We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Daily Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nado Gelato

Nado Gelato
1017 C Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-3413
619-522-9053
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in Coronado
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
parker, co
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Daily Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Staying on Coronado for a week with our family of 4, this place became a daily must stop.

They offer a dozen or so of gelato flavors which they change daily, e.g., pistachio, vanilla, caramel with sea salt, several fruit flavors- including raspberry, pear(our daugther's favorite), chocolate chip, malaga(rum and raisin), opera( my wife's favorite with hazelnut and other flavors), and on and on.

They're creamy and lower in fat than straight dairy. Order in cup, cone or smoothie. It's also a coffee shop and they feature some chocolates as well.

A neat place to walk to while strolling the shops off Orange in the village, "Island" setting of Coronado. Friendly staff. Very reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Delicious, light, and full of flavor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very authentic gelato, however served a little warm. Was already starting to get very melty by the time you had paid and walked out the door. Despite this, the flavor was full-bodied and permeated each bite. Definitely an authentic gelato at a reasonable price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't Leave Coronado Without Trying Nado Gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Most Gelato that I have tried over the years does not taste much different than ice cream. Perhaps a little lighter and usually a somewhat different selection of flavors. But not so with Nado Gelato. This stuff is light, fluffy and bursting with flavor! I think that this place is relatively new since we have vacationed often over the years in Coronado and just found it on a recent visit. Get two or three scoops to really appreciate the range and tastes of the flavors offered. It looks as though Moo Time Creamery (which makes good ice cream) now has a formidable competitor in town and be sure not to leave Coronado without trying it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicous and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The variety of Gelato is great. The staff is very friendly and accommodating if you want to taste a flavor. A few tables outside for enjoying your dessert outdoors.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay, but not amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I wanted to try Nado Gelato because it was rated highly on this website and got great reviews. Now, I have no idea why this place was ranked 2nd of 66 restaurants in Coronado. Upon entering Nado Gelato, I noticed a strange smell that was anything but appetizing. The decor was dumpy and the pistachio gelato (which I love elsewhere) was terrible. The coffee and cake batter gelato I sampled were very good. My children sampled a bunch of flavors and settled on three for each one's large dish. Each hated one of the three flavors they selected. Not overly impressed by any of the flavors, I opted to go to Moo Time, which is our favorite place for ice cream in Coronado. Unfortunately, the line was too long. But after trying Nado Gelato (where there was no line), I can see why there is always a line at Moo Time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nado Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Nado Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nado Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.