We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on Coronado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cherokee Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cherokee Lodge
964 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Coronado B&B and Inns
cincinnati, ohio
1 review
“Great place to stay on Coronado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Just came back from a 3-night stay at the Cherokee Lodge when we went to Coronado for a wedding, and it was very nice. Not sure what the other reviewer has to complain about because had he checked the B&B's website, he would have seen from the pictures and video exactly what it would be. That's what we did! The place was nice and clean and the owner and his daughter were very helpful and accommodating. The rooms might have been smallish, but why are you spending much room in the room when you are on Coronado? The beach was wonderful. The towels in OUR room were very plush and good. Nothing shabby as was implied in the other review. We used breakfast vouchers for Panera which was only a block away. There were beach towels provided for us, and they were able to loan us beach chairs and an umbrella, and later a hair dryer when I realized I had not packed one. The owner even picked us up from and took us to the ferry, which was a perk I was not expecting. Very friendly, very polite, very helpful. Great place to stay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St George UT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Cherokee Lodge is the best place to stay in Coronado Island. Not only are the owner and staff extremely friendly but they are also very insightful. They helped out when we needed information on where to go and what to see. My daughter is only three and the staff was very warm and friendly to my ever so rambunctious daughter. We had alot of down time in between sightseeing and beach going and really enjoyed sitting outside on the porch relaxing and making good conversation with the staff and other visitors. We also stayed in three different rooms at the lodge during our stay and each room was unique, clean, quiet and comfortable, we had no trouble sleeping at night. We will absolutely return, hopefully sooner than later. Best wishes to all that travel to the beautiful Coronado Island and definitely do not pass up the opportunity to stay at the Cherokee Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I bought a two night stay in the Cherokee Lodge at a charity auction a few months back and were excited about taking a much needed day trip to this seemingly charming B&B in one of our favorite places, Coronado!

Then we arrived.... Hmmm.... Where do I begin?

Our room was supposed to be one of the "nicer" rooms, with a king sized bed and it's own bathroom. I would hate to see one of their average rooms. Upon entering the "king deluxe," the first thing that hit us was a musty smell. We quickly opened a window, hoping to air it out. It did not go away. The room itself was a mess, crammed with more furniture than a salvation Army. A loud mini fridge that looked like it was purchased at a yard sale sat upon the dresser drawers, and resting on it was a 1980's era 14" mini television just waiting to be squinted at. Then I sat on what could be quite possibly the hardest bed I've ever had the displeasure compressing my spine on. My wife, being the trooper that she is, tried to stay positive and decided to take a shower. That idea went out the window when she saw the towels. Actually, I think they were towels at one point, perhaps back in the 70's, but now they were more like cheesecloth. Even my grandmother doesn't keep towels that long. Everything about this room screamed OLD. Not charming. Not vintage. Just old. After some blank stares, we both decided to cut our losses and check in to another hotel. We forfeited our several hundred dollar certificate gladly, considering it an expensive lesson in the perils of charity auctions.

The people there are nice enough, but shame on them for running such a charmless, dingy place. Buy new towels at least! The owner seemed more interested with his internet phone system that allowed you to call long distance anywhere in the country for free (cell phone anyone?) than maintaining his B&B.

Oh yeah, one more thing. At this Bed and Breakfast, there is no breakfast, only a five dollar voucher to eat at some diner several blocks away. That may actually be a blessing because it at least gives you an excuse to leave the crap hole that is - The Cherokee Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

The most pleasant trip we have had in many years. The Lodge was perfect, unique and just great.

Karen was just super as our Host and extremely nice. Also, willing to help and assist with everything.

We will stay there again and again.

I Highly recommend this Lodge to anyone and everyone.

Just Absolutely Great!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Cherokee Lodge for our wedding anniversary this year. We were excited upon arrival to see the beautiful gardens surrounding the property. The fruit trees outside with baskets of fruit near the door for guests to enjoy. We were very interested in the historical background of the building....if you stay, be sure to speak to the locals about the building & its history.
Just a few minutes walk will take you to some nearby attractions like Hotel Del, excellent shopping & dining.
For those of you wanting a quiet getaway and enjoy the feeling of being at home...I highly recommend staying at the Cherokee. The rooms were very clean and were complimented with fresh cut flowers from the garden. The vintage soda & snack machines were a cute amenity.
Another great plus, being a bed and breakfast, you would expect a shared communal shower - however, Cherokee Lodge is equipped with private showers for every room!! They also have refrigerator, coffee, beach towels, satellite tv, free phone calls (including international), complimentary wireless internet (and a terminal in the main hall, in case you didn't bring your laptop) washer/dryer, ice and microwave are also available. The breakfast is in the form of a voucher for the local City Diner located only a block or so from the Lodge. Excellent breakfast selections (if I must say) but that's another story.
So, take it from me...coming from a hospitality background...this place is excellent. Clean rooms, great location, reasonable prices and nice amenities (and dont forget the friendly staff!!)

  • Liked — The at home feeling and beautiful gardens surrounding the lodge.
  • Disliked — No swimming pool....but what can you ask for at a historic b&b?
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We (Dad, Mum & 16 year old son) stayed at the Cherokee for a wonderful week in July.
We had a double room with en-suite bathroom (shower). Room was very clean & comfortable with aircon, ceiling fans, fridge, TV and coffee maker. Free telephone calls (including international) plus PC and internet available for us.
Our hosts - Karen & Ed were great - warm & friendly and couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. Karen had great restaurant recommendations and helped us with trips to SeaWorld and the brilliant San Diego Zoo.
Breakfast vouchers at $5 each were provided for the Beach Diner - just a few minutes walk and where we enjoyed great choice of menu and one could keep with the $5 voucher if wanted - we didn't and had a really hearty start to the day!
Cherokee is easy to get to on Coronado and is located minutes from the wonderful beach and magnificent Hotel Del.
All in all we had a great stay in the Cherokee Lodge. It is fantastic value for money and we all agreed we would certainly come back.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at the Cherokee Lodge three nights this week and loved it. I attended a conference while my mom and 9 month old son enjoyed the hotel. The weather was dreary the whole time, but the room had sattelite TV, free wireless internet, a computer to use if you didn't bring one, books, and a comfortable bed and couch to snuggle in. The property has beautiful landscaping with the Cherokee roses. Bear, the groundkeeper proudly explained that the bush in the middle of the front yard is over 100 years old and he revived it after saving it from under a big ficus tree.

I always rate the accomodation by the water pressure in the shower and this one was top of the list! (BTW - most of the rooms have a bathroom in it). Lots of shops and great restaurants are a block away and the beach and historic Hotel Del Coronado is a 10 minute walk. The baby was teething and cried a lot, but no one seemed to know we were there. The house is well insulated! We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherokee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Lodge

Also Known As:
Cherokee Hotel
Cherokee Hotel Coronado
Address: 964 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Cherokee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.