We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great hotel, wonderful time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. When we first arrived, on a Sunday, it was a bit of a madhouse - scary busy! --although the service was continuously excellent. On Monday, it was perfect. So, my advice would be to avoid summer weekends, as there is a big day crowd. Also, we did not eat on premises at all - there are so many great restaurants in town (walkable), and it's also just over the bridge from the Gas Lamp district, with tons of fun, trendy restaurants. So, I can't vouch for the food; everything else was top-notch, including the concierges, who bent over backwards to make our stay perfect!

Room Tip: Since it was still available, we were able to upgrade for a nominal fee at check-in to a suite that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear sugarhoneyhoney,

Thank you for your recent stay and your review. It's wonderful to hear that our service was on-point and our concierges went above and beyond. Though our cuisine is excellent, we agree that there are many equally wonderful nearby restaurants to choose from, as well. If only there were more days in the week to try them all! We're so glad that you had a great experience at Hotel del Coronado, and we hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,332
    777
    416
    275
    197
See reviews for
878
855
54
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful rooms, historic architecture, clean and with unique ambience. Unfortunately no a la carte breakfast available in entire hotel, room service charges are extremely high with a 22 percent surcharge, delivery fee of 5,50 USD, taxes and a tip expected. Breakfast buffet areas were not cleaned up and most tables full of dirty dishes while we were waiting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Frank B,

Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback. We strive to provide a great value and a luxurious experience, so guest comments are always helpful. It's wonderful to know you loved the history and architecture of Hotel del Coronado as much as we do, and we're glad that you were pleased with your accommodations. We hope to have you back on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Of course it was a no Brainer where we would spend our honeymoon. The Del is perfectly matched for love and romance. With it's location on the best beach in America. Pristine white sands for for miles.
Fun Fact..."many don't know this but Coronado beach is environmentallying friendly in the way that all the seaweed washed ashore is placed somewhere on the shore. Never in the landfill."

Although there are many who would pass by this gem due to high prices, that would be a shame. It is a piece of historical perfection. We have been may times now and find something new everytime.

This time we were visiting in the busiest time of the year. The only issue we had was the use of the hot tub at tge main pool by small unsupervised children. Don't get me wrong we love kids (we have 6)but this practice is unsafe for little ones. So really the blame is on the parents not so much the hotel. This is when we found out that there was an adult pool area.

Also enjoyed was a great party on the evening of July 2nd held on the beach for all the hotel guests. What a treat! July 4th is crazy in Coronado too!!

The most crazy thing we did was spend the $85.00 per person for the Sunday brunch. OMG worth every stinking penny!!!! DO NOT MISS THIS FOODIE OPPORTUNITY!! It was like having our wedding banquet all over again. Someone mention to us that you may leave the Crown room and return for more. Whether that is true I don't know.

So although our honeymoon was crazy expensive even in the least expensive room it
was totally worth every penny. We stayed 10 days and on our 7 day lovely Mary at tge front desk upgraded us to a beautiful beach view for the end of our honeymoon. We love Mary she makes us feel like family every time we walk through those grand doors.
We are already planning our next trip. Our favorite place in the world.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Nailvixen,

Congratulations, newlyweds! It was an honor to assist in your honeymoon celebration, and we are delighted you found perfection at The Del. It’s marvelous to hear that you're already planning a return trip, and hope that you'll make your visits an anniversary tradition. Let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next stay with us even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Del was a great place with amenities I enjoy and great views. The food met our expectations and the service was top notch. We slept to the sound of waves crashing on the beach. Our room was comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Jennifer W,

Thank you for your stay at Hotel del Coronado and for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed incredible views, luxurious amenities, and excellent service from check-in to checkout. Until next time, we hope recalling the fond memories of your stay will suffice in place of the soothing sounds of crashing waves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel Del
It has been ten (10) years between my visits to the Hotel Del. I cannot say how much I was looking forward to this trip and a return to Coronado. For the most part, it did not disappoint. The Hotel was in great shape. For the most part the service was great. There were a number of episodes where certain employees went above and beyond expectations. (There were a couple of episodes of slower than expected service, but this was not the norm.) Food in every restaurant on the premises was great-believe me when I say we ate at ever dining facility. Expensive; of course, but you have to expect that coming in to the Del.
I guess the one thing that was quaint and pleasing 10-years ago that seemed to be not quite as beautiful this time, was the sheer number of weddings and meetings. There were even more weddings this visit than last visit. I cannot blame anyone for wanting to be married there, so I am not meaning to sound like I am complaining. However, I bet I saw 25-30 weddings +/- during my stay.
The worst experience, by far, was when a large group had their meeting there between Sunday and Wednesday. This group assembled for winning a trip Unfortunately, while there were many considerate and nice members of this group, there was a certainly element that were loud and unruly, particularly late at night. Hotel Security had to address these members on 3 or 4 occasions several times late at night. It is unfortunate that I will remember this insurance group for the actions of a fairly small number. I did wonder how these people could actually be in their President’s Club. This large group spent a significant amount at the Del; perhaps it was a coincidence that their stock rose 2.9% when they left the Del.
As much as the small number of these people did disrupt us at night from as early as 6:30 p.m. (loud, really loud) until nearly 3:00 a.m. in the morning (continuously loud), the Del did a very good job of trying to make amends. I respect them for doing so and particularly John at the front desk. John was outstanding!
We spent a significant time at the pool enjoying drinks and lunch daily. I have no complaints in particular. While pricey, the kids in particular enjoyed their lunch while their parents stuck primarily to a liquid diet. The employees were very personable there, particularly Carissa.
My wife and I enjoyed spa services. I wish we had more time to return there, but time just ran out.
I look forward to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear John E,

Thank you for your loyalty to Hotel del Coronado. We are so glad to hear that it lived up to your beautiful memories. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to John, Carissa, and other members of our staff who provided exceptional service. Also—we agree that while our food is fantastic, sometimes there's nothing better than lounging poolside with a drink in hand.

Our spacious, historic property can often attract groups, and we greatly appreciate your patience with a disruptive few guests. Thankfully, it sounds like the rather uncharacteristic issue did not affect your entire visit. We hope you and your family will return again soon and pick up where you left off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's nice, but it's a cruise ship on land. The value is more like a $250/night hotel, not a $800/night hotel. It was nice, but not great. The room was not the full ocean view we requested. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear James G,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hotel del Coronado. We strive to provide a luxurious experience for the best possible value, and we're disappointed to hear your accommodations did not meet your expectations. We care deeply about your satisfaction and would like to speak in greater detail about the apparent room mix-up. Please feel free to reach out directly by emailing executiveoffice@hoteldel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at the Del for 20 years now. I regret to inform the readers that quality has seriously declined.
1. Newspaper is no longer delivered to the room. If you want one, you have to go to the front desk to get one. Yes, they are still free, but the walk to the front desk is a nuisance. And, the LA Times is in short supply. We don't read the Wall Street Journal or the New York Times when we are in Coronado.
2. No more free shuttle service to shopping areas. This was a tremendous amenity that is gone without a trace. The round trip cab ride now costs $50.00. Even getting a cab took forever.
3. No more live band on the Sun Deck. "Ron's Garage" played on the Sun Deck for years. No more. Gone and not replaced. What a loss! We would go to the Del just to listen to this band.
4. No more piano player in the lobby bar and no more lobby bar. The bar and the piano player disappeared a few years ago. The area is now dedicated to concierge service. The old concierge area by the front door is vacant. I am sure it will be retail space soon.
5. Our TV did not work for two days. "Connectivity issues" were blamed, but no TV in a luxury hotel? Unacceptable.
KSL resorts took over about 3 years ago and we have noticed a slow decline. This is our last year at the Del. The final straw was an invitation to join the "Club Del." The price made it a close call as to the value. The annual "administrative fee" on top of membership fee made it not worthwhile. The management refused to waive the "administrative fee." Call it what it is -- an extra charge! Treat your guests with some respect. We recognize a padded charge when we see one.
6. A hamburger on the Sun Deck is $15. The same hamburger at Sheer Water is $24.00. Do they think the guest won't notice? It is the same hamburger from the same kitchen! Other prices are just as out of proportion. Margarita on the Deck: $15. At Sheer Water: $22.00.
All in all, this was a disappointing experience for us. We came to expect the best when staying at the Del, and this time we just got the ordinary. Obviously management is more interested in cost shaving and saving than providing a quality experience to the guest.
I don't write negative reviews. This is my first. I regret that it is about a Hotel that we loved for so long. Step it up KSL before it is too late!

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are the best, but you pay a premium price for them. The interior garden rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Leighton R,

We can't thank you enough for your tremendous loyalty to Hotel del Coronadoand are saddened by your disappointment during your stay. The resort is constantly evolving and we regret that certain changes are distressing for some of our guests. We did just completed a switch in our television services and we apologize for the inconvenience this caused. There is live entertainment in the B&S Bar and Ron’s Band plays nightly across the street from the resort. The Del burger served on the Sun Deck comes from the grill there and is different from the one served in Sheerwater. As for our Del Resort membership, the administrative fee covers a private membership reservation concierge. However, explanations aside, we're very troubled by your concerns and will take them into account as we examine our processes and policies in the future. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope that you will continue your tradition of staying at our beautiful and historic hotel. If there's anything we can do to make your next visit a more pleasant one, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.