We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food on Main st.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge

Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge
1015 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
+1 619-437-6087
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th
Description: With all of our restaurants, we have tried to bring something new and exciting to Coronado. Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge will specialize in Urban Eclectic Food from sustainable natural sources as well as Cocktails and local Craft beers! Leroy's is about great food – without being expensive or fancy -- made with passion and the freshest ingredients for the most prominent flavor paired with "stiff" drinks and good wine! Our menu is intended to be exciting, unexpected and most of all fresh and flavorful. Overall, we hope to provide a place for our guests to relax and dine in good company.
santa rosa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great food on Main st.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Enjoyed our dinner- creative but kitchen was slow-- was treated to dessert by Mngr.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    77
    31
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Where the locals socialize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Made our decision to eat here based advertised use of locally grown ingredients and patronizing events for Coronado residents. Ate in the bar area since dining area was reserved for a group arriving later. Wait staff and atmosphere made you feel welcome and one of the in-crowd. Our entrees: Baja Mahi Mahi was excellent - firm, fresh - servied on a bed of farro risotto with citrus and fennel and Niman Ranch Rib Eye - with brocollini and mushrooms - good portion, properly cooked - yum.
They have an outstanding selection of wines and beers with tastings on certain nights. Check out website for more detail: http://www.leroyskitchenandlounge.com
Do not be put off by the nondescript external facade...and lack of tourists - this is the real deal. Eat where the locals eat and celebrate good food and drink.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Innovative Food In Coronado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Once again, we were surprised by the improvement in Coronado food quality. This local restaurant, right on Orange Avenue, had fantastic food, sourced from local ingredients and prepared in innovative ways. And, it was super tasty. My two kids, not the most adventurous of eaters, loved it, and so did I - not an easy task to accomplish, pleasing all of us.

It is not cheap, but it is very tasty and very, very convenient if you are staying in the Village.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Coronado’s newest eatery is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had lunch at Leroy’s and discovered why this newest restaurant in Coronado is so hot!

Since the weather has been spectacular this week, we opted for eating lunch out on the newly opened sidewalk dining area. Yes, it tends to be a bit noisy on Orange Avenue, but to dine outside outweighs the traffic.

Larry was our server and he explained everything in fine detail from the menu items to the selection of 16 tap beers local microbreweries. If you are a beer aficionado then try their beer flights, it’s not on the menu so just ask for it.

All the food is 100% organic and very fresh. For starters we chose the Beet Salad and Deviled Eggs…both were wonderful. Mrs. Spazcat and I chose the Poke Tacos – sushi grade tuna in Wanton shells….simply fabulous. Mrs. Spazcat’s mom chose the chicken sandwich. When it arrived she proclaimed: “I can’t finish this huge sandwich!” At the end of the meal – gone…nothing to take home.

We look forward to many meals at Leroy’s as I’m certain you will too.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Farm to Table Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Leroys was refreshing good - we went twice in our five day stay and almost a third! Here's why - We like locally grown food, it is healthier and tastier and this is what we found at Leroy's. The salad was wonderful, the yellow tail on Rissoto was fabulous , as was the pork chop and the appy's we got. Service was friendly, helpful and professional. Food takes a little while to come out - because they make it fresh! You can order anything form a burger to sweet potato fries to a more elaborate and fancy dish. It is casual but classy. Down to earth would be my best description with really good choices. I'm tempted to give it a 5* rating but save those for very special places - however,I will say this for its class and cost it was a 5* If you want comforting and simultaneously delicious food that is healthy and fresh - go to Leroys!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leroy's Kitchen + Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.