We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private, quiet and super accomodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Save Saved
You added 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“private, quiet and super accomodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i found the 1906 lodge via trip advisor, and with an ongoing project in coronado beach, it's become my (and my team's) go-to place to stay on the island. location is great, rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff could not be friendlier or more helpful.

the suites all have mini fridges and sinks-great if you're staying for a few nights. bathrooms are clean and roomy. they serve breakfast every morning, which is homemade and served with a smile. they know me a little bit and when i'm there they always have something gluten free in the kitchen.

i think it's important to say that while the lodge is immaculate and absolutely comfortable, it's not a luxury property. it's a good, old-fashioned B&B with a great, accomodating staff and top-notch customer service. i'm a complete hotel snob, and i love it there.

Room Tip: definitely get a suite, either upstairs or down on the back courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
The 1906 Lodge is perfect for the business and the leisure traveler. We are close to San Diego's business center and the Beach-easy to do both when staying with us! We promise to serve all with a warm smile and our ever-present attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    25
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
177
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first experience staying at a bed and breakfast. I was very pleased with the character and charm. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. The location was ideal, very close to shops , restaurants, bars and the beach. I recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxing place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Never stayed at a B&B? Prepare to be spoiled. We have all you'd expect from a B&B; full breakfast, free parking, Wi-Fi, afternoon refreshments and so very much more. Seeing is believing! We are definitely NOT your Grandmother's B&B!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent an extended weekend here with my wife. Very friendly and helpful staff. We happened to be on an elimination diet at the time and the breakfast cooks did a wonderful job in accommodating us. This lodge is walking distance from everything you would want to see in Coronado. Very quiet, clean and extremely comfortable.

We look forward to staying there again sometime.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We always do the utmost to accommodate guest needs. We are happy to read yours were met. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 8 nights in the Polo Field room at the 1906 Lodge. The entire staff greeted us with a smile and made us feel at home every time we met them. They were a wealth of information about the area and went out of their way to help us. Ask them for beach chairs and towels, appetizer coupons at local eateries and about the trolley to Balboa Park.
The hot breakfast entrees were excellent every morning. Everyone ate on the patio and enjoyed the morning sun, landscaping and fountain. A real courtyard from Italy. There was fresh fruit, cereals, milk and juices available also. And, when you get back from your 6 am walk on the beach there is fresh, strong coffee waiting in the dining room at 7am.
Although just 2 blocks from Orange Ave the 1906 Lodge is in a very quiet neighborhood and eateries are within walking distance. Parking is at a premium in Coronado and the included secure underground parking is a real bonus. There is a bike rack in the parking garage.
Another real treat was Diego Corriente, a local classical and flamenco guitarist who blessed us with his gift and passion for music at snack time one afternoon.
My wife and I recommend the 1906 Lodge without hesitation. If you need to go to the Del, walk over from the Lodge and give yourself a self guided tour for free. And get your ice cream from MooTime and rent bikes at Kruiser King for $50 a week.
The Lodge is an easy 15-20 minute drive from the rental car lots at the airport.
Remember, quiet and relaxing. Professional and courteous staff !

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have more privacy. We stayed in the Polo Field room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
8 days in Coronado! Now that's a vacation! Thanks Hoosiers, come back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Definitely worth the cost! Clean, relaxing, and the fireplace was a subtle but wonderful touch! My girlfriend is vegetarian, so she was thrilled by the vegetarian sausage at breakfast. We'll definitely be returning as soon as possible.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to post your "awesome" review"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For our 20th anniversary, we went to Coronado Beach. Our stay was perfect. We enjoyed a great breakfast everyday by the courtyard. The free underground parking was a plus. We could walk to eat and shop in the 70 degree weather. Our room was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The innkeeper helped us select a room and did a great job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We love our Honeymooners. Strolling hand in hand around town and along the beach at sunset…priceless. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My best friend lives on Coronado and recommended this place to us. We were out there visiting friends and family but before the chaos started we thought we'd spend a couple nights here and celebrate our wedding anniversary. What a great choice! I got the feeling that we might be different from the normal folks who stay there, not sure how but I could tell one of the staff members thought we were peculiar. Other than that the room was extremely charming, the view of the grounds was beautiful, the food was delicious, eating breakfast outside was so lovely. They have done an amazing job restoring that property. And it's in a perfect location. You won't regret your stay. Oh, and great beds!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us. We are always grateful to Coronado residents who recommend the 1906 Lodge to family and friends. Again, Happy Anniversary! Hope to see you again next year or possibly sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#2 Family Hotel in Coronado
#3 Business Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach. Complimentary gourmet breakfast, parking, 5 PM wine, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable/DVD, local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.