fairly busy street but this did not seem to effect our stay at all. The free continental breakfast was also very good. As a nice added touch -- every afternoon there was free lemonade and cookies in the lobby and also a turn down service at night that featured tasty cookies and milk. There were a lot of little touches that added up to us having a wonderful vacation. We will definitely be staying at The GBI again!!

Room Tip: Splurge - ask for the Sugar Baron - room 102 - huge balacony and super comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newent
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived at The Glorietta Bay Inn just before 11am as we had just come of a cruise ship. We expected that we would have to leave our luggage and come back for check in, but the staff (especially Mike) could not have been more helpful and said that our room was ready for occupation. The room was a good size with a table and 2 chairs, and a good size bathroom. There is a swimming pool and outside terrace where you can enjoy the view towards the harbour. Continental breakfast is complimentary and there was a good choice which was more than adequate. Coffee and tea are available throughout the day. Just before we were due to checkout we noticed that one of our suitcases had been damaged (presumably when it came off the cruise ship). The only solution we could think of was to put some duck tape round it, and once again Mike came up trumps sending one of his maintenance staff to do a repair job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights for pleasure. Upon arrival, the staff was kind enough to change our room so it would be better for 2 adults, one who had trouble navigating stairs. Rooms were well kept, comfortable, and clean, the grounds are nice, the afternoon punch and cookies a treat. It was nice to have coffee and tea round the clock. The morning breakfast had a good variety and was long enough to enjoy it leisurely. I enjoyed eating out on the patio. Free newspapers in the morning. The location was handy to everything we wanted to do. Can't recommend it high enough and will stay here again. Delightful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay may be a bit louder since they have a road so request an inner courtyard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We are recent retirees and have been staying at the Glorietta Bay Inn for 13 years. Our last stay was December 2012. It is superb. The staff are so good, they could teach customer service to the Ritz Carlton staff. The room and maintenance staff are equally friendly and helpful. We have stayed in many rooms. We like the Garden Room in the mansion and 336 in the other rooms. The latter has a cute private table outside the door and is quiet. We have stayed in the Library Room, but it is close to the staff morning breakfast set-up and tends to be noisy in the early morning. The proximity to the Del Coronado across the street is perfect because one has full access to the facility and beach without all the crowds, especially at Christmas. A very nice place, one of the best in America.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have been staying at the Glorietta Bay for almost 15 years now. It is definitely one of my families favorite traditions. Upon arrival we are always greeted by familiar faces - the staff turnover is extremely low. Everyone is naturally friendly, and will do whatever is necessary to make your stay completely wonderful. The grounds are immaculate, fresh roses around the outdoor dining area make it a lovely setting for annual pictures. Breakfast is complimentary -so many wonderful choices for the entire family -the muffins and granola are our favorites - it is an added bonus to staying at such a beautiful boutique hotel. Our children like to play board games and read in the parlor - a most exquisite "living room" that has a player piano, library and many games. if you get a chance, and are planning a trip with your sweetie, be sure to book a room in the mansion part of the hotel. All are decorated differently, all with old world charm. My husband had a room here last month and we both did not want to leave. Fresh baked cookies and milk are delivered to your room nightly at turn down. Scrumptious!
The location is beyond prime. The beach is literally right across the street. All in all, our summers wouldn't be the same without Glorietta Bay. I can never see going to another hotel on the island! Book a room as soon as possible....... it will soon be one of your family's traditions as well!!!

Room Tip: One bedroom suites are great for families. Some have a full kitchen and all have a pullout sleeper s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn

Address: 1630 Glorietta Blvd., Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Glorietta Bay Inn, Coronado’s best boutique hotel. One block to the beach and just steps away from shopping and dining, this Coronado hotel invites you to experience award-winning guest service, ideal location, and abundant history and charm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mansion At Glorietta Bay Hotel Coronado
Mansion At Glorietta Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion at Glorietta Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.