We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coronado Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coronado Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fun place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here with family. We had a teenager and 2 little ones. They had a blast. Cookies when the checked in. Popcorn everyday in the lobby in the afternoon. Ping Pong Table and pool table. Yes there is no pool but you are a easy walk to the beach. They have bike to borrow for a bike ride and Seana has a host of activities for all. From Root beer floats and kayaking to sangria and spa information. When traveling with kids you do have to do some research and find out what there is to do anywhere you go. So if you plan a family vacation on the island remember one the time of year (most kids there are in school so activities are limited), your kids age and atheletic ability. Will love on the next visit to join seana on the bay,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    53
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
90
100
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our first trip to San Diego and we'd planned to spend more time there than Coronado, but the reverse ended up to be true. The Coronado Beach Resort felt like a "home away from home".....just delightful! Our accomodation was immaculate, the amenities more than we could have imagined, and all the staff exemplary. We were impressed by the genuine care and consideration every staff person exhibited. The front desk personnel were amazing -- couldn't do enough to make our stay #1. Coronado, and particularly this location, were so enjoyable that we only left the island 3 times in 10 days. The buses are so accessible for the trip to town over the bridge and easy transfers to interesting destinations, and the little ferry between San Diego and Coronado was perfect -- right off the ferry and onto the bus that drops you back at the CBR. Very pleasant and efficient.
We were especially pleased to have the use of Beach Cruiser bikes and pedalled much of the island, enjoying the beautiful and diverse residential architecture, as well as a wonderful bike route around the island itself. There is also a very interesting bike path out along the Silver Strand, with beach on both sides all the way. All this is flat and an easy pedal.
Cody, the parrot in the lobby of the Coronado Beach is sheer delight. She entertained us every time we came and went. Always tea and coffee available in the lobby, very clean and well-kept. Loved the popcorn in the late afternoon, and there were activities offered as well.
We couldn't have been any happier with our time spent at this resort, and can't wait to return one day soon. Hats off to the Coronado Beach Resort!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor on the Del side have busy traffic, but sitting out on the patio (one floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were on the second floor in a two bedroom which was perfect. The beds were comfy, we had 3 TV's, 2 were probably brand new plasma TV's, and a sleeper sofa. The room was quite clean and very quiet. I never heard other guests while in the room. The kitchen was supplied with lots of dishes, glasses, bowls, pots, pans, anything you could think of...except a real stove, just a hotplate. Not a big deal. We really weren't going to cook for a 2 night stay. The hot tub on the roof was great, clean and HOT!!! We loved Cody, the bird, he seemed to like us too as he always shouted "hello!" when we came through the lobby. Popcorn in the lobby in the afternoon was a nice treat too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My Husband and I fell in love with Coronado earlier this year when we visited for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. At that time, we stayed at The Hotel Del Coronado. We enjoyed Coronado so much, when the opportunity presented itself to visit again, we jumped on it. This time though, we wanted to watch our pennies and stay somewhere more affordable. Somewhere still within walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants- and let's not forget the beach!
I researched online and found great reviews on Trip Advisor for Coronado Beach Resort and booked. This is where we will stay from now on!! We had a very quiet room on the third floor with views of The Del and the harbor. The one bedrooms are big!! Everyone we came into contact with was so kind and accommodating. Convenient underground parking. They even let us leave our rental car there after check out as our flight was not until that evening. Convenient kitchenette with complimentary teas, coffee and hot chocolate, even popcorn!
I must note, I did not see one person in the hotel under 45 the whole weekend, and that makes me hesitant to bring our children back with us next time. Perhaps their sister property, Loews, would be more appropriate for them. We have stayed there in the past as well, but nothing beats staying near the quaint downtown. We will be back, Coronado Beach Resort!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Another excellent stay at our favourite resort hotel in the whole world! We visited again from the UK for two weeks using the direct flight from London Heathrow to San Diego this time - much more convenient than connecting through another US hub airport. The continuity of staff here makes all the difference and we were happy to see that Leon, Seana, Mike, Erik and all their colleagues continue to provide excellent customer service. The resort is so convenient for the beach, local Coronado restaurants and shops, yet is only a short 10 minute hop over the bridge to downtown San Diego, it's parks, the Zoo, Seaworld etc. Try the kayaking, take a bike ride or join the wine tasting fun. All very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Place was clean. We weren't bothered. The staff was very nice. Would stay again.
It was close to the beach so being able to walk over and back to was a plus. It is close to a lot of restaurants. We were able to get cabs out to the Gas Lamp district in SD very easily. Getting back wasn't too bad either. Could use a pool. Very relaxing. We were able to fit everyone comfortably in the rooms without worrying about sleeping on the ground since there were fold out beds from the coaches. The dishes and utensils were a good touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff, especially Mike, Erik, and Angelica were all amazing! They took care of all 13 of us! We flew in for a bachelor party, had some rooming issues but Mike was able to take care of it. Also, Erik gave a lot of good recommendations for nearby restaurants and was always looking out for us. Everything was perfect and we couldn't have asked for more. I will definitely be coming back here in the near future and recommending all my friends to check this place out. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronado Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Beach Resort

Address: 1415 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronado Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Coronado Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.