We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Coronado.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cherokee Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cherokee Lodge
964 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Coronado B&B and Inns
Sidney, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Coronado.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best kept secret in Coronado!! Wonderful accomodations. Very clean, comfortable & convenient location. Great Hospitality. Highly recommend staying at the Lodge for the best value in Coronado. Everyone else, who stayed at the lodge the same time as we did, also commented on what a lovely place it was to stay & how they did not need a car to get anywhere in Coronado, as everything is within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #12 & loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

So many great things about staying at Cherokee Lodge, but #1 has to be the location. It is so centrally located on the island that on a recent week's vacation I only drove once - and that was to Mission Valley. Everything is walking distance. But the location isn't the only thing to love - the other thing that I LOVE about this place is that they welcomed my two "fur kids" - our Golden Retrievers. While this isn't a "traditional" B&B in the sense that you don't eat at the Lodge, I preferred having a lot of options of what to have with our daily vouchers at Panera's (also a great, dog friendly place!). Since this is a very old building, not everything is in perfect working order, but I didn't expect that anyway. The staff is very friendly and attentive too. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Keep in mind that not all the rooms have the private bath IN the room. We stayed in Room 2 which did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great place to stay if you are not looking for the huge chain hotels. Traveled with our 2 yr old and he just stayed with us in the King bed, no problem. Clean, old-fashioned; Staff is friendly, location close to places to eat and walk around. Stayed here for a wedding at Naval Lodge. Would stay here again if I came back to Coronado!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's a charming old house with period furnishings, clean and quiet. It has a nice front porch overlooking a lush flower garden with hummingbird action, and the whole property is well cared for. Shops and restaurants are easily walkable, and there is free on-the-street parking. Our maid was friendly and clearly concerned about our comfort, and the management is accessible but not intrusive. Lots of people brought their dogs and we worried about barking but were never disturbed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed two nights at Cherokee Lodge and had a very good experience. The house is cute and inviting, the two employees we dealt with were friendly and professional. We stayed in Room 2. It was large and comfortable, on the ground floor. Although AC is accessible, we just opened the windows and allowed the cool ocean breeze through our room. The house is centrally located, walkable to all stores and the beach.
The Cherokee Lodge offers a voucher for breakfast at Panera Bread right around the corner. The menu is limited and I missed the hominess of breakfast with other people in a family setting which is one reason why I choose a B & B in the first place. While there, we did not see or hear one other guest. Either it's VERY quiet there or there were no other guests.
For the price and the convenience, I would visit Cherokee Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My sister and I use to stay at our cousin's home on "B" Avenue and were looking for a similar place to stay that was comfortable, affordable and close to the shops, restaurants and Hotel Del. We found it at The Cherokee Lodge, one block off of Orange Avenue. Room "2" is a large suite with beautiful antique furniture, wood floors and elegant 500 thread count cotton sheets. It was great having a coffee pot with Wolfgang Puck Estate Grown coffee and a down comforter. Two ceiling fans and a window A/C unit kept the room very cool. The bathroom shower/tub worked great and there was a guest computer to surf the internet and check-in with the airlines. The manager, "Vickie" was very professional and helpful, and I also had the pleasure of meeting the owner of the Lodge. I will definately plan a return visit to this great Hotel/BB

Room Tip: Look at the "virtual tour" so you can decide which room is best. Room "2" is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We wound up arriving in Coronado and were unable to get into our VRBO house a day early as planned. We called Cherokee Lodge and stayed 1 night. Wonderful neighborhood, neat and tidy, quiet, close to a park, grocery, drugstore, shops, and restaurants. Lovely gardens greet you upon arrival with a wrap around porch for sitting or a backyard patio with more garden area. For breakfast we were given vouchers for Panera Bread less than a block away. While the room itself was not new or fancy, we did find it to be clean and to fit our needs.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherokee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Lodge

Address: 964 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Cherokee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.