We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all impressed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   370 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Naples
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Not at all impressed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

I booked a stay at this motel after reading all of the glowing reports. My impression.......WRONG! There were problems from arrival until departure...and I was glad that this was only a one night stay. Be aware that this place is a bare-bones, "Motel 6-like" lodging experience....from the tiny room to the threadbare towels....and on and on. Pay a few bucks more and stay elsewhere!

  • Liked — ...not much of anything
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene A, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
We are so sorry to read your review. We are under a new management and ownership since August 2014, we have changed and updated every detail in the rooms. Our staff is all new, trained and qualified. We hope you can give this amazing location an opportunity to change your experience. Please feel free to call me directly to compensate in any way. 619 2069514 Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
11
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

we stayed here for 3 nights in August 2006 as the first part of a 3 week fly-drive experience. Our difficulty was finding the correct highway! but we did and found El Rancho easily- quiet little bungalows in a small courtyard. There were ample facilities within the bungalow, and they were in walking distance of bars and restaurants. The gardens were pretty and the proprieter very helpful. We would stay here again - quiet and clean and just what we wanted

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2004

I stay at the El Rancho 3 - 5 times per year. I am treated like a king by Tia Lupe and the motel staff! I reccomend room #1, it is the best room in the place! Charming, clean, economical, comfortable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2003

We were very lucky. Sra. Lupe was a doll & agreed to give us an upgrade to their recently renovated stylish ,contemporary room. Though not huge it was large enogh & we travel with a lot of gear. having a fridge & microwave included was a plus. The grounds are wll kepy with lovely gardens. maintenance was a bit slow in taking care of a blown light bulb.We would definitely recommend this lovely place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2003

I stayed at the El Rancho Motel this past weekend - more of a mom & pop motel. The owners were delightful. The room was as nice and clean as it could get...and everything was newly redecorated.

In my opinion, they could've charged me double the room rate and it still would have been worth the stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2003

My stay here was awful. I was put in a room facing the alley no larger than a luxurious jail cell. The linens were dirty, the bathroom in shambles, and a broken heater that would not turn off. It made the room feel like an actual hell. From their website one would assume nice accomodations, but this is not true. Never, ever, stay at El Rancho.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene A, Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. El Rancho Motel is under new management since August 2014, we have improved everything, please feel free to contact me so we can make it up to you.
(619)5376633 Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2002

I arrived at El Rancho Motel in Coronado during the summer and had a very pleasant surprise. Coronado is a wonderful Island that friends of mine had recommended (just off of San Diego). The rooms were absolutely gorgeous and we really appreciated the personal attention from Lupe at the front desk.

I sincerely recommend El Rancho to anybody visiting Coronado Island.

Mary Jo Fortrett
New Haven, Connecticut

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 370 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rancho Motel Coronado is conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Coronado Island, and offers 10 charming rooms full of amenities and warm hospitality that will make your stay a memorable one. Surrounded by attractions such as the Ferry Landing Marketplace, the historic Hotel Del Coronado, and the world famous Coronado Beaches, we know you will truly have a wonderful stay at El Rancho Motel. San Diego is also close by, just a drive on the majestic Coronado Bay Bridge. Explore the Gaslamp Quarter, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and so much more. Access to the San Diego Airport is also close and convenient. Coronado is a peaceful island community and resort destination, with a world class golf course, a marina, parks and beaches. The weather is perhaps the best in the world, making it the perfect destination for families and seasoned travelers. With plenty of dining and shopping options within walking distance, we know your stay will be a pleasurable experience. We look forward to making your stay at El Rancho Motel as relaxing and comfortable as possible. Welcome to Coronado Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.