We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Del coronado is a wonderful destination.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Del Beach & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Coronado
San Diego
1 review
“The Hotel Del coronado is a wonderful destination.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The Del is a historic hotel with Victorian rooms, beach cabana style rooms and luxury beach villas located on the beach of the Pacific Ocean near San Diego. You can rent bikes and explore Coronado, rest and relax in one of the many swimming pools. There are activities for kids and teens while you take yoga class on the beach or use their spa and fitness centers. You can also watch training activities of the US Navy seals. There are fine dining and casual restaurants and shops on site, including an ice cream shop, chocolate and wine shops. A short walk from the hotel takes you to a marina, or other stores and restaurants. You can also go to your favorite San Diego tourist destinations from here. In the winter they have an ice skating rink on the beachfront for a unique experience and wonderful Christmas decorations in the hotel lobby for the holidays. I have stayed many times both winter and summer months and enjoy it every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,135
    673
    353
    229
    172
See reviews for
723
717
49
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I travel a lot for business and pleasure. The del is among the best in the world in the category of The Plaza in NYC. The service is impeccable and the hotel and the grounds hark back to the finer things of an earlier time. Everything is well maintained and is a great mix of modern conveniences and old-time opulence. It's not a cheap stay but it is completely worth it if your goal is luxurious enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

From driving up to the front entrance to our day of departure - treated so nice. Would recommend this play to everyone! The staff is amazing! The accomodations are amazing! Right on the beach - wake up in the morning and see the ocean. Go to be listening to the waves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We had a corner room in Ocean Tower, with a view of the ocean. Good sized! Bartendar in main bar was excellent. Concierge was very helpful with things to do in the area. All the staff we ran into were nice and spoke to you. Signature shop staff were very helpful with my teenage son finding gifts for his girlfriend back home. Good food, good drinks, good service, good view, good picture taking place, good location......we had a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Was excited for this stay at the famed Hotel Del Coronado. What a shame it was awful. Checked into the hotel and found out that they charge an extra $150.00 per night for the use of a debit card for incidentals. And of course I just finished paying off the credit cards and left them at home for that reason. Second since the hotel stay was over $3000 the debit card only allows that much. I was told by the front desk receptionist to call my bank and get $800 more released to the hotel. When the bank said no I was told to find an ATM. Not even kidding..Once that was done, it came time to find a room. The room was not ready so they moved me to the Ocean Towers. I was told that there was a pool in our wing as well. Come to find out the room is the furthest away from the resort and the oldest looking part of the hotel that was outdated. And the pool was closed..Nice right?? Get to the room and there is a plate of dirty dishes sitting outside my door. For $500 plus a night I would expect better. The dishes stayed there until I left the next day. The room was outdated and the phone jack on the floor was broken with wires and pieces of plastic hanging out. Not good for the 4 year old who is curious about everything. The view was the only nice part that I liked about the resort. The military had airplanes and helicopters flying over every five minutes unitl 11 pm. If you go be ready to pay $10-15 for the same cocktail thought the resort. Nothing is cheap here. $25 a day resort fee plus taxes and $35 a day to valet. $25 if you park yourself. For the money I would of rather flown to Hawaii and stayed at the Four Seasons or spent the money on other things. What a waste and a shame. Will not be returning!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay at The Del and we are sorry to hear of the service issues you experienced. We are constantly striving to maintain our reputation as one of the world’s finest resorts, but it’s obvious that we failed to achieve our own goals for providing legendary service. We certainly understand your frustrations and extend our most sincere apologies for the disappointments you encountered. Again, thank you for your constructive feedback and for choosing The Del as your vacation destination. We hope one day you will return so that we may demonstrate the excellent service we know we are capable of providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We traveled with 3 kids 2 adults had 2 rooms ajoining for 1 week. They took great care of us. The thing I loved must was each day the staff would clean the room and arange our youngest stuffed animals on his bed in a different arangment each day. After exploring San Diego each day we couldn't wait to get back to see what they had done that day. Notes: This Hotel is very expensive so if your on a restricted budget I would only stay 2 night. The Hotel is very old and it gives it a fun/creepy vibe that is really fun to explore the floors and grounds. Ask the staff about stories. Over all review, worth it! Kids loved it we love it. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. At the Del we pride ourselves on legendary customer service, and it is the attention to detail such as the time spent on an ordinary daily room cleaning that delight our guests and keep them coming back year after year. With the Hotel Del being built more than 120 years ago, we have quite a rich history of visitors as well as a longstanding connection to Hollywood. However, a name that has become quite synonymous with The Del is Kate Morgan, our resident ghost whom is very popular among our guests from around the world. In fact, we have her story chronicled in a book entitled “Beautiful Stranger” but our staff is always ready to share her story and their own personal experiences with guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Del in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Love the Spa!!! If you are looking for relaxation this is the place to go. Nice weather and if you look out the beach is your backyard.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 12, 2010
Thank you for visiting us and we are pleased that you had the opportunity to visit our “Spa at the Del”. As you mentioned, we are a beachfront property located right by the Pacific Ocean and with the breezes coming off the water and the peaceful sound of waves it is a perfect place for our guests to unwind. We hope you come back to enjoy our hotel and spa again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.