We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal room in Coronado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach to your Saves list
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
1 review
“Ideal room in Coronado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Wasn't blown away by Coronado beach itself but 1904 lodge surpassed expectations. Great room, superior service, felt at home. Couldn't have asked for better bed and breakfast experience. We stayed in the polo suite. Comfortable bed, spacious room, cool balcony, huge bathroom with dual shower heads.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We Innkeepers love to hear from guests who feel right at home while at the 1906 Lodge. Thanks for letting us know your experience was a good one. Come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    27
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
203
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tarentum, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great innkeepers, great food, and beautiful at-home surroundings....lovely, lovely, lovely! The historical appointing of the renovated building was perfect, the French Toast was the best ever. It was a very restful setting close to all the restaurants and the historical Del Coronado hotel and beach. We will return!!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor give more privacy and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
The 1906 Lodge welcomes you into spacious craftsman style interiors. Add one of our hot breakfast entrees and a walk on the beach at sunset and it's no wonder why our guests love their Coronado get aways so much. We are happy you did too and hope your first visit will not be your last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a relatively little known B&B type lodge that is very high on creature comforts, attention to detail and outstanding service. Quiet, yet close to all. If you like impeccable accommodations, clean rooms with top of the line amenities, yet a reasonable price for Coronado standards, this cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Every room is a great room. There are no "good rooms", only great rooms, and I would be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
"Every room is a great room" You sound like you are one of we Innkeepers! We are often asked, which room is your favorite? We love them all. To find the perfect room for you at the very best rate give the Innkeeper a call. We are happy to assist every guest with their reservations. An added bonus, we'll give you the latest scoop on what to see and do during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I grew up in this town but had to go back and visit family so my expectations were kind of high. This establishment did not disappoint at all. The place looked great from the photos and we couldn't be happier with our room which was called Ferryboat Landing on the second floor in the back ~ recommend it for quiet. The breakfasts were very tasty and the complimentary happy hour from 5 to 6pm is a nice touch in the beautiful communal front room. I'll go back and stay there whenever possible.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the back or side of the property are great rooms, super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Guests often ask their room be reserved in a quiet location. The good news, our entire property is quiet! All of our amenities are included in your room rate, including our daily complimentary Happy Hour, a nice way to relax after a day in the sun. We're happy to hear you enjoyed all Coronado has to offer and we thank you for the great photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just received a lovely card in the mail from the staff here thanking us for our stay. My wife and I spent three amazing nights here. The innkeepers here are fantastic! They clearly take great pride in providing their guests a wonderful experience. The free breakfast every morning was perfect! A very nice spread with fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt. The hot entrée each morning was delicious! Also, some of the best coffee I've ever had...

Wish we could have stayed longer. A very peaceful place tucked away from the main Orange Avenue drag, but only a short walk from the Hotel Del and beach. My wife and I enjoyed our walks to and from the hotel each day.

So happy we chose to stay here! Worth every penny.... Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Our guests are the very Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were supposed to stay in La Jolla in an inn by the cove for 3 nights. Having driven by a few days prior, we realized the area wouldn't be ideal for us...too crowded with people, cars and smelly seals. Fortunately we were able to cancel and book last minute at the 1906 Lodge. We stayed in a garden suite on the 2nd floor in the rear. The room was large and comfortable with a king size bed, fireplace, fridge, nicely appointed roomy bathroom etc...
Although it was located on the corner of 2 streets, we heard no noise and slept soundly. Hot breakfast was varied each morning as were the afternoon hor derves and wine. Just a 5 minute walk to Coronado beach and various restaurants was great. The staff supplied us with beach towels and a blanket (for the outdoor theatre in Balboa Park). It was a little expensive, but that's more a function of Coronado itself then the inn. I believe the Del Coronado is even pricier and packed with people. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
The beach by day, Balboa Park's Old Globe Theater by night…sounds like a great day to me! Coronado is know for our absolutely 1st class beach. Broadway's Tony Award encased in the Old Globe's lobby, well, that says it all about the quality of our treasured theater. Something for everyone in and around Coronado including a peaceful nights sleep and a satisfying breakfast when staying with us. And we are so glad you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great hotel for every occasion, you feel at home. Hotel team is very friendly and warm. The hotel is full of small nice details to make your stay perfect. You never want to leave. Rooms and facilities are cozy and relaxing. The location is very good, near to the beach and great restaurants.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
How do you make an ordinary day seem special? Stay with us on Coronado Island and spend a day, or a week, at the beach! Daily we welcome guests from across the globe (and some from just across the Coronado Bridge) who plan to do just that. Thanks for the kind review and remember….it's always a good day to be in Coronado!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#2 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach. Complimentary gourmet breakfast, Free parking, 5 PM wine, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable/DVD, local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.