We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nado Gelato

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nado Gelato
1017 C Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-3413
619-522-9053
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 82 restaurants in Coronado
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
Byron, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stopped here while on our trolley tour. We love gelato and this place does not disappoint. I loved the salted caramel. The lemon was more like a granita than a gelato but still tasted great. My husband had chocolate and strawberry and enjoyed both.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    31
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
parker, co
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Daily Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Staying on Coronado for a week with our family of 4, this place became a daily must stop.

They offer a dozen or so of gelato flavors which they change daily, e.g., pistachio, vanilla, caramel with sea salt, several fruit flavors- including raspberry, pear(our daugther's favorite), chocolate chip, malaga(rum and raisin), opera( my wife's favorite with hazelnut and other flavors), and on and on.

They're creamy and lower in fat than straight dairy. Order in cup, cone or smoothie. It's also a coffee shop and they feature some chocolates as well.

A neat place to walk to while strolling the shops off Orange in the village, "Island" setting of Coronado. Friendly staff. Very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Delicious, light, and full of flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very authentic gelato, however served a little warm. Was already starting to get very melty by the time you had paid and walked out the door. Despite this, the flavor was full-bodied and permeated each bite. Definitely an authentic gelato at a reasonable price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't Leave Coronado Without Trying Nado Gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Most Gelato that I have tried over the years does not taste much different than ice cream. Perhaps a little lighter and usually a somewhat different selection of flavors. But not so with Nado Gelato. This stuff is light, fluffy and bursting with flavor! I think that this place is relatively new since we have vacationed often over the years in Coronado and just found it on a recent visit. Get two or three scoops to really appreciate the range and tastes of the flavors offered. It looks as though Moo Time Creamery (which makes good ice cream) now has a formidable competitor in town and be sure not to leave Coronado without trying it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicous and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The variety of Gelato is great. The staff is very friendly and accommodating if you want to taste a flavor. A few tables outside for enjoying your dessert outdoors.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nado Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Nado Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nado Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.