We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but ramshackle and gross condition.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Coronado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Rancho Motel
Save Saved
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
370 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 hotels in Coronado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, but ramshackle and gross condition.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011 via mobile

Dried, caked-in dirt in corners. Food (?) bits on floor. Used wrappers behind toilet. Unpatched holes in the wall. Cobwebs hanging over TV. Worn, dirty carpet under beds with lumps of something black near the wall. No wall molding anywhere- uneven edges of wall did not meet floor. Bathroom door not hung right- the bottom scraped and got wedged on the floor. The whole room needed a good vacuuming. Thin blanket on bed that was not warm at all-it was 40 degrees out! The AC/heating unit was UNDER the bathroom sink- impossible to reach! The room creeped me out with its dirtiness. However, excellent location, near shops, restaurants, and a 10 min walk to beach.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

the place is very dirty - floor, tables were full of dust and the whole place was smelly. The shower was full of hairs - walls in bathroom were full of crusty stains. The toilet was easily clogged - a plunger was placed next to the toilet, with stains proving that it had been used before.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We booked 4 nights here for our summer vacation at the last minute and needed a budget friendly place to stay. We thought this was the place. Boy were we wrong! The rooms are small, which is no biggie for us since you just sleep there, so we moved the double beds apart to make room for an air mattress for my son to sleep on. There was a meals worth of food under the beds, as if it had not been touched by a vacuum in months. The desk chair in the room had crumbs all over it. Dust everywhere, bathroom and walls! And we are not clean freaks at home by any means. The hotel is right on the main drag coming into Coronado and every car entering the island has to pass right next to the hotel, VERY LOUD! Barely could sleep. Lupe, the owner was sweet, which was some consolation. We only stayed 1 of the 4 nights, thankfully.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

On our last day visiting the San Diego area... we decided to visit the beaches on Coronado Island at the advice of a friend. We instantly fell in love and decided to find a place on the island to spend one more night so we could beach comb and swim. As a family of five on a budget, the most affordable place we could find on the island was the El Rancho Motel. This was a very cute, cottage like motel that was very clean and located right off of Orange ave. and 4th Street. There was parking available in the front of the motel and on the street, as well as in the back of the motel. There was lush vegetation, flowering bushes and gorgeous rose bushes on the property.

Although our room was very small... it was very clean and decorated with beautiful marble tile and simple, clean-cut IKEA furniture. The window had plantation shutters with large louvers. There was a small refrigerator and microwave available. The bathroom was also pretty, clean and maintained with fresh towels and supplies. There were 2 full size beds in the room - my children slept on one and my husband and I slept on the other comfortably. Unlike, the two negative reviews... towels were perfectly fine and A/C unit blew cold air. We were towards the back by the alley, so even though there was a lot of traffic on Orange street, we did not hear it like another reviewer complained about.

Shops and food are a short walk away. There is a very nice park for children a short distance down the street as well. The nearby public beach has restrooms and shower available and isn't as crowded as other beaches in San Diego. The beach located down the way by The Shores Condo's has a multitude of shells and small sand dollars to scavenge. My children were thrilled to see a pod of dolphins jumping about a short distance off the shore.

Our day at this hotel and Coronado Island was definitely the highlight of our vacation. We recommend this motel and we will return again ourselves next year. Our only regret was not spending our entire vacation here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

For the price, this hotel can't be beat. It's nothing fancy, but it's clean, quiet and comfy; and the location is fantastic. Free wireless internet was also a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
547 helpful votes 547 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

For a budget motel, El Rancho isn't bad, at least in the winter. Considering that the rates are about the lowest in Coronado, the place was a decent value. The carpet could have used a cleaning, but the rest of my room looked pretty spiffy. The motel is old, but my room's decor was very contemporary. (Actually, a budget motel that offers decor of ANY kind is probably an overachiever.) And the motel's exterior, while not modern, is well maintained. The place was quiet during my stay, but then I don't think too many other rooms were occupied, so it's hard to evaluate just how quiet the place is overall. I was there last weekend-----the depths of the off-season in San Diego-----so Orange Avenue wasn't very busy, and I kept my windows closed the whole time. The property is minuscule, however, and any other guests must, of necessity, traipse by right outside your window. In summer the place will probably be much noisier. And I could clearly hear the exhaust fan in the bathroom next door. The motel is about a half-mile or so from the ocean, but Coronado is table-top flat and very pedestrian-friendly, so anyone with normal mobility can easily walk to the beach. (In fact, the walk itself can actually be quite pleasant, as Coronado is a very charming town.) El Rancho offers free parking. An in-room microwave and mini-fridge. There's a grocery store and a couple restaurants three blocks to the east. More stores and restaurants four blocks west. If you're looking for a hotel that will make you feel "special", then you'll have to pay a lot more money in Coronado. If all you need is a well-run cheap motel, well, El Rancho may work for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

My wife and I and two teenage kids stayed in a room with 2 double beds. The room was noisy as it was adjacent to the street. Also, the bathroom floor was not very clean. It was a hassle getting extra towels. I don't recommend this place for 4 people. The place is OK, and a good value for the price, the people are friendly and helpful. Don't expect a nice place, but it's not unbearable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy, bathroom floor dirty, hard beds
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 370 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.