We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value if you don't want Hotel Del prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coronado Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coronado Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value if you don't want Hotel Del prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I stayed at the Coronado Beach Resort for several reason:
1) Much cheaper hotel rate about 50% less than Hotel Del Coronado
2) Free wifi with free use of computer in lobby.
3) Small but servicable gym with treadmill and stationary bike
4) Great for the business traveller who needs to save money and go the Hotel Del for meeting; right across the street.
5) Basically a time share with rooms to rent during off season: so frig, small stove, DVD player and stereo system provided.
6) Parking included in the resort fee, which itself is very reasonable $15 a night.


Some problems:
1) Rooms somewhat dark, needs more lighting
2) I stayed in a studio, which required a Murphy bed (a first for me)
3) No restaurants, but hotel provides discounts for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    53
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
89
95
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We have been owners at CBR since the resort was built back in the early 90s. We visit from the UK every 2 or 3 years, and were last there in late '08 and will spend a month there again in October/November 2010.

The resort is in a fabulous location, just across from the legendary Hotel Del Coronado (famous for its role in Some Like it Hot with Marilyn Monroe, Jack Lemmon and Tony Curtis). So - its very near the beach and all the shops, delis, cafes and restaurants that make Coroando such a great holiday destination. Its like being in a movie set based in the 1950s.

Lots to do on the "island", and so near to hop over the bridge to San Diego, La Jolla or even up to Orange County and LA. Mexico is just a few miles south by road or boat trip.

Its great to cross the road and spend Happy Hour in the Hotel Del's Babcock & Story bar, watching the sun set over Point Loma.

CBR itself has excellent accommodation which has been recently refurbished, friendly staff, a small gym, a roof top spa deck, events, weekly trips etc., and the use of the Loews Coronado Bay Hotel pool located just down the Silver Strand.

All in all, and ideal destination on the California coast.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

My mother-in-law just passed away unfortunately, and this past weekend was her funeral. They lived in Coronado and my our family, traveling with 8 people (including 2 little kids), needed some rooms to stay for three nights to get through this rough time. The Coronado Beach Resort was perfect. We had three units -- 3 one-bedroom condos -- that were absolutely perfect. Free internet. BBQ facilities and sauna/jacuzzi on a very cool roof deck. We could make coffee, eat breakfast and lunch in the room, spend time in Coronado itself or taking the kids in between events over to the beach. We felt comfortable and at home even though we had a lot of obligations that had to be attended to. The location could not have been more perfect for us. Restaurants and shopping right in reach without ever needing to get in the car, yet a parking garage and easy access to Coronado so we didn't need to worry about a thing. While it was a rotten reason to have to go to Coronado, we will definitely go back again -- hopefully under happier circumastances to have a really nice vacation in Coronado.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

What a fabulous hotel/resort. This Timeshare hotel has all the amenities anyone could possibly need and then some. The staff was not only fast but extremely friendly and helpful. From the minute I checked in they were there for all of my needs. The lobby is very comfortable and includes a large fireplace, nice seating areas, free coffee and of course I would be remiss if I didn't mention Cody the Parrot. That's right a real parrot. Although Cody is partial to women she does like to say hello to most everyone that comes into the lobby. I stayed in a spacious one bedroom. I had two TV's, a kitchenette (fully stocked with all the dishes etc.. that you might need), a living room area, a bathroom and a nice veranda facing toward the ocean. The bathroom had a wonderful jacuzzi tub which was wonderful. The hotel is walking distance to anything that you might needs so once I parked my car in the underground parking garage I didn't have to hassle with finding parking again, They even have bikes and beach chairs and umbrellas that you can check out and use during your stay. Overall I had a very pleasant experience during my stay. My only complaint was that I couldn't stay longer, oh well,, maybe next time.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We loved our time in Coronado! The staff is so nice, and the lobby is a fun place to be. The rooms are nice, a bit small but very warm and cozy. The rooftop views are something special and the surrounding island is a lot of fun. We just rode our bikes around all weekend, it could not of been nicer. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This is a perfect spot for a San Diego vacation which has everything. We enjoyed walking the beach every day as well as driving a short distance over the bridge to San Diego to enjoy all the attractions there. The resort itself is small and although the one bedroom units have a curtain and not a door separating the living and bedroom areas, providing you are a family and not 2 couples - this shouldn't be a problem at all. The unit itself was fine - a little dated but certainly very good value. The kitchen in the unit is limited - no stove - a two ring plug in burner. It does have a microwave, dishwasher and fridge/freezer. The staff were outstandingly helpful and accommodating. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

It was a wonderful experience to stay at the Coronado Beach Hotel. The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The staff are very professional and treat the guest like royalty. It feels like being at home while away from home.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Beach Resort

Address: 1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#9 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coronado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.