We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado

Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado
1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2986
+1 619-522-8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Place
Transit: Serviced by SDMTS Route 904 http://www.sdmts.com/RouteFiles/routes/pdf/904.pdf
Santee, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Before my kids were born, I took my wife both to the Hotel Del to spendthe night but also to eat in the crown room. Very special but very expensive! Go for any special occasion and start a family...we did!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our award-winning Brunch and created such a memorable experience. We hope you and your family return soon to celebrate a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    36
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chitown
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Making a buffet into elegant dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I had Thanksgiving dinner at the Crown Room and found it quite enjoyable. The food was delicious,plentiful and well presented. The Chef made lobster thermidor for me and it was out of this world. The decorations in and around the hotel are worth the price of the meal.
The ice skating rink was open and really added a nice touch. The price is a little high but if you don't do it everyday it is well worth it. Bring the family...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind endorsement and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving at The Del. The holidays are a magical time at the resort and we hope you made some special memories. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Crown Room Xmas day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great food, service, but your paying for the room and to eat where presidents & movie stars have eaten.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday meal in our historic Crown Room. We hope to become an annual tradition and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive Sunday Brunch, but so worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visiting San Diego or live near there and going to be in town on Sunday, Don't pass up going to the Crown room at the Hotel Del Coronado for Sunday Brunch. It is expensive and they charge for parking, But the hotel is worth the parking fee just to see. In the United States, maybe 1 or 2 compare. Visit the massive lobby with it's extensive wood paneling. I have traveled throughout the world and the United States and I think this is the best Sunday Brunch available. Quality food, extensive selection, beautiful room, live music, and fantastic service. An example of the food. A lot of brunches have all you can eat crab legs, here the crab legs are king crab.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind endorsement and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our award-winning Brunch. It does have a vast selection of food and, of course, if you come and experience Brunch, we do validate parking. We hope to welcome you back again soon for some king crab legs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The service was good and so was the food. No excitement in either area. It is located in a very touristy area and you feel like you are being moved on the belt.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed both the food and service at our award-winning brunch. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado also viewed

 

Been to Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.