We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coronado Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coronado Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fun place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here with family. We had a teenager and 2 little ones. They had a blast. Cookies when the checked in. Popcorn everyday in the lobby in the afternoon. Ping Pong Table and pool table. Yes there is no pool but you are a easy walk to the beach. They have bike to borrow for a bike ride and Seana has a host of activities for all. From Root beer floats and kayaking to sangria and spa information. When traveling with kids you do have to do some research and find out what there is to do anywhere you go. So if you plan a family vacation on the island remember one the time of year (most kids there are in school so activities are limited), your kids age and atheletic ability. Will love on the next visit to join seana on the bay,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    57
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
103
113
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our first trip to San Diego and we'd planned to spend more time there than Coronado, but the reverse ended up to be true. The Coronado Beach Resort felt like a "home away from home".....just delightful! Our accomodation was immaculate, the amenities more than we could have imagined, and all the staff exemplary. We were impressed by the genuine care and consideration every staff person exhibited. The front desk personnel were amazing -- couldn't do enough to make our stay #1. Coronado, and particularly this location, were so enjoyable that we only left the island 3 times in 10 days. The buses are so accessible for the trip to town over the bridge and easy transfers to interesting destinations, and the little ferry between San Diego and Coronado was perfect -- right off the ferry and onto the bus that drops you back at the CBR. Very pleasant and efficient.
We were especially pleased to have the use of Beach Cruiser bikes and pedalled much of the island, enjoying the beautiful and diverse residential architecture, as well as a wonderful bike route around the island itself. There is also a very interesting bike path out along the Silver Strand, with beach on both sides all the way. All this is flat and an easy pedal.
Cody, the parrot in the lobby of the Coronado Beach is sheer delight. She entertained us every time we came and went. Always tea and coffee available in the lobby, very clean and well-kept. Loved the popcorn in the late afternoon, and there were activities offered as well.
We couldn't have been any happier with our time spent at this resort, and can't wait to return one day soon. Hats off to the Coronado Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor on the Del side have busy traffic, but sitting out on the patio (one floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were on the second floor in a two bedroom which was perfect. The beds were comfy, we had 3 TV's, 2 were probably brand new plasma TV's, and a sleeper sofa. The room was quite clean and very quiet. I never heard other guests while in the room. The kitchen was supplied with lots of dishes, glasses, bowls, pots, pans, anything you could think of...except a real stove, just a hotplate. Not a big deal. We really weren't going to cook for a 2 night stay. The hot tub on the roof was great, clean and HOT!!! We loved Cody, the bird, he seemed to like us too as he always shouted "hello!" when we came through the lobby. Popcorn in the lobby in the afternoon was a nice treat too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My Husband and I fell in love with Coronado earlier this year when we visited for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. At that time, we stayed at The Hotel Del Coronado. We enjoyed Coronado so much, when the opportunity presented itself to visit again, we jumped on it. This time though, we wanted to watch our pennies and stay somewhere more affordable. Somewhere still within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants- and let's not forget the beach!
I researched online and found great reviews on Trip Advisor for Coronado Beach Resort and booked. This is where we will stay from now on!! We had a very quiet room on the third floor with views of The Del and the harbor. The one bedrooms are big!! Everyone we came into contact with was so kind and accommodating. Convenient underground parking. They even let us leave our rental car there after check out as our flight was not until that evening. Convenient kitchenette with complimentary teas, coffee and hot chocolate, even popcorn!
I must note, I did not see one person in the hotel under 45 the whole weekend, and that makes me hesitant to bring our children back with us next time. Perhaps their sister property, Loews, would be more appropriate for them. We have stayed there in the past as well, but nothing beats staying near the quaint downtown. We will be back, Coronado Beach Resort!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Place was clean. We weren't bothered. The staff was very nice. Would stay again.
It was close to the beach so being able to walk over and back to was a plus. It is close to a lot of restaurants. We were able to get cabs out to the Gas Lamp district in SD very easily. Getting back wasn't too bad either. Could use a pool. Very relaxing. We were able to fit everyone comfortably in the rooms without worrying about sleeping on the ground since there were fold out beds from the coaches. The dishes and utensils were a good touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff, especially Mike, Erik, and Angelica were all amazing! They took care of all 13 of us! We flew in for a bachelor party, had some rooming issues but Mike was able to take care of it. Also, Erik gave a lot of good recommendations for nearby restaurants and was always looking out for us. Everything was perfect and we couldn't have asked for more. I will definitely be coming back here in the near future and recommending all my friends to check this place out. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location is great, even if the road noise can be a bit loud on the "Del" side (not the resort's fault...just a matter of location). There are many amenities to choose from. The staff are extremely eager to please and go out of their way to meet or exceed your needs and requests. They've upgraded this resort a lot over the years we've been going there. We definitely plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "Hotel Del" side are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
0.1 mi away
Glorietta Bay Inn
Glorietta Bay Inn
#3 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#2 of 18 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 18 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#12 of 18 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 stars 3,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Beach Resort

Address: 1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the romantic and historic Coronado Island, Coronado Beach Resort emulates a unique beachside charm with an urban backdrop. Choose from a variety of our suites which give you the comfort & convenience of home while still having that vacation getaway. Located in the heart of Orange Avenue, our guests are steps away from the unique shops, restaurants, and bustling atmosphere of the charming downtown area. Dine in and enjoy the Jacuzzi or Adventure out and experience Coronado Island from a new view with access to our off property Pool, Basketball & Tennis Courts. Come and stay at Coronado Beach Resort and take that relaxing & fun filled vacation that you've always dreamt about. Please note a USD 17.00 Nightly resort fee will be collected at check in. Check-in is at 4 pm and check-out is at 11 am. Minimum age to check-in is 21. Also be advised that a credit card is required for incidentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Coronado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.