We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Coronado!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach to your Saves list
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Phoenix
Level Contributor
1 review
“Best place to stay in Coronado!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our third consecutive year staying at the 1906 Lodge and you, will not find a better experience on the Island.

Stay at the Del Mar as you bump shoulders just trying to walk around the lobby or sit three blocks from the beach on a quiet residential street and walk at your pace to the waters edge.


The folks there are wonderful and remember you from previous visits. Try receiving that at a Hilton.

The breakfast is wonderful and the stories from the few other guests ( Only 17 rooms) fill
the air each morning. At night, relax with a glass of wine and treats to keep you happy before dinner on the island.
Best Mexican restaurant in Coronado, Miguels is only two streets away from the lodge.

Need a beach, chair towels, they have it. Its the little things that count and the 1906 Lodge has all of them.

B&B stands for Best and Best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
You know how to put a smile on an Innkeepers face, B&B=Best and Best!
Thank you for the nice mention of our breakfast service. The Innkeeping staff enjoys the breakfast hours too. Often that's when guests ask about about Coronado Island events and dining suggestions. It's fun for us to reply with tips to make their day a fun and memorable one!
Thank you for choosing the 1906 Lodge 3 years in a row. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    47
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
292
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My sister and I booked four nights while we attended a medical conference at the San Diego convention center. My goal was to find a setting that was stress free, close to the beach and memorable. The location couldn't have been better. It was peaceful, quiet and bucolic. The B&B was charming from the outside, with a gorgeous garden and small water fountains. The rooms were immaculate, absolutely the cleanest we've ever seen in any hotel. The service superb! The breakfasts were lovely, especially the authentic english scones. We can't say enough about the location which, despite being over the bridge, was ideal for attending events at the convention center. It took about ten minutes to get over the bridge and to the convention center. Incredibly easy.

We also loved its proximity to Ocean Blvd. There were marvelous restaurants, cafes and the most amazing Gelato bar, Bottega Italiana, that we visited twice. Try their pear gelato! It was insanely good!

We just can't say enough about this lovely B&B. It met every expectation and we will certainly return on our next trip. Thanks to all of the staff and innkeepers for your help!! You helped make what could have been a very stressful trip into one with lovely memories.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the garden rooms but, during our tour, the rooms in the main inn looked wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Coronado takes the stress out of a working vacation! As you discovered we are a world away from the San Diego Convention Center, yet so close. We’re happy that your 1906 Lodge experience was relaxing while helping to make your work easier. I’m sure our quiet garden helped! It is beautiful year around, but particularly so in May and June. Our roses, hibiscus, bougainvillea, wisteria, and calla lilies, along with many others, are all in bloom.
Thank you for mentioning our housekeeping staff. They so appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I just returned from spending a wonderful 5 nights at the 1906 Lodge in Coronado. It is a lovely place with an interesting history. We stayed in the Isabella room and would recommend. Breakfast daily, continental with one varying hot entree/day. Delicious and accommodating as a neighboring table was getting "gluten free". There is a 5 pm wine and appetizer hour nightly and it is a pleasant way to end the day/start the night and meet some of the other people staying there. The lodge is nicely situated within an easy walk to the main street (Orange Ave) with shops and restaurants, and also the beach. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. If you are going to Coronado/San Diego, you will love the 1906 Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
How nice for you, 5 nights on Coronado Island! There is so much to do in and around Coronado and San Diego that one needs at least 5 days at the 1906 Lodge. Three to explore and two to just relax and enjoy the Island. Refreshments are served at 5pm each day in the parlor where our guests often connect and form friendships. As you said, it is so nice to relax and share the day’s activities with others. Guests are also welcome to take refreshments to their own private patios, the garden, or our front veranda. Thanks for your kind words, and please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My fiance and I spent 4 nights at the 1906 Lodge and loved everything about it. The location was great- within easy walking distance to many shops and restaurants and the beach. This is the perfect place to stay in Coronado.

Rooms: The room we stayed in (North Island) was very spacious and was the cleanest room we have ever stayed. The balcony overlooking the quite road was perfect for morning coffee or afternoon beverages. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bathroom has a large shower and plenty of room. The large spa tub was another great feature. Overall, there is nothing I would change about the room.

Food: The breakfast was a daily highlight of our stay. Each morning we had fruit, parties, coffee, juice and a special breakfast entrée. Our favorite entrées were the eggs florentine and the stuffed French toast with apricot sauce. In the afternoon we were treated to wine and snacks in the lodge.

Hospitality: The inkeepers were all very friendly and provided recommendations for attractions and restaurants. They even provided coupons for two of our meals. They all did everything possible to make sure we were comfortable and happy during our stay.

Location: Perfect. There is so much to do in Coronado. We spent a lot of time walking around Coronado. There are many local shops and more than plenty of restaurants all within a short walk of the lodge. The ferry to San Diego is about a 20 minute walk and drops you off right at the USS Midway and many other attractions. During our 4 day stay, we did not have a need to use our rental car, so it stayed in the underground parking garage.

Overall, we highly recommend the 1906 Lodge. We both agree that this will be the place we stay every time we return to the San Diego/ Coronado area. We would not change a thing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
“The perfect place to stay in Coronado”. Your kind words mean the world to us. We thank you and we look forward to the day we welcome you and your fiancé back to Coronado Island and the 1906 Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This renovated historic lodge is perfectly located for a visit to Coronado. It is close to many sights, restaurants, just across from the Hotel Del and the beach, but it is tucked into a quiet street, so it's a great getaway. (the hotel is also locked 24 hours, so it's nice and safe) The rooms in the historic portion are very nice, I stayed in the Bay View (which is a former name of the Lodge, not a description). Breakfast each morning is nice and there are areas inside and out to eat (this wasn't "great" food, but nice enough, and better than a chain hotel). They also have a wine and nibbles hour. The staff is wonderful. Super friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for mentioning the the Bay View room which is located in our Historic Lodge. Each of our rooms and suites are named for either a person or location of note here on Coronado Island. Photographs and art from Coronado's storied past are displayed throughout the property. Ask one of the Innkeepers for our self guided walking tour and discover many of these sites still standing today. Thank you for your favorable review, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I returned to Coronado after falling in love with it five years ago.

This hotel made my return visit extra special.
The hotel is beautifully decorated with some fantastic touches. I stayed in the 'Silver Strand' room, which has a beautiful covered balcony overlooking the courtyard, dual sided fireplace and whirlpool bath.

The hotel itself is beautiful, there is a covered veranda which was lovely to enjoy a glass of wine. The arts & crafts decor is wonderful and full of character.
I particularly loved the breakfast room, and enjoyed a different breakfast special every day such as carrot-cake pancakes!

When taking a trip to the beach (just a short walk) the hotel provides deck-chairs, towels and umbrellas. A great touch :)

Meet & greet hour in the parlour. 5-6pm Complimentory White & Red wine, Cheeses and nibbles. This was a lovely environment- and all guests mingle in this area and talk about their day, or even just where you're from.

Saving the best to the last...
As if all that wasn't fabulous enough- The staff are the thing that gives this hotel a real edge.
From the Innkeepers down to the maids- the staff couldn't be more helpful and welcoming.

We particularly loved Sue. She is a fabulous ambassador for California Hospitality. When saying goodbye you are even given a hug.

A total gem. Really couldn't rate this hotel more highly!

Room Tip: First floor provides a great view of the courtyard and great light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I love the drive over the beautiful Coronado Bridge. It feels as if you have left it all behind as you enter our charming island. You chose one of our favorite suites for a romantic getaway, the Silver Strand. Enjoying the fireside spa tub is the perfect way to end a special Coronado day!
We thank you for your kind words. It is our pleasure to care for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mts of western NC
Level Contributor
496 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a great choice we made. Anyplace else would have been a let down for our first experience visiting San Diego. Our stay in the Author's Study was very comfortable overall. The staff was ultra friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are a real treat. The underground garage is an amazing bonus. No safety concerns whatsoever. Access is easy. A very quiet area except for the morning garbage and recycling trucks, which can't be helped. An easy walk to the Del and good restaurants is a plus as is the bus stop which we used during our stay to avoid traffic and the expensive hard to find parking spots downtown. The ferry is not comfortable walking distance in our opinion, especially at the end of a long day, but the bus made it a snap. One problem we encountered was that we wish we could have controlled our own thermostat. The a/c was way too cold the first night (a phone call was necessary) and then too warm the second when the staff tried to correct it. The room is equpped with a control but for some reason the staff wants to do it from the office. We just had it turned OFF the last two nights and left the windows open in this wonderful climate. We'll know what to do next time if we ever get to visit San Diego and the 1906 Lodge again. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are pleased you were delighted with your first visit to Coronado Island. Sounds like your vacation was perfectly planned.
Traveling to downtown San Diego is a breeze either by car, cab, public transportation or the San Diego/Coronado Ferry. The San Diego/Coronado Ferry's dock is 10 blocks from the 1906 Lodge. The good news, parking is free at the Ferry Landing!
We regret your room's temperature was an issue during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We Innkeepers will do our best to prevent this from being an issue in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach. Complimentary gourmet breakfast, Free parking, afternoon refreshments, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable/DVD, local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.