We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Save Saved
You added 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cute and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here because of the 5 rating on tripadvisor. Excellent location - close to everything in Coronado. Room we had was a bit small with very little seating and we would go for a larger unit (suite) next time. Staff is absolutely fantastic - friendly - make you feel at home. We felt the breakfast was a little lame. Standard cold stuff with a quiche offered hot. No other options. Generally a cute quiet place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We agree, one of our comfortable spacious Garden Spa Suites would be ideal for you. Give us a call when planning your next visit. Together we will find the perfect suite for you to make sure you again "feel at home" at the 1906 Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    27
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
199
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I spent 10 nights here in the Tea Garden room on our honeymoon 2 years ago. We just came back for 3 nights - same room.
Our excellent experience of 2 years ago was repeated even though the owners are new. Most of the delightful and helpful innkeepers are the same as is the high quality service, the breakfasts and the afternoon wine and cheese. This is a most excellent inn. The owners have improved the TV/DVD system and the WiFi. The 1906 Lodge is beautiful and charming with special touches - like paperclips, pens and even reading glasses in the business centre and car window cleaning equipment in the garage. The guests' every need is anticipated and provided. Absolutely excellent. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Wonderful to welcome you back to Coronado Island for your 2nd Anniversary. We are pleased you noticed the improvements to our complementary Wi-Fi, TVs, sound systems, and our beautiful new and user friendly Business Center.. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience. Thanks for celebrating with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spent our honeymoon here, and we only have good things to say! The innkeepers are wonderful and will help you plan out your entire stay! Eat at Miguel's (close by) and Peohe's (on the other side of the island).
Thank you for a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Congratulations!
We agree, Coronado Island's 1906 Lodge is the perfect destination for romance, relaxation, and of course Honeymooners. Enjoying your luxurious Garden Spa Suite, strolling hand in hand to the beach at sunset, dinner at a seaside eatery and sleeping in - ahhhh…just a few of the irresistible reasons a Coronado vacation is memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a week long trip to Coronado Island, staying at the 1906 Lodge...and becoming smitten with both! The 1906 Lodge is a really special place. Our journey began a number of weeks before when we contacted the Lodge by phone to compare lodgings with those of the Hotel Del Coronado. Innkeeper Lorri helped make the decision easy with her warm friendly manner and great deal for our stay in the Silver Strand suite. Lorri was also our Innkeeper at check in and for a couple more days during our stay. All of the Innkeepers are helpful, friendly, warm, funny and are full of great suggestions for places to eat, things to do, places to see, etc... (Kayla, thanks for the suggestions about comfy flats for my sore feet!) We learned that they all have their favorite breakfast recipes and we thoroughly enjoyed the surprise of each morning's hot entree...from quiche to strata to stuffed french toast. Every morning we enjoyed a buffet of some sort of fresh baked sweet bread/muffin, boiled eggs, bagels/English Muffins/toast, nuts, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea...and of course a delicious hot dish...as well as friendly banter with the Innkeepers. Alyssa, you were a dear.
We were only able to enjoy cocktail hour at the Inn on 2 nights due to being busy with other activities. We met some lovely fellow guests...Diane and Peter from Canada...and enjoyed wine and nibbles in that warm and cozy lounge. Dina...thanks for letting cocktail "hour" go a bit long when we all wanted to linger a while.
Our suite was just divine! From our big comfy king sized bed, to our sunny patio, to the huge jacuzzi tub in the bright spacious tile bathroom, to our sitting area...we were more than happy to spend time in our room.
The Inn is pristine when it comes to cleanliness. They have some talented people keeping it looking so neat and clean.
The grounds were also relaxing, lush and beautiful with the added serenity of water fountains bubbling during the day and evening.
As for location, the Lodge is in a neighborhood setting but only 1 block/2 minute walk off of Orange Ave...the end of Orange Ave where the Hotel Del Coronado, loads of great restaurants and shops, and some wonderful beaches are. The 901 bus line picks up and drops off in the same area, so, if you're there without a car it's easy to get in to San Diego. If you're driving, I understand there is parking available for guests.
I could go on and on...but, haven't I already? Trust that if you stay at the 1906 Lodge, it will only add to the enjoyment of your trip. Thanks to all the Ladies at the Lodge for making our first visit a "we will return" experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
We Innkeepers love to assist our guests with their reservations. With one phone call we can determine the perfect suite at the perfect rate for each and every need. Reservations can be made with ease on our website as well, but you'd have to wait just that much longer to meet one of our informative and friendly Innkeepers!
We are so pleased to hear your December vacation with us was such a dream. It is a well kept secret that Coronado is the place to be in November and December, all the winter months really. Our weather is great, gardens are beautiful, and you'll see the best sunsets of the entire year.
Thank you, thank you for the wonderful review. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the 1906 Lodge in late Sept. and enjoyed our stay. very much. It has recently been refurbished and is very nice. Excellent breakfast (on the patio, if you like) and well stocked happy hour. In the parlor, they have photo albums of the before and after renovation. Interesting to see what a difference has been made.Larger than most B and B- 17 rooms in side annexes. We stayed in the Author's room, which is their smallest , but very comfortable. Everything was nicely appointed and the staff was helpful and friendly. Walking distance to the down town and the Del Coronado hotel. Have recommended this B and B to friends already, and would definitely go back. The Del offers docent tours on Tues and Sat. mornings. Fun to see the back side of the famous landmark.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We are the perfect fit for visitors looking for the B&B experience in an updated setting with all the amenities. Our Historic Lodge Rooms are located in the stately 1906 Lodge's original structure which, after extensive renovation, opened its doors to all May 2009. Around our garden courtyard 11 Luxury Suites from which to choose. We are very proud of all of our rooms and suites, each with its own charm and character. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and have already recommended the 1906 Lodge to friends and family. Consider us your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The 1906 Lodge is a very special place. I stayed in the Silver Strand suite which included a fireplace, large bath with whirlpool tub, relaxing sitting area and private balcony. The bed was ultra comfortable and with a selection of pillows.. super soft, thick towels and comfy robes.. beach towels, bags and chairs for jaunts to the beach.. it was a little bit of heaven in a beautifully calming setting steps away from restaurants, shops and the ocean. Each evening wine and nibbles are available in the gorgeously restored parlor, and each morning a delicious hot breakfast is served along with an array of fresh fruit and other breakfast fare. The innkeepers are very personable and caring.. they take obvious pride in their beautiful lodge, and it shows. 1906 Lodge is a place I did not want to leave, and it is the only place I will stay when visiting Coronado and the San Diego area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
You are very kind to take the time to review the 1906 Lodge. We thank you for the glowing review. You are correct, we Innkeepers do love this property and we love caring for our guests. Your suite, The Silver Strand, with it's double sided fireplace and beach decor is cozy and spacious. Many of our suite's private balconies overlook the 1906 Lodge garden courtyard. And yes, even though it is November, the garden is lush and blooming! Just one of the many reasons to love Coronado. We are so pleased you found us and enjoyed your visit. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've been to Coronado three times, and have stayed with the 1906 Lodge twice. We would have stayed all three times, but they were booked up during the dates of our visit. They are always our first choice. They always exceed our expectations when we stay. The room is always immaculate and bright. The food is perfection. The grounds are well-maintained and peaceful. It is truly Heaven on Earth. The last time we stayed, the chef made us stuffed French toast because I was dying to try it, even though it wasn't on the menu for that day! My kids loved the special touches like the gummy worms and the special note left for my son on his birthday, or the treasure chest they get to pick from after they eat their breakfast. I am not a calm person by nature but the Lodge always makes me feel so peaceful and serene. We can't wait to stay with them again the next time we visit Coronado.

Room Tip: The tent room is beautiful and has an interesting history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Relaxed on a family vacation! Feeling serene, calm, peaceful...exactly what we want for our guests. Give us a call as soon as you begin planning your next Coronado Island get away. We hope from this day forward you will only hear these words, "Yes, we have availability". We Innkeepers look forward to your return visit. BTW, thanks for the nice complement on our French Toast, it is one of our favorites too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach. Complimentary gourmet breakfast, Free parking, 5 PM wine, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable/DVD, local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.