We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach to your Saves list
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The 1906 Lodge is a very special place. I stayed in the Silver Strand suite which included a fireplace, large bath with whirlpool tub, relaxing sitting area and private balcony. The bed was ultra comfortable and with a selection of pillows.. super soft, thick towels and comfy robes.. beach towels, bags and chairs for jaunts to the beach.. it was a little bit of heaven in a beautifully calming setting steps away from restaurants, shops and the ocean. Each evening wine and nibbles are available in the gorgeously restored parlor, and each morning a delicious hot breakfast is served along with an array of fresh fruit and other breakfast fare. The innkeepers are very personable and caring.. they take obvious pride in their beautiful lodge, and it shows. 1906 Lodge is a place I did not want to leave, and it is the only place I will stay when visiting Coronado and the San Diego area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
You are very kind to take the time to review the 1906 Lodge. We thank you for the glowing review. You are correct, we Innkeepers do love this property and we love caring for our guests. Your suite, The Silver Strand, with it's double sided fireplace and beach decor is cozy and spacious. Many of our suite's private balconies overlook the 1906 Lodge garden courtyard. And yes, even though it is November, the garden is lush and blooming! Just one of the many reasons to love Coronado. We are so pleased you found us and enjoyed your visit. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    33
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
233
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We've been to Coronado three times, and have stayed with the 1906 Lodge twice. We would have stayed all three times, but they were booked up during the dates of our visit. They are always our first choice. They always exceed our expectations when we stay. The room is always immaculate and bright. The food is perfection. The grounds are well-maintained and peaceful. It is truly Heaven on Earth. The last time we stayed, the chef made us stuffed French toast because I was dying to try it, even though it wasn't on the menu for that day! My kids loved the special touches like the gummy worms and the special note left for my son on his birthday, or the treasure chest they get to pick from after they eat their breakfast. I am not a calm person by nature but the Lodge always makes me feel so peaceful and serene. We can't wait to stay with them again the next time we visit Coronado.

Room Tip: The tent room is beautiful and has an interesting history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Relaxed on a family vacation! Feeling serene, calm, peaceful...exactly what we want for our guests. Give us a call as soon as you begin planning your next Coronado Island get away. We hope from this day forward you will only hear these words, "Yes, we have availability". We Innkeepers look forward to your return visit. BTW, thanks for the nice complement on our French Toast, it is one of our favorites too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our 8th visit to the 1906 Lodge and they continue to exceed our expectations each time we visit. We were upgraded to the Trolley Car suite which is located on the second floor. It is a delightful room with a great view.

The innkeepers are the best and they treat with so much warmth, hospitality and caring. Susan, Laurie and Alyssa are all extremely friendly and have so much to offer about the lodge, Coronado Island and the surrounding area.

The happy hour (white & red wine, ice tea and snacks) and the breakfasts are also tasty and presented well. They also have coffee, tea and water available in the suites and in the central area for the lodge rooms. They also have often have some leftover sweets available for a small snack in the evening.

We were also treated to new mattresses in all the rooms. The innkeepers even asked for feedback on the mattresses.

They continue to offer free underground parking, DVD's, beach equipment and most anything you would like. You can walk to most restaurants and the golf course on the island is outstanding and a value.

We will only stay at the 1906 when we are in Coronado and highly recommend the property to many people. We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are great if you looking for a lower price. We recommend the Bay View and Wincheste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
YOUR 8th VISIT!
We love greeting our return guests! Happy to read the Trolley Car Suite was a treat for you. Many of our guests and Innkeepers refer to "Trolley Car" as a favorite because of the suite's amenities, the size of the room and the peaceful garden view. It is unanimous, the new mattresses are a dream. We are continuously making positive changes at the 1906 Lodge. We have one goal in mind and that is to make each of our guest's experience the best it can be.
We want to keep nice folks like you coming back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The 1906 Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. An original house from 1906, the Lodge has been lovingly restored into a beautiful small but luxurious hotel/inn. The location is fantastic - minutes from the truly spectacular beach and from local restaurants and shopping. The Lodge truly allows you to live like a local on Coronado Island. And if you want to spend time in San Diego, don't fret: the city is a short drive or (even better) ferry ride from here.

The staff here were consistently friendly and helpful. Our room was gorgeous, with large windows and excellent amenities. The common areas are stunning as well. They include a beautiful, well-lit living/sitting area as well as a pretty courtyard where we ate breakfast everyday. Breakfast was excellent - with plentiful breads, cereals and other breakfast items plus one hot delicious main dish.

The Lodge has a reception hour (or so) every late afternoon, featuring wine and a small assortment of snacks. This was a fine way to relax and get prepared for the evening. Free Wi-Fi and indoor parking are a plus (though be careful when you exit - the turn is sharp!).

Overall this was one of the finest lodging experiences we have had, and we would not hesitate to recommend the 1906 Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write such a complete and nice review of the 1906 Lodge. When our guests are happy we are happy! We hope you return to the island again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed four nights in the North Island suite. The room was very clean, quiet and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast each morning and the wine/cheese reception in the evening. The owners have created a nice balance between the feel of a B&B and a lodge (we liked having the choice to eat at individual tables versus communal tables).

The location is fantastic. Close to shopping, restaurants and a couple of blocks from the Del Coronado Hotel and its fantastic beach.

We would definitely return!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room, but we really enjoyed the North Island suite. It is upstairs toward th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
"A Relaxing Stay"
Exactly what we want for each and every guest of the 1906 Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The 1906 Lodge is the best. Great attention to detail. Luxury accommodations at a reasonable price. Staff is top notch. Make sure to stay there when Susan is there - what a great hostess! Coronado is known for luxury, it's top rated beach, and "island" atmosphere, but this little gem, tucked away just a few blocks from the beach, really defines the finest Coronado has to offer.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great at this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Our top rated beach is only 2 blocks from the 1906 Lodge. Grab a couple of our beach chairs, beach towels and a big umbrella and enjoy the sunshine. After reading, napping and playing on the sand, enjoy Happy Hour in our parlor before going to dinner at one of Coronado's many and varied restaurants. As I like to say, you can stay busy all day long doing nothing while vacationing on Coronado Island! And we hope you hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful two nights at the Isabella room. For the price though, I had higher expectations. I think we paid around USD 260 (incl tax).

Pros:
- Great location in Coronado (!!)
- Very clean and new room with attention to detail. The bathroom in the Isabella room is really cute (and largely the reason why we chose this one)
- Good service
- They have water bottles and coffee in the hallway for free, which was a nice touch

Cons:
- Breakfast was so so. Very standard breakfast, but overall rather sweet and we would have loved to have some savoury stuff. Coffee was very bad. The fruits were ok.
- The mattress: It had some plastic wrapped around it (as protection?), which meant that every single time we moved/turned around, it made a horrible squeaky sound. It was seriously annoying. I told the staff the following morning, but they did not seem too concerned about it. Kind of this "thanks for letting us know" thing, but I doubt any action was taken after...

I am kind of divided on this one: on the one hand, we had a wonderful stay, the place was very clean and nicely done, and overall we probably would not mind to come back, on the other we felt a bit misplaced and the mattress issue did not let us rest very well at night. It seemed more like a place for elderly couples (and mind you, we are in our 30s). They do have afternoon wine & cheese. Everyone was very welcoming, but I could not help feeling that it had a bit of a stiff/artificial atmosphere.

Maybe we have to give it a second try on our next Westcoast Trip :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for this review. We have checked the bed frame and mattress for the "squeaky" sound you heard each time you turned. We take great pride in the comfort of our rooms, the bedding and all amenities. All of our mattresses are new and each bed is made using 100% cotton mattress covers, sheets and comforters. Our housekeeping department is responsible for keeping the Lodge spotless! I will pass along your kind comments about the cleanliness of the Isabella Room and the attention to detail. We do hope you choose to return to the west coast and the 1906 Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach. Complimentary gourmet breakfast, Free parking, 5 PM wine, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable/DVD, local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.