We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would not stay any place other than Villa Capri by the Sea!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Capri by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Villa Capri by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Capri by the Sea
1417 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2948   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We would not stay any place other than Villa Capri by the Sea!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay!! John, the Innkeeper is the absolute BEST! We stayed here 19 years ago with our two young sons and returned in April 2011 -- just my spouse and I! This is the cleanest place we have EVER stayed!! Honestly, do they repaint after every guest?!?!? We have stayed in 5 star resorts all over the world, and none have EVER been as clean as the Villa Capri by the Sea! Would not consider staying any place other than here. John (the Innkeeper) keeps the place in tip top shape and he is wonderful! I LOVE this place and can hardly wait to return!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

I have been to Villa Capri several times after a miserable experience at The Dell. This gem is directly accross the street from The Dell at 40% of the price for The Dell. Very close to everything and the well connected inkeeper (John) has ideas and details for getting around all of Coronado and San Diego. We simply love coming here. We have also stayed at the Loews but it is too far away from the city and all the attractions. John runs a tight ship and we really have learned to appreciate the location, value and history of this INN. The Dell is packed with non guests all day every day who treat the Dell like there own personal toilet. TOO LOUD, UNKEPT, TOO EXPENSIVE . Stay at Johns and walk accross the street for the best valu in Coonado. I can't wait to go back. This is probably not the best place for ill mannered children or adults with no class.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk U.K.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

After seeing the last review on this magical gem of a motel, I feel compelled to share the wonderful experience my husband and I had when we stayed there. We stayed for 31 days from mid Dec til Mid Jan and immediately booked to do the same this year. The Inn itself is spotlessly clean with your own spacious lounge and a small but very adequate kitchen containing everything you could possibly need.The bed was comfy and the wardrobe space very substantial.

John the Inn keeper is very easy going and a complete oracle of local information, he took a friendly but far from intrusive interest in all we did and we enjoyed his company. We stayed over christmas and he even supplied us with a little tree and some decorations to make our apartment a real home from home.

We have stayed in one of the best rooms that the Hotel Del had to offer but quite honestly we prefer the freedom of the Villa Capri and just cant wait to get back there. Roll on December.

John & Alison Bower U.K

  • Liked — Total feel of home from home
  • Disliked — Leaving at end of holiday
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

**DO NOT BRING YOUR BEACH GEAR, OR ANYTHING BEACH RELATED**. As said before, they do have beach gear, chairs, umbrellas and even the small towels from the room for you to take. The innkeeper is EXTREMELY anal about getting sand anywhere near the rooms. He needs to be reminded that there is an ocean across the street and most people do not want to get sand in the room. We brought a surf board that we could not bring into the room even though it had been in my house for a year before this trip and did not have a bit of sand on it.

As stated previously, the hotel is RIGHT ON THE MAIN DRAG. It is loud all day and into the night with car alarms, buses during the day into the wee hours of the night and motorcycles zooming up the hill. The location is great if you are looking to visit the Hotel Del Coronado as it's right across the street. The beach location is also a plus. The value for Coronado is probably great, but you could rent a house for the same cost of a room for the week. The kitchenette is EXTREMELY small and definitely not eat in. The living room in the suite has uncomfortable furniture. The smaller rooms only have a stall shower, no tub. There is no "Do Not Disturb" for your room door and the maid either walked in every morning or woke us every morning. (When I'm on vacation I prefer to try to sleep in a bit) Although the sun streaming through the window, the car alarm going off every hour for 3 hours the first morning and the general traffic was enough to keep the dead awake.

The pool is a bit hazardous as it's not got any railing or anything and you have a small area to walk around it to your room.

I found the bed uncomfortable and the fact that there was someone who was much too much in my business very annoying. I was happy to leave. the parking situatiion is 'free' if there are enough spots. A full hotel may mean there is no parking on site. There are about 10 spots only.

There is also high speed internet - wireless only that was hard to get working at best. It also has a daily charge for use.

Overall i can't say I was impressed. I have stayed at a lot of hotels from coast to coast and was very UNimpressed. I would have rather paid more to stay at a house or across the street at the Del or next door at Glorietta Bay.

  • Liked — Location to ocean
  • Disliked — Innkeeper that is TOO in your business
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

We stayed here 3 nights in a regular room on the lower level. We really appreciated all the help from John, the Innkeeper who lives on site. They will provide you with everything you need -- hairdryer, beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. Just ask John.
The room was nice and very clean, absolutely no problems there. The bed was VERY comfortable. The only problem we encountered was with the traffic noise. The hotel is right on Orange Ave. which is very busy. The hotel is U shaped and the traffic noise bounces right off the hotel and it's quite loud. I was woke up at 5:30AM one morning and 3:30AM the next. I could not get back to sleep because of the traffic noise. Ironically, the location is great but I wish there was a way to get away from the traffic. Also, the pool is very small and not heated. But when you have the beach so close, why would you want a pool???

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

Small mote built in 1957. Gives great value under the curcumstances and location. Stayed 7 nights on business, 1 bedroom apartment for $ 1000.
Kitchen, great bed, good TV (1) but a dated and uncortable living room furniture. Parking is very tight. Small pool.
Right on the main drag with some traffic noise and sieghbor hood noise from an aprtment building directlu behind. But 1 block from the beach, across the street from the Hotel Del and you can walk to plenty of resturants.
To avoid commuting from San Diego I would stay ther again. Good deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

We booked two king bedrooms at this nice little place, although suites with kitchens are also available, and had one on the bottom floor and one just up the stairs.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and very well cared for. They were practically identical, with a king bed directly in front of the sliding door that had shutters, instead of curtains, for privacy.

The room also contained a TV with over 70 channels to choose from, a chair, a closet with plenty of hangers, a good sized refrigerator and a microwave.

The bathroom had a nice big, proper, shower unit (no bath, but we didn't want one anyway) with glass door. We would have liked some shelf space in the bathroom to put our toiletries, etc, but this is a minor quibble.

The rooms are all directly off the pool area at the front. The pool is very small, not really suitable for any proper swimming, and quickly goes from 3 to 8 feet in depth. There is also an ice machine in the pool area.

Villa Capri is in an excellent location, sandwiched between Coronado Beach Resort and Glorietta Bay Inn at the (better) bottom end of the island. The main entrance to the Hotel Del Coronado is almost directly opposite. You simply cross the road, and walk past the hotel's small parade of shops, through the grounds of the Del to get to the beach. Unfortunately, June Gloom was in full swing when we were there so we didn't spend any time on the beach.

Parking is free for guests, which is a bonus in Coronado, and you park directly in front of the hotel on Orange Avenue. Speaking of Orange Avenue, however, this is quite a busy road and traffic does seem to build up from 5am onwards. The traffic noise may disturb light sleepers, since there is little distance between your rooms and the road.

John, the Innkeeper, is very friendly and knowledgable, and really makes your stay here memorable. He will keenly tell you everything you need to know and more about Coronado, San Diego and all the attractions on offer. He will happily give you recommendations and directions for eating places, too. His presence gives Villa Capri a real personal touch that you simply don't find any more.

Each morning coffee, orange juice and small donuts were put outside by the pool for guests. John will provide you with anything you need, such as mugs, glasses and spoons, etc, if you haven't got a kitchen unit.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Capri, and would recommend it to anybody. Coronado does seem to be quite an expensive place to stay, but we got a good rate here by planning in advance and giving John a call to discuss the options available. Why not do the same? You've got nothing to lose, and may well find yourself pleasantly surprised with the result.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Capri by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Capri by the Sea

Address: 1417 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2948
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa Capri by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Capri By The Sea Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Capri by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.