We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast on the island-no joke.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 1134

Cafe 1134
1134 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-3400
619-437-1134
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 86 Restaurants in Coronado
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The best breakfast on the island-no joke.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Massive selection. Incredible egg options, lots of variety of burritos like european with ham and cheese or mexican or about ten other choices. Lots of baked yumminess. All kinds of coffee and tea. It's a local place with a local feel-in a good way-it's a bit crowded of tables etc, but not unpleasant. It would be tough if you are expecting fancy. You order at the counter and they bring it to your table. If it's warm, sit outside. Located on the main drag, Orange.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast for the week we were on Nado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Cool place, popular with locals - they know! Great coffee, lots of choices, food is great, many choices/healthy options, large portions. Very nice staff. Although a tourist, was recognized and welcomed, which brought me back. No snotty barristas here...Oh yeah, awesome pastries, sell day old ones for 1.25 for the value shopper.

Great find!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My Wife and I had breakfast here with our dog Hershey. Good food. European burrito was very good. Almost enough for two.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cafe 1134”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

First of all, DO NOT order their quiche! Yuck! The eggs are undercooked, it's super salty, you can't distinguish the crust from the eggs or anything else in it. My husband go the California Breakfast Burrito, he really liked it. I tried a bite, it was far better than my quiche! The burrito came with breakfast potatoes that were undercooked and lacked flavor. Their coffee was good. They've got some cookies that are okay, nothing special though. They offer wine tastings in the evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot on Coronado”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had breakfast at Café 1154. They have about ten small tables close together in the main room, another three or four out on the sidewalk and a few more upstairs. The decor is mostly early Ikea. You order at the counter and they bring it to your table. I ordered the European Omelet with fruit and was happily surprised to find it was actually fresh slices of apple, pineapple, melon, etc. My wife had the veggie quiche. The presentation, as one might expect, was not all that impressive, but the food was good if not outstanding. It's close to the Hotel del Coronado and a decent place for breakfast. The prices are very reasonable and the staff is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1134 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 1134? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 1134, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.