We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch of the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado

Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado
1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2986
+1 619-522-8490
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 89 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dana Place
Transit: Serviced by SDMTS Route 904 http://www.sdmts.com/RouteFiles/routes/pdf/904.pdf
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best lunch of the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

During our visit to Coronado Island, we treated ourselves to lunch at the Hotel del Coronado. We asked for a seat on the patio, to enjoy the view of the beach. The lunch was absolutely exquisite. I ordered the grilled cheese and tomato soup, which sounds banal but was actually glamorous. The grilled cheese had three kinds of cheese and carmelized onions. The fresh tomato soup had a swirl of pesto on top. I couldn't get over the taste of this meal.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    46
    25
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grottoes, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

One one word is needed...UNBELIEVABLE! You MUST try Sunday Brunch. Everything you can imagine and even better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement and we are pleased that you enjoyed our famous Sunday brunch in the historic Crown Room. With a huge selection of delicious offerings ranging from classic breakfast offerings to fresh seafood to delectable desserts, there is something for everyone. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch on Sundays only and I got eggs, toast and pancakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is one of the top buffets in the country. No, I didn't even have eggs, toast and pancakes I was trying everything else and was testing this against BALLY"S sunday brunch buffet in Las Vegas. You don't go here to eat breakfast you come for the seafood, desserts, unique salads, unique things you just don't get anywhere else. The buffet is divided into Salad Station, Bread and Sandwich station, Meat Station, The Bar, Seafood Station, international station and finally the Candy and Dessert Station.
The chefs are great and are right there to help you, the menu is always changing. The seafood alone any where else would cost atleast fifty dollars and up. Don't come to this and eat items you can get other places, you come here for a variety of things that you can sample bit by bit. The crab legs are already cut so you just take the meat right out, and the shrimp has already been peeled so you just have to take the tail off. Print the menu before you go so you have an idea of what you'd like to try. They also have a child's table for the kids to do something if you finish eating and want to relax and have a drink.
The only thing I didn't understand is why they don't charge something for no shows. Over half the tables sat empty. I mean ten dollars per person seems fair, half for the hotel half for the server. I can eat at the restaurant, If i could only afford to stay at the hotel.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed our award-winning Sunday brunch and appreciate the vast selection of food. Thank you for your great recommendations and strategies and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Royal Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Crown Room is absolutely gorgeous! They have a Buffet there every Sunday; the food is absolutely delicious! The view from the Crown Room is beautiful. I believe that President Nixon held a State Dinner in the Crown Room. I visited there way before then. This is one of my favorite rooms at the Hotel Del Coronado; definately a room to see when you visit.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for the endorsement and it is indeed a historic room. Nixon held a State Dinner there for Mexican President Ordaz in 1970 with former President Lyndon B. Johnson and future President Ronald Reagan also in attendance. It's also where Lindberg was honored for his historic flight in 1927. We're thrilled that you appreciate its historic ambiance and enjoyed Brunch. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The brunch is really spectacular, with so many choices for every type of eater. My children were in awe of the dessert tables- with a chocolate fountain that had every item to dip that you can imagine, plus more!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We're pleased that you and your family enjoyed the variety at our award-winning Sunday Brunch, especially the chocolate fountain. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado also viewed

 

Been to Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Room at Hotel Del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.