We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week ever in Coronado !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Coronado Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronado Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Flagstaff Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best week ever in Coronado !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our family came to Coronado for a week to take in the sites and enjoy the beach . We checked on on a Sunday , and out on a Sunday , the room made me feel like a queen ! Beautiful , spacious , and luxurious !!! Thick bedding and rich sheets , my children had their own room with two twin beds , nice fully stocked kitchen , with all the amenities ! Nice large oval tub on bathroom 1 and a decent tub and shower in bathroom 2 , hair dryer , iron , safe in closet , close to beach and you can borrow stuff you want to take and even bikes ! The only downside is the elevator !!! When checking on and out you must lug heavy carts from your car to your room up a very slow and very busy elevator ! Not fun ! Took us over an hour to get carts , then another hour to get our stuff up and in our room . The staff was helpful and friendly , oh also of you are a smoker DO NOT COME TO CORONADO !!! It is banned everywhere ! Even on the streets !!! There is literally no where to smoke !!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, General Manager at Coronado Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi flagbabygirl,
Thank you for reviewing Coronado Beach Resort. We're thrilled to hear that you found your accommodations very spacious and had everything you needed in your rooms. We apologize that the elevator was so busy throughout your stay and understand how inconvenient it can be for our guests. However, we are glad to hear that your week went great. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    53
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
88
89
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When we booked a suite the description on their website indicated a queen bed with a sofa bed in the room (which would imply there would be room for four people), not so! Upon entering the room we were giving the room had a Murphy bed and yes, there was a sofa bed but you could not use the sofa bed if the Murphy bed was down and we were traveling with four people!
The gentlemen at the front desk did his best to accommodate us with a room that would sleep four. However, we had to move two different times during the duration of our stay. We rely heavily on room descriptions when we book a room selection, and nowhere did it mention a Murphy bed. We were very disappointed especially because it was our first time staying at the resort and it may be out last.

Room Tip: If you reserve a suite be aware you don't get a balcony or a regular queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, General Manager at Coronado Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Hartes62012 ,
I am sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding your room accommodations at the Coronado Beach Resort. That is a great point about the sleeping arrangements of a Studio Room. I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay, and I hope that we can welcome you and your family back again in the future for a much more pleasant stay in a larger unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here for one night in April (wish it was more!), as I got a good rate on a 2 bedroom condo and it was walking distance to the beach. Was not disappointing with my stay. First off, this hotel is right across the street from the Hotel del Coronado, and the rooms are cheaper than staying there. I can tell you from staying at both properties, I thought the rooms were every bit as nice (if not nicer)! We were given a 2 bedroom with a HUGE balcony that overlooked the ocean on the 3rd floor. The condo was very clean and spacious, and great for a family getaway. They also had coffee all day in the lobby and popcorn available on days. Another pro was free parking for one car! Considering the fantastic location, I found this to be a nice perk. Bicycles and beach chairs are included in the resort fee which I found to be a nice perk. Location is great, as it is right across from the beach, and walking distance to the main strip of restaurants.

Only negatives were there was no pool (you can use the sister properties which is a few miles away, and I didn't want to take a shuttle/or have to drive for a pool). However, there is a very nice hot tub and lounging area on the roof. We also checked in early (around 1pm) and was told the room should be ready in the next 30 minutes. The room did not end up being cleaned and ready until 30 minutes after the check-in time, which was mildly irritating since we were only there 1 day. Still despite this, would gladly stay again and recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, General Manager at Coronado Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi CLT_Travel-Girl4Lyfe,
Thank you for reviewing Coronado Beach Resort. We appreciate you coming back to write a review for our property. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations and our location. We do apologize that your check-in took a bit long, and are always working to improve this process. However, we are glad that you enjoyed the hot tub and lounging area on the roof. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beatiful british or european style resort and place. We just visited the hotel. Ice cream parlour is great but a bit expensive. You can enjoy the swimming pool or the beach at the back. Beautiful views and great for photography. A must visit if you go to San diego, just 20mins drive. After that dont forget to go to the Gas Lamp District for night life or dinner

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda D, General Manager at Coronado Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi AmarKhan,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our decorative style and scenic views. We look forward to you visiting us again during your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, South Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Where do I start? We got a week here through a timeshare exchange as a wedding gift. From day one, the staff was unbelievably attentive and courteous. We arrived and the staff was awesome. They explained everything clearly, offered advice and assistance, and did everything that could be asked. We never saw an emloyee who wasn't cheerful and friendly. And this place was SPOTLESS clean.

We had a King 1BR suite. They allow you to choose your room 30 days out if you are a timeshare exchange or renter. Of course, by then, most of the owners already have the rooms you THINK would be the best (facing the Del). However, we were in room 323 and it was the best of both worlds. REALLY quiet but you could also see the ocean from the balcony. The room was nicely furnished and you could tell that they had recently refurbished. It had a curtain dividing the room from the living area, but since it was just my wife and I, we never even pulled it shut.

The hotel also offers LOTS of activities for families throughout the week. Everything from Kayaking to wine tasting to bingo. We did the kayaking and it was a lot of fun. They have a hot tub and sauna upstairs as well as a few grills and patio area with views of the Del, San Diego, and the ocean.

This is NOT a resort where you will find all sorts of huge pools and fitness facilities. If that is what you are looking for, they allow you to use the Loews Coronado, but we never did. But this was the ideal location, beautiful setup, AMAZING staff and overall great little place. I would recommend this to almost anyone!

Room Tip: Rooms 321/323 are on the end of the hotel so you can see the ocean without the noise of the Orange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Friendly staff. Great location but not right on the beach. Comfortable beds. Lots to do. Good free WiFi and free indoor secured parking. We are coming back. No pool but nice rooftop patio with sauna and hot tub.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stay for a couple of nights at the end of March. The location is great, staff were very friendly and it was lovely and quiet at night. We did feel that we were some of the youngest guests (we are in our 30s) but that was part of the charm of the place and we loved the Parrot in the lobby. Excellent value for money in Coronado. We stayed in a studio room which has more than enough room for the two of us and the bed was huge and very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Beach Resort

Address: 1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#10 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Coronado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.