We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View and Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peohe's

Peohe's
1201 1st St, Ste 3, Coronado, CA 92118-4405
619-437-4474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peohe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 89 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Avenue
Transit: Bus stop Orange Ave
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“View and Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times over the years and really enjoy the view, the access to the fairy, and other places for shopping that are within walking distance. The food presentation is elegant and guests are treated nicely by hosts and servers. The scenery is creative and sets the mood for a romantic evening if a cozy round booth is available. Not all tables are ideal--some are crowded 2 tops in close proximity to your neighbor. When making reservations in advance, they do not take window reservations. Once you are onsite--first available.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    169
    92
    33
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Drove over bridge from San Diego, parked near the Hotel Coronado and spent the morning walking by the beach and exploring the town. We then drove down to the Ferry Landing looking for a place for a light lunch and found Peohe's.
We were seated on the outside deck with beautiful views of San Diego across the bay and could watch all the boats and ferries coming and going.
Attentive service, if a little ingratiating! Food was good with large portions - I had the Cobb Salad very nice indeed, but way too much for one, and my husband had the mahi which he said was excellent. Nice bottle of wine. Prices were reasonable at lunch time but I think they are dearer in the evenings. Lovely place to sit for a couple of hours and relax. Would certainly go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Food With a Wonderful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great food selection and ambience. I highly recommend taking the water taxi from SD Convention Center to go there and come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Crab cakes and a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Ask for a window seat and you view the boats and ships moving through the harbor. They make their crab cakes with lump crab. These are by far the best crab cakes in Coronado. I enjoy the tropical atmosphere that this place presents. Fresh fish and good soups. Through-out the year they have special menus and pricing. Also enjoyed the bar service. They have outside seating and when the weather is right, that is the place to relax.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Romance with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a very nice dinner here. We were seated with a clear view of the San Diego skyline. Just gorgeous. I thought the entree's prices were pretty pricey. I had Crab stuffed Tilapia-about $26.99 in price and that was only the Fish and Rice. Didn't come with a vegetable or salad. My date had the Catch of the day grilled Tilapia- same price. He ordered the spinach salad (very good) and Calamari appetizer. The salad was pretty good sized and tasty. Since the dressing was not poured on it- we ate it for leftovers...
The wait staff was outstanding. They changed my (used) silverware constantly. They were attentive and discreet. Think we 'closed' the place down and they never pressured us to leave. (Wasn't at peak meal time either)
Very enjoyable dinner. Very romantic, great view, outstanding service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peohe's also viewed

 

Been to Peohe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peohe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.