We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Brunch in San Diego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado

Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado
1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2986
+1 619-522-8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 82 restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Place
Transit: Serviced by SDMTS Route 904 http://www.sdmts.com/RouteFiles/routes/pdf/904.pdf
La Jolla, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best Brunch in San Diego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Feel like royalty and walk into a fabulous ballroom to an amazing spread. My nine year old would be happy to spend the rest of his life in a suspended time loop on a Sunday morning in the Crown Room.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your endorsement and are happy that your family enjoyed our famous Sunday brunch. We look forward to welcoming you and your son back for another memorable occasion soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    105
    33
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“the Sunday champagne brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is an expensive indulgence, but I consider it more memorable than many other expensive meals we've had. Please, don't waste the experience by just having breakfast. Our menu included beef short ribs and cauliflower gratin ... smoked trout ... tuna sashimi ... uncommon cheeses ... leg of lamb ... prime rib ... and house-label California sparkling wine with pomegranate juice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and recommendations. We are pleased that you enjoyed our extensive Brunch and that the experience was so memorable.. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Before my kids were born, I took my wife both to the Hotel Del to spendthe night but also to eat in the crown room. Very special but very expensive! Go for any special occasion and start a family...we did!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our award-winning Brunch and created such a memorable experience. We hope you and your family return soon to celebrate a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitown
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Making a buffet into elegant dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I had Thanksgiving dinner at the Crown Room and found it quite enjoyable. The food was delicious,plentiful and well presented. The Chef made lobster thermidor for me and it was out of this world. The decorations in and around the hotel are worth the price of the meal.
The ice skating rink was open and really added a nice touch. The price is a little high but if you don't do it everyday it is well worth it. Bring the family...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind endorsement and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving at The Del. The holidays are a magical time at the resort and we hope you made some special memories. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Crown Room Xmas day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great food, service, but your paying for the room and to eat where presidents & movie stars have eaten.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday meal in our historic Crown Room. We hope to become an annual tradition and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado also viewed

 

Been to Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.