We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit, but don't bother to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase Offer
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit, but don't bother to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We go to San Diego a lot, and like to come to the Hotel Del Coronado to hang out. It is a really cool, old hotel that has the dark wood paneled lobby and reeks of elegance. The lobby is particularly worth seeing, and the pool is right next to the beach. So one would expect an elegant, 5 star stay.

I was fortunate enough to get a "partial ocean view" room in the towers; the view was absolutely gorgeous, looking down the beach. The room was also nice sized; that was about all the good that can be said.

The decor probably was done recently, and looked new, but it was in the late 70's style, a sort of pale yellow that was so out of place I even noticed it. The bed was like a stone. Every time you called anywhere in the hotel you got a voice menu (press 1 for this, 2 for that, etc). You pay something like $27 for a "resort fee", which includes the fitness room (barely adequate), local phone calls and a newspaper. You would think for that sort of money they would give you something other than USA Today - not here!

I heard every word spoken from next door, under the door that divided the rooms. The service was cursory; the staff really did not seem to care. The only time I got good service was when I left, and the limo driver could not be found so somebody else drove me.

The hotel is beautiful, and definitely worth a visit. For the kind of money they charge you can do much, much, better.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. The Ocean Towers guestrooms were renovated in 2007 and were designed to reflect The Del’s spectacular oceanfront setting. Photos of the ocean-inspired palate and décor can be seen on our web site.

A state-of-the-art Fitness Center adjacent to the award-winning Spa (both of which were also unveiled in 2007) offers over 30 pieces of cardio and weight equipment, as well as a studio for 24 complimentary fitness classes per week, there is also complimentary Yoga classes on the beach.

We pride ourselves in offering legendary service to our guests that return year after year. We apologize that you were not satisfied with aspects of your visit and hope we have another chance to welcome you back to The Del in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    800
    426
    279
    198
See reviews for
886
877
55
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

I stayed at the hotel for a conference in October 2009. I asked if the "Kate Morgan" room was available during check-in and was surprised to find out it was. I had read you typically need to book that room well in advance. My daughter is very into "ghost trackers" so she was very excited when I told her I was staying in that room. Unfortunately, I didn't see any ghosts during my stay but still had a great time at the hotel.

The location is great, the beach is amazing, and the food was incredible.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 27, 2010
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Del experience even though there were no ghost sightings. Kate Morgan, The Del’s resident ghost, is very popular with guests from around the world. In fact we have chronicled her story in a book titled Beautiful Stranger. And, as our historian likes to say about Kate, “If you could spend eternity anywhere, why wouldn’t you choose The Del?”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We had a great 3-night stay at Del Coronado. It was helped by booking a '3 nights for the price of two' offer - otherwise would have seemed very expensive! After booking a standard room (direct with the hotel on internet) we were offered the possibility of upgrade to 'partial ocean view' if available at check-in for $25 extra per night. We took this, and were 'accepted' for it at check-in. A great surprise - the room (3508) turned out to be unique, off a main corridor, up a narrow flight of stairs to the top of a little turret right next to the main ballroom roof-cone! It was delightful (one of the staff referred to it as 'the honeymoon suite' - which it isn't really) - a 12-sided room, not very big but adequate, windows on 8 sides with good views, small bathroom, small regular-double size bed. Very quiet and private. No private balcony, but a nice public one (little used by anyone except us to toast the sunset each evening) a little way along 'downstairs' on the 5th floor.
Most dining/drinking at the hotel seems expensive (to us Brits) and low-quality: plastic 'glasses' on the sun deck (why?) and bland food in the Sheerwater. The gas 'fire-pits' are pretty but give no heat, and do you really need all those patio heaters blasting away? (Sunny 70+ day temperatures, even though mid-February. Put a jumper on!)
Coronado village is a short walk away, with lots of shops, cafes, restaurants. Forget San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at The Del.

One of the things that makes The Del so special is the variety of accommodations available. As you pointed out, the historic Victorian Building offers several unique and charming options to enjoy the magical beachfront setting. The bars and restaurants are also designed to take advantage of the spectacular ocean views. For a casual meal or cocktail there’s the Sun Deck Bar & Grill. And, of course the Sunset Bar and 1500 OCEAN, The Del’s signature restaurant, feature the perfect venues to watch the sunset over the Pacific. With San Diego’s year-round beautiful weather, a getaway to Coronado Island and The Del is always in season. With that in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My Mother, two sisters and I spent 3 nights at this hotel. We were greeted by the attendant and ushered to the front desk to check in and then, taken to our room. We were treated as if we were the only guests in the hotel. Although the room had a musty smell, it was clean and very charming. We always had enough towels, toiletries and coffee in the morning. The elevator operators always remembered our floor and had most interesting stories about the Del.The property is handicap friendly and all staff went out of their way to accommodate us. Check out went just as smooth and were taken to the airport by the Hotel Shuttle for the price of a cab ride. Dining there is expensive, but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. It was truly a wonderful experience and we will go back again.

Stayed February 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

This gracious old lady is well worth the visit. If you can afford to treat yourself - even for a couple of nights - you won't be disappointed. We had a fabulous 4 days with our children - aged 11 & 13 and we all loved it. I wouldn't bother paying extra for a beach front room, the garden view rooms are equally lovely and less noisy as you are not overlooking activities/restaurants etc. Although, my only criticism with the room was that it was near some major air conditioning unit (or something) so it got quite noisy at times. Check re the rooms before you book in and I am sure you will avoid this minor pitfall.


The restaurants were fabulous, the shops superb. Service, as you would expect, was exemplary. The room was beautifully appointed - our room actually had two bathrooms.

We stayed in winter but, as it was San Diego, we still managed to swim in the pool - didn't try the beach though. A novelty at that time was the ice skating rink right on the beachfront. No sure if that is a year round thing or not.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Dear fiwat123,

Thank you for the comments regarding your vacation at The Del; it truly is one of the grand hotels that cannot be replicated today.

As you noted there are a variety of room types in the hotel and everyone has different needs, the website has good descriptions and photos for each type of accommodation.

The pool is heated to a very comfortable temperature and our beach is marvelous, the ice skating rink that you refer to us up from Thanksgiving to New Years Day, a great attraction for our guests and visitors, we also partner our skating rink with the “Make a Wish” charity and donate a portion of the proceeds to this very worthy cause.
We look forward to having you back with us someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Huge, impressive, royal, clean, famous, on the beach (you can ask to grill on the beach, they will provide you with everything and clean up for you afterwords), so many amenities, price but worth it.. Marilyn Monroe and many Presidents stayed at this amazingly beautiful luxury Hotel.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
Dear ChiaraGorni,

Thanks for the comments on your stay at the Hotel del Coronado.

There is a wonderful variety of activities around the hotel and our concierge and vacation planning specialists can help to plan out your stay. The S’mores on the beach is a great activity it doesn’t matter whether you are a couple or a family on vacation; it will be a memorable night.

Our history display takes visitors though the ages with The Del’s famous guests; it feels really good to know that you are enjoying the same rooms and experiences that celebrities did in the past and present; you just never know who you might see at The Del.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Beautiful, old hotel. Very stately to say the least. Ask for interior garden view. I wouldn't pay the extra $$$ for a beach view for a weekend. You may be fogged in and see nothing. Many nice restaurants a walk away. Definitely stay in the old main victorian building. There seemed to be nothing special about the detached beach tower. I would go back again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.