We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach to your Saves list
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Winchester, which was not long enough! We did not want to leave. The room was extremely comfortable. Breakfast every morning was great, with a different bakery item and hot dish every day. Upstairs in the main lodge, there were small fridges stocked with water and space for leftovers. Susan and Lorie, two of the innkeepers, were very accommodating. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was huge. Make sure that you go in the parlor and look through the books that were made up of the photos taken before and during the renovations. It is amazing what the new owners did with this prime piece of real estate. This was not our first trip to Coronado, but it was our first time staying here - it will definitely not be our last time here! I was disappointed that the room was only available for 4 nights of our 7 night stay. Next year we will plan our trip around the room availability because it was so fantastic. We were only there for one evening of wine and snacks, but it was very nice. When I called for our reservation, I was asked our beverage preferences for breakfast. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go on their website to see all of the rooms. We chose one of the least expensive rooms and it was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks! Yes, our summer nights fill up fast, so it is good to call us early in the season.
No matter how long or short your stay with us, we guarantee the Innkeepers will have plenty of freshly baked goodies to go along with your breakfast each and every morning.
Our complimentary full breakfast is just one of the reasons our guests return time and time again. Another good reason is Coronado Island's near perfect year round climate and beautiful beaches!
The Winchester Room awaits your next visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    33
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
231
13
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Wi.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We were only at the inn for one night, but that all I needed to see the high standards they keep. The story of the 1906 Lodge is very interesting historically. They have restored it beautifully. Incredibly clean & furnished. Wonderful breakfast on the outdoor patio. There is also wine hour with appetizers. Innkeeper Lori was very hospitable and helpful. Also great location - walking distance to beach and businesses.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are happy your found us!
Thank you for your kind review and for acknowledging our staff.
Yes, the history of the 1906 Lodge, which includes our total renovation, is just one part of Coronado's varied and interesting past. Next time you stay with us I encourage you to take one of the many historic walking tours offered by the Coronado Visitor's Center.
We hope your next stay with us is a longer one so you can really relax and enjoy our wonderful town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I was hesitant to book a week at a B&B, but I did. From start to finish it is well done. The staff was so helpful. Lorie checked us in and set us up for my birthday dinner so that we were treated as VIP and watched the lights come on in San Diego at a wonderful restaurant at the Ferry Landing. We were in the Ocean Blvd suite. It was perfect for us. We are an older couple so that made it easier on us to enjoy everything. We met so many fun people during breakfast and at the 5PM wine and cheese get together .We did not have a car, thank Goodness. Everywhere we wanted to go was either walkable or accessible by the free (this summer) shuttle from Orange ST to the Ferry Landing. Thank you very, very much, 1906 Lodge.
THE BLAIRS

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
A week long stay in Coronado. Now that's a vacation! Nice to hear you found our Ocean Boulevard Suite to be just right. Ocean Boulevard is always a guest favorite and the perfect suite for celebrating a special occasion. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm so glad we decided to stay at the 1906 Lodge! The inn was charming, the room was clean and comfortable with adorable decorations, the bed was heavenly, and the location (just a short walk from both downtown Coronado and the beach) was perfect. However the best part, hands down, was the friendly and attentive staff who made us feel positively spoiled. Breakfast was amazing, the inn provides everything you could possibly want for a day at the beach, happy hour has a good selection of snacks and wine, and the nightly turn down service was a much appreciated added touch. All in all our trip was fabulous, thanks in no small part to the 1906 Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Winchester Room.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
So happy to read your trip was "fabulous". We too are happy you chose to stay with us. Our entire staff is pleased when we hear our guests describe the 1906 Lodge as clean, comfortable, friendly and charming.
It sounds like you enjoyed lounging at Coronado Beach. Lucky you!
Our recipe for a relaxing Coronado day; breakfast in the garden, nap, a few hours at the beach, nap, afternoon refreshments on the front veranda, a stroll at sunset then dinner at one of our many great restaurants on the island. Repeat daily!
We thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have never before felt the need to write a Tripadvisor review, but this place is so wildly overrated. This is a test to see if Tripadvisor actually posts negative reviews. For anyone with mobility issues, there is a considerable maze to go through to get to your room, as well as many curbs and steps. The underground parking garage is creepy and dungeon-like, with an exceedingly steep ramp to access it. Although the beach and shops are two blocks away, you must cross a major busy street to get there. There is no easy way to get meals here. The rooms have a closed-in feeling. The breakfast, as others have mentioned, is inadequate. We went out for breakfast.

A certain kind of traveler will like the vintage feel of the place but it is very far from luxurious. Don't be fooled by the hype.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Our goal at the 1906 Lodge is to exceed expectations, we are sorry we did not meet yours.
We know there is always room for improvement and we listen carefully to suggestions made by our guests.

Concerning guests with mobility issues; all of our common areas and 2 of our guest rooms are ADA compliant.

Our complimentary parking is seen as a real plus by the majority of our guests, especially during the busy summer months when street parking is a real challenge!

Thank you for verifying the authenticity of our Trip Advisor reviews so that future Trip Advisor users can be confident in the accuracy of the other 203 guest opinions that have given the 1906 Lodge our #1 rating in Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently spent several nights at the charming 1906 Lodge in Coronado. The owners have done an outstanding job of renovating this attractive arts & crafts style building and have thought of every little detail to make it attractive and comfortable for their guests. The gardens are beautiful, the parlour where complementary wine and cheese is served from 5 to 6 is lovely and the included secure underground parking most appreciated. The innkeepers were friendly and attentive and the facilities were exceptionally clean and well maintained.

There were many small details such as a light up magnifying mirror in the bathroom, complementary water bottles in the fridge, the turn down service with chocolates, windex and paper towels in the garage to clean your car windows. and videos, books and beach chairs to borrow that show how they try to think of everything to make you feel at home.

The location was on quiet residential street but just a couple of blocks from the beautiful Coronado Beach and the many shops and restaurants on Orange Avenue (loved Nado Gelato). We did not need the car except for off Coronado adventures.

The breakfast during our stay included a selection of cereals, toast and English muffins, jams, a different type of homemade scone, muffin or nutbread daily, yogurt, fresh fruit, almonds, and a different tasty hot dish every day such as stuffed French toast with apricot sauce or eggs Florentine, coffee, teas and juices.

One word of advice – the temperature in the rooms is controlled by a computer system in the office. When you arrive, should you want to adjust the temperature, you may want to speak to the office before you head out for your evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a favorable and informative review!
Since the comfort of our guests is paramount, the Innkeepers are here to assist with individual needs, like finding the perfect room temperature, complying with dietary considerations, or anything else we can do to make your stay perfect.

We look forward to your return to beautiful Coronado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our third consecutive year staying at the 1906 Lodge and you, will not find a better experience on the Island.

Stay at the Del Mar as you bump shoulders just trying to walk around the lobby or sit three blocks from the beach on a quiet residential street and walk at your pace to the waters edge.


The folks there are wonderful and remember you from previous visits. Try receiving that at a Hilton.

The breakfast is wonderful and the stories from the few other guests ( Only 17 rooms) fill
the air each morning. At night, relax with a glass of wine and treats to keep you happy before dinner on the island.
Best Mexican restaurant in Coronado, Miguels is only two streets away from the lodge.

Need a beach, chair towels, they have it. Its the little things that count and the 1906 Lodge has all of them.

B&B stands for Best and Best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
You know how to put a smile on an Innkeepers face, B&B=Best and Best!
Thank you for the nice mention of our breakfast service. The Innkeeping staff enjoys the breakfast hours too. Often that's when guests ask about about Coronado Island events and dining suggestions. It's fun for us to reply with tips to make their day a fun and memorable one!
Thank you for choosing the 1906 Lodge 3 years in a row. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach. Complimentary gourmet breakfast, Free parking, 5 PM wine, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable/DVD, local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.