We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless go-to vacation...if you are looking for perfection.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach to your Saves list
1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Flawless go-to vacation...if you are looking for perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Here's a rare jewel of a B&B in Coronado, restful luxury beyond imagination, immaculate in every detail, remarkably gracious and attentive personalized service, delicious unique healthy breakfasts served with ultimate personalized service and a very homey, well-stocked happy hour...and the nicest people own and run it...the Gillingham family!
If you want a top-tier, sumptuous, B&B with more "ahhhhhhhs" than you could dream of, this is the go-to vacation for you...oh, one more thing- the underground parking garage...I've never seen as spotless a parking facility as this, equipped with a personal car-care cleaning station--window cleaner, towels and warm welcome sign.
This is the perfect--truly perfect--vacay...steps from the best beach in the US, terrific selection of the areas best eateries, wide-ranging fitness activities, long romantic walks, and a peaceful, soothing time in another era.
Ya gotta go!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "North Island"room--simply magnificent...Mission style luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    33
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
233
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lodge after coming off a two week Panama cruise. I had researched the lodge while planning our trip over a year ago and checked Tripadvisor for reviews. The Lodge was and still is reccommended as the number one place to stay in Coronado. This rating is well deserved.

The Lodge met and exceeded all of our expectations. It looked just as nice in person as it did in the reviews and on thier website. As with anything that is reviewed some people are just not happy with certain things. I had read about these issues and was prepared for them. Here are a couple of examples.

A lot of people seemed to be conerned about the wireless connection in the rooms and the fix seemed to be to ask for a wireless router to be placed in the room. Well sure enough when I tried to hook up wirelessly there was an issue and once the staff were made aware, the offer of the in room wireless router was made. So I put it in the room. However that did not immediately fix the problem, when the staff was made aware they took every effort to fix the problem and they did. It was a simple reset of there main switch. It worked flawlessly the rest of our stay.

Another concern seemed to be that the lodge would not allow early check in, however if an extra fee was paid they would accomadate you. They would however accept your baggage and store it securly while you waited for your room til check in time arrived. This was not a problem for us as I had researched things and it was expected. When our ship arrived in the morning and were waiting to disembark I called the Lodge and told them we would be there shortly and would just walk around town until our room was ready. However when we actually arrived to check in at around 11:30 AM we were informed that our room was ready now and we could proceed to unpack, with no extra fees. This was a pleasant surprise.

Anyway my point in all of this is that the staff and facility are outstanding, I only mentioned these things because other people who reviewed the lodge seemed to be actually miffed about it. These things did not bother us in the least, I cannot think of enough compliments and good things to say about the lodge. Everything was excellent and we have/had no complaints whatsoever. Everything good that all previous reviewers have had to say about the Lodge I will totally agree with. There is nothing wrong with this place.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent, the wine and cheese (they actually present more than that) every evening was excellent. The quality of the facility was excellent. Simply put everything was excellent. Yes, they charge a little more than most, but the old saying applies, you get what you pay for. But even at that the quality of the service and the beautiful setting of the Lodge is excellent value for your money.

We have been to the area numerous times, but we have now found our new favorite and will stay at the Lodge for all of our future visits to the San Diego/Coronado area. Every chance we get we will be recommending the Lodge for anyone who has the opportunity to be travelling to Coronado and needs a place to stay.

For anyone reading this review, do yourself a favor and book yourself into the Lodge. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: Even though you have to haul your luggage up a set of stairs, the private balcony that you get with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife and got what we expected - a quiet, very clean stay in Coronado. This place is just a block from the craziness of the Hotel Del, so it's a short easy walk to the beach. The rooms were totally spotless and comfortable. They offer a happy hour every evening in the parlor, which was a ice touch and the breakfast was nice with pastries, fruit and a hot entree. The staff here was very friendly and willing to help while still giving us our privacy.

The room was nicely appointed with a fireplace. Unfortunately the room was situated so you couldn't see the fireplace, so it was sort of lost on us. Otherwise the bed was comfortable and the room had the biggest bathtub I've ever seen.

Coronado itself is pretty quiet too. We had dinner at Leroy's our first night and really recommend it. The second night we went into San Diego because there's not much to do on Coronado except relax by the beach and we wanted some nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The property is impeccably restored and tastefully decorated with incredible attention to detail. It is quiet yet close to shopping, restaurants and the beach. Breakfast was delicious with an especially good coffee. We would have liked a window covering over the jacuzzi tub for privacy, and a Bible in the room would be appreciated. We are regular visitors to Coronado, and 1906 Lodge is definitely the nicest place on the island!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Perfect location on a quiet side street just a block or two from the Del, restaurants and shopping. We loved that we could walk everywhere. We stayed in the Author's Study - nice room, quiet. Nice extras such as a a beverage area outside room so could grab coffee early before breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. They seem to have responded to comments on the vegetarian breakfast as twice the breakfast during our stay included sausage.

Can't give an "excellent" because a few details were missing - no kleenex (not a big deal, just noticeable - I kept looking for it), only one robe, and the biggest issue we had ... wi fi was horrible. After trying for 1/2 hour to get it working in our room (and my husband is an IT guy) we tried the patio area - still nothing. We finally gave up and decided to try the wired option. Unfortunately, that meant only one of us could work at a time. What started as a need for 1/2 hour of quick catch-up on work emails ended up with 1/2 our morning gone. After asking for help, they did offer us a switch so we could use two computers in our room. We never were able to get the wi fi to work anywhere other than sporadically in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the 1906 Lodge during the holidays. We enjoyed the comfort of the rooms: fireplace, jacuzzi tub and the most comfortable beds! The lodge is the perfect place to stay if you want the luxury of a 5 star hotel without having to deal with the big crowds. It is intimate and cozy. The wine and cheese in the evening and the breakfast in the morning was a great touch. This is what we love about the lodge. We cannot wait to come again!

Room Tip: We have stayed in The Plunge and Ocean Boulevard and loved both equally!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

1906 is a historic property that has been beautifully and lovingly restored. My husband & I stayed in the Author's study & our friend in the Winchester room. Both rooms are very comfortable but if I had to choose between the two it would be the Winchester because of it's amazing bathroom. Some of the things we love about the lodge are: the ambience, the incredible breakfasts, talking with other guests and happy hour in the front room.

The wi-fi did not work very well in our rooms and we did not feel like complaining but it appears to be a known issue by 1906. Why don't they take care of the problem or be proactive and warn you about it? I would agree with another writer about the bathroom tissue paper. It may be "greener" and more expensive, but it's still not very good. However these are just a minor issues and we love 1906 and would highly recommend it and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach

Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach. Complimentary gourmet breakfast, Free parking, 5 PM wine, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable/DVD, local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.