We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Coronado Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Coronado Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in Coronado
Oceanside, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was so thrilled with our stay that I could barely wait to get home to write a positive review for the Coronado Beach Resort!

This past weekend my husband and I celebrated our first wedding anniversary here. A client of mine is affiliated with the resort and was able to get us a really good rate, so we snapped up the offer since we're on a super tight budget and the chance may never come around again!

There was a couple of booking issues (mostly on my client's end - not the resort's fault) but Erick professionally cleared up the issues the day before we arrived. I really appreciated the time he took to resolve my problem, even giving me his personal business phone number in case of any other hurdles.

We checked in on Friday evening and were given a pamphlet of information for surrounding restaurants and activities, including a "VIP" discount at certain participating spots. The front desk concierge that evening (Jonathan?) was ultra helpful as well.

Our room was BEAUTIFUL - facing the Hotel Del with a bit of ocean view from our balcony. The room was impeccably clean - cleaner than any hotel I've ever experienced - with tasteful decor and comfortable furniture. The bed was super comfy too. There were two flat screen TVs in our unit, a spotless bathroom with a large tub/ shower, tons of towels and complimentary coffee, hot chocolate, etc.

The kitchenette was perfect for if we had been staying longer. There was a full size fridge, a mini dishwasher, a sink, pots, pans and a selection of pint and wine glasses... I could seriously live there. The upper deck with the jacuzzi and deck chairs is perfect to watch the sun set.

One day during our stay we had a maintenance issue and called down for something, and they arrived at our room in less than 5 minutes. I was floored; talk about great service!

The lobby is beautiful with high ceilings and loungy furniture, complete with the 20 year old resident macaw, Cody.

I could go on and on but this review is already lengthy enough. We were ecstatic about our stay and didn't want to leave. I can't recommend Coronado Beach Resort enough and would absolutely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Hotel Del Coronado!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    53
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
84
85
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful hotel with free underground parking in a perfect location opposite the Del, no food available in the hotel but there are plenty of surrounding restaurants and the rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. No pool but you can use a pool in a hotel down the road. The whole hotel was clean and the staff very good. The only down points were the windows when closed still let noise through from the traffic which woke us each morning, I was not that happy with the pull down bed, but it did give us a bit more room in the daytime.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee Village, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You can watch the sun rise over the city and the sunset over the horizen. The staff plus excellent location will afford a special time for any visitor. From arrival to departure whether
single, couple, or family....you will feel welcome and treated like at VIP. Rooms are are all
a bit different because of the shape of the bldg. This makes it interesting. We often park
our car and walk or use bicycles provided by resort. Good restauarants, grocery store,
drug store, parks, churches, etc., all withint walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for room with residential view if you aren't from a metropolitan area/or used to traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Coronado has so much to offer for everyone. This was our second stay at the Coronado Beach Resort and it was again wonderful. The location allows strolling the streets, enjoying the sites, shopping, restaurants and the beach. Bicycles are available for further site-seeing and trips to the Cays where our son and family reside.The staff at the resort couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and clean. It has become almost our home away from home in Florida. Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Try for a room on the residential side as Orange Avenue can be a little noisy. We prefer the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had a great 5 night stay at CBR. Arrived late from HI and made our way to room 219 which faced Orange Avenue. The room had an odd set up and did not feel homey at all. There was a view but you could not leave door open because of noise from street. The next morning we asked if there were any other rooms that may be available for the next 4 nights because we did not want to move again. We ended up looking at 112 and loving it. It was on the residential side of the building. We had a 1BR with a door, fireplace and windows in each room which we opened for the cool air. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The resort was spotless, location is stellar. All and all a great trip and we would stay here again on our next visit to Coronado! Thank you Erik!

Room Tip: It depends on what your priorities are..we choose to be on residential side which has no views but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayward
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is more than perfect for just about everyone. When you arrive to the hotel it kind of feels like your walking into your own private beach home. They have a parking structure located in the basement. The lobby staff is very friendly; when we found out about the free bike rentals they provided us with a bike trail map and they were on point with their recommendation of the trail which takes you right under the Coronado bridge, great views of the bridge and downtown across the water. My wife loved the macaw in the lobby. Our one bed room suite had the following extras: kitchen, microwave, fireplace,refrigerator, extra large bathtub, and a mid size living area which also comes with a sofa bed. The rooms are very clean and the look is a little outdated but it fits the hotel since it seems like it has been here for years. The hallway ceilings are a little low since I'm a tall guy but nothing to worry about. My wife an I had stay in down town San Diego but wish we would have known about this place a long time ago. I would have rated this place a five but they don't have a pool, only a jacuzzi which we didn't care for since my wife is pregnant.

The location outweights everything; the shops and bars right next door to this hotel is everything you need to enjoy coronado.

I will definitely recommend this place to friends and family and will be returning back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lmartin777, General Manager at Coronado Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Leonardo C,
Thank you for reviewing your most recent experience at Coronado Beach Resort on TripAdvisor. We're so pleased to hear that you and your wife had such a great time during your vacation. There are so many amazing restaurants and shops throughout Coronado, we're glad you had a chance to explore. We hope to welcome you both back soon!
Thank you again,
Leon Martin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I am writing this review half way through a two week stay at this time share in February 2013. Coronado Beach Resort is a boutique style accommodation across the street from the famous Del Coronado Hotel and an easy two block walk to the beach. Internet access is throughout the rooms and coverage is good; there a multiple servers. And, the parking is free and adequate.

I am travelling with my wife and we are both most impressed with this accommodation. The rooms are clean and roomy, the beds super comfortable, but the best part is the staff. The people working here most certainly love their jobs, because it shows! Whenever we ask for anything, the response is instantaneous. We have fallen in love with Coronado, in no small measure because of the accommodations.

Room Tip: A tip for travellers. If you are sensetive to noise do not accept a room facing Orange Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coronado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado
Coronado Beach Hotel
Coronado Beach
Address: 1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Coronado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.