We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown Room Xmas day lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado

Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado
1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2986
+1 619-522-8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Coronado
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Place
Transit: Serviced by SDMTS Route 904 http://www.sdmts.com/RouteFiles/routes/pdf/904.pdf
Anaheim, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Crown Room Xmas day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great food, service, but your paying for the room and to eat where presidents & movie stars have eaten.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday meal in our historic Crown Room. We hope to become an annual tradition and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    109
    33
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expensive Sunday Brunch, but so worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visiting San Diego or live near there and going to be in town on Sunday, Don't pass up going to the Crown room at the Hotel Del Coronado for Sunday Brunch. It is expensive and they charge for parking, But the hotel is worth the parking fee just to see. In the United States, maybe 1 or 2 compare. Visit the massive lobby with it's extensive wood paneling. I have traveled throughout the world and the United States and I think this is the best Sunday Brunch available. Quality food, extensive selection, beautiful room, live music, and fantastic service. An example of the food. A lot of brunches have all you can eat crab legs, here the crab legs are king crab.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind endorsement and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our award-winning Brunch. It does have a vast selection of food and, of course, if you come and experience Brunch, we do validate parking. We hope to welcome you back again soon for some king crab legs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The service was good and so was the food. No excitement in either area. It is located in a very touristy area and you feel like you are being moved on the belt.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed both the food and service at our award-winning brunch. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spoil yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

You deserve it. It's pricey, but we had a BOGO coupon from a Facebook promo and decided to go for it. The Del is a beautiful place... My husband proposed to me there 5 years ago. The Sunday brunch is full of decadent, expensive food items. Cheese, meats, spreads, mustards, desserts, and salads. We spend two and a half hours here and just took it all in. We drank champagne and yummy apple cider. The food options are overwhelming. So fresh and beautifully prepared. My husband especially liked the candy buffet. I loved the turkey panini and all of the wonderfully prepared vegetables--especially the tomato with a pepper sauce. This is probably the best buffet we've been to. The only negative comment I have is that there were lots of kids running around and several babies crying. At $78.50 a pop it doesn't seem like a place you'd bring small children. I'd recommend a family friendly area and then an adults only area. I've got kids, I understand. But I'd recommend a separation to make everyone comfortable. We will definitely be back. It was a great experience and wonderful food. We don't think we even tasted half of it!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our award-winning Sunday Brunch. The Del has a long history of romance and we’re happy that you’re a part of it. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Crown Room is really beautiful to see. Three lighted crowns . I heard they have a great brunch there, We didn't have time to eat there but the room was lovely.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
The chandeliers in the historic Crown Room were designed by L. Frank Baum, author of "The Wonderful Wizard of Oz" series and beautifully complement the intricate sugar pine ceiling. We hope you have the opportunity to return soon and experience our award-winning Sunday Brunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado also viewed

 

Been to Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.