We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trade Show overflow / this B&B was a great option.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cherokee Lodge to your Saves list
Cherokee Lodge
964 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Coronado B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Trade Show overflow / this B&B was a great option.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We needed three rooms during 2011 ADA at San Diego Convention Center. This B&B Was an excellent option. Only ten minutes away. We used the water taxi which dropped us off right at the hall. Also used it for easy transport to Padres game at Petco Park. The location is charming and the owner helpful. Our strolls along Orange street in Coronado have been magical. Everyone smiles in this town. I'd return at any opportunity to enjoy this again. The beach is less than two blocks, easy walk.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
12
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Horrible, one step up from camping. Room was basic, bathroom so tiny could hardly turn around, No plugs to speak of one in the bathroom and one behind the bed that you can not reach, TV so small you could miss it with no channels to speak of, No maid service unless you ask and then at the end they want additional money left in a envelope for the maid service. Insufficient light in the room always dark, They gave us a breakfast cert for Panerra Bread for certain breakfast items which when we visited Panerra they were out of everything except bagel and coffee, No Parking!!! To top it off we were sitting on the patio at 10:pm one holiday evening and were told to keep it down they had complaints, even though the owners were up every moring early waking us up with their talking. SO NOT WORTH THE MONEY, one step up from camping spend the money and go somewhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We had our wedding at this small B&B last month & all 34 of us are still talkiing about how perfect it was. This is due in large part to Ed, Phyllis & Bear who not only treated us like family, but provided their amazing storybook setting. They took customer service to a new level & we've already booked our next trip. This is an excellent place to have a small group vacation!

Stayed October 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Ok I am biased, because I literally grew up in the house, but there is nothing better than being able to come home 30 yrs later and stay in your old bedroom - when your parents no longer own the place :-) I actually was here a few years further back but send as many people by as possible. We plan our own trip back hopefully this December. This is a great example of a Cat's Ear victorian, and people who know and love its history.

Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Just came back from a 3-night stay at the Cherokee Lodge when we went to Coronado for a wedding, and it was very nice. Not sure what the other reviewer has to complain about because had he checked the B&B's website, he would have seen from the pictures and video exactly what it would be. That's what we did! The place was nice and clean and the owner and his daughter were very helpful and accommodating. The rooms might have been smallish, but why are you spending much room in the room when you are on Coronado? The beach was wonderful. The towels in OUR room were very plush and good. Nothing shabby as was implied in the other review. We used breakfast vouchers for Panera which was only a block away. There were beach towels provided for us, and they were able to loan us beach chairs and an umbrella, and later a hair dryer when I realized I had not packed one. The owner even picked us up from and took us to the ferry, which was a perk I was not expecting. Very friendly, very polite, very helpful. Great place to stay. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St George UT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Cherokee Lodge is the best place to stay in Coronado Island. Not only are the owner and staff extremely friendly but they are also very insightful. They helped out when we needed information on where to go and what to see. My daughter is only three and the staff was very warm and friendly to my ever so rambunctious daughter. We had alot of down time in between sightseeing and beach going and really enjoyed sitting outside on the porch relaxing and making good conversation with the staff and other visitors. We also stayed in three different rooms at the lodge during our stay and each room was unique, clean, quiet and comfortable, we had no trouble sleeping at night. We will absolutely return, hopefully sooner than later. Best wishes to all that travel to the beautiful Coronado Island and definitely do not pass up the opportunity to stay at the Cherokee Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

My wife and I bought a two night stay in the Cherokee Lodge at a charity auction a few months back and were excited about taking a much needed day trip to this seemingly charming B&B in one of our favorite places, Coronado!

Then we arrived.... Hmmm.... Where do I begin?

Our room was supposed to be one of the "nicer" rooms, with a king sized bed and it's own bathroom. I would hate to see one of their average rooms. Upon entering the "king deluxe," the first thing that hit us was a musty smell. We quickly opened a window, hoping to air it out. It did not go away. The room itself was a mess, crammed with more furniture than a salvation Army. A loud mini fridge that looked like it was purchased at a yard sale sat upon the dresser drawers, and resting on it was a 1980's era 14" mini television just waiting to be squinted at. Then I sat on what could be quite possibly the hardest bed I've ever had the displeasure compressing my spine on. My wife, being the trooper that she is, tried to stay positive and decided to take a shower. That idea went out the window when she saw the towels. Actually, I think they were towels at one point, perhaps back in the 70's, but now they were more like cheesecloth. Even my grandmother doesn't keep towels that long. Everything about this room screamed OLD. Not charming. Not vintage. Just old. After some blank stares, we both decided to cut our losses and check in to another hotel. We forfeited our several hundred dollar certificate gladly, considering it an expensive lesson in the perils of charity auctions.

The people there are nice enough, but shame on them for running such a charmless, dingy place. Buy new towels at least! The owner seemed more interested with his internet phone system that allowed you to call long distance anywhere in the country for free (cell phone anyone?) than maintaining his B&B.

Oh yeah, one more thing. At this Bed and Breakfast, there is no breakfast, only a five dollar voucher to eat at some diner several blocks away. That may actually be a blessing because it at least gives you an excuse to leave the crap hole that is - The Cherokee Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherokee Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Lodge

Address: 964 D Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherokee Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.