We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crown City Inn & Bistro

Crown City Inn & Bistro
520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
619-435-3678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 89 Restaurants in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Very blah and exspensive breakfast....shocked because I had read several good reviews on trip advisor. Would not go back.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    18
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still think about breakfast there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

It's been a long time since we've lived in Coronado, but everytime we return to San Diego, we make it a point to have breakfast there. There's just something about the place that makes you crave for it, even when you're in Virginia. Great food, great atmosphere. Very small though, so you may have to wait. Just stare until the people loitering at the table are uncomfortable enough and get off their lazy butts and leave. It is a sunday morning after church must.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Charm, Service and Outstanding Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

This place is a hidden gem. Absolutely the best service, great wine list and a fabulous rotational menu. We had the crab cakes - FAB ! Crab mac n cheese, chicken gorgonzonla and seared Ahi. All cooked to perfection.

Waiter was perfect amount of attention and time away.

Parking was a little interesting - mostly street. If you are staying on the island, its easy to walk and enjoy the town.

You could wear blue jeans or a ballgown, they had a wide range of clients/customers. There are 12 tables, most for 2-4, but they have a group of 10 while we were there and had no problems accomodating. Mix of patio and indoor seating - with warmers outside, but you don't need them in Coronado.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The restaurant (Crown Bistro) is pretty unique and right next to a small hotel (Crown City Inn) so if you blink you might drive right past it. It's a little out of the way but definitely worth the drive.

The restaurant is hands-down THE BEST breakfast in San Diego County. It is known for its great breakfast selection, Banana's Foster French Toast, Ricotta stuffed belgian waffles, Eggs benedict (and variations thereof), fruit preserves like mom makes, FRESH ingredients, Prompt, friendly service, Reasonable prices for what you get.

The little hotel is a quaint & cute with a friendly staff, a pool, free beachcruiser bikes, a guest laundry room, complimentary morning coffee, well kept grounds, and well within most budgets.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stopped here toward the end of a week long visit to Coronado,
and we're so glad we did. The breakfast was outstanding, and reasonably
priced. Wonderful omelettes, waffles, and homemade preserves.
We only wish we had discovered it earlier, so we could have tried them
for lunch or dinner.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown City Inn & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Crown City Inn & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown City Inn & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.