We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything my mother-in-law wanted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off - Limited Time
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Coronado
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Everything my mother-in-law wanted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My mother-in-law invited us all to the Del for her 85th birthday bash. It was everything she wanted. She rented a villa, ocean front, complimentary breakfast, pool and beach area for the Villa guests, with the servers passing by on a very regular basis to offer to take her order. She even got to sit in the pool, margarita in hand. "Paradise!"

The grounds are beautiful. The beach is manicured every morning and is in pristine condition. There are activities, including morning yoga on the beach and Sunday s'mores. The staff are all very nice and accommodating. My mother-in-law would have given an excellent rating in every category.

We stayed in the Ocean Tower. The room was nice, but I kept wondering how I would be feeling about staying at the Del if we couldn't be making our meals in the Villa, and instead were spending our hard earned dollars at the rapid rate required. Still, this is a resort vacation, and I should have been prepared for the kind of costs associated with a resort vacation.

One of the nice things is that the Del is just a short walk from Coronado's main drag. We walked over to Vons, Walgrens, and fun places for ice cream to get supplies at a price that didn't include the hotel's convenience fee.

All that being said, we did have a wonderful time. It was great to sit on the beach and catch up with family flung across the United States. So, if this is the kind of vacation you like, there can be few places better than "the Del."

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We're delighted your mother-in-law's 85th birthday celebration was a success. The Del is fortunate to be selected as the backdrop for many special celebrations - we're all about creating life-long memories for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hotel del Coronado - we sincerely appreciate you being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,189
    705
    377
    246
    183
See reviews for
799
747
49
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had three oceanfront rooms that were elegantly renovated. Mimosa Monday is the best way to start the week at the spa. We loved our personal bonfire on the beach with some mores. Food and service at Sweetwater and 145600 were top notch. Loved the pool boy passing out popsicles and cleaning sunglasses.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of The Del! We agree...kicking off the week enjoying our Mimosa Monday celebration in our Spa at the Del is the perfect start to any vacation. We're delighted you enjoyed your Food & Beverage experiences and believe you're referencing our 1500 Ocean restaurant along with Sheerwater in your review - thank you! We sincerely appreciate that you and your family selected the Hotel del Coronado for your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Del is a beautiful hotel with gorgeous views and easy access to the beach. The main building which has gone through an update is very old and historic. The rooms in that section are big enough but the bathrooms are so tiny. There is not a single inch of counter space to put a makeup bag on or even a razor! There's no full length mirror and only a very tiny one in the whole room. The floors are warped and the beds were so hard we had to ask housekeeping to put a popper on. They said they get asked this a lot. But- you are paying for location and it is very easy to get to the beach and pool and the grounds are very nice. Everything in the hotel is expensive but this is to be expected. You are really paying for ambiance and proximity to the ocean. I liked the hotel - the service was good and the grounds are clean.

Room Tip: Getting a room with a balcony is nice- you can open the door and get a beach breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your rating of the Hotel del Coronado - we sincerely appreciate your feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience. Each room in our beloved Victorian Building is unique - some rooms larger and some rooms smaller, each reflective of architectural details rarely seen in newer buildings. The charm of the Victorian Building is indeed reflected in all the nuances!

When mattresses were selected for The Del, we involved a number of guests in the selection process, with a number of mattresses slept on with a solicitation of feedback. The mattress we ultimately selected for our Del beds was selected by the majority. However, in consideration for varied preferences, we do have toppers available. We do hope the topper made all the difference in your sleep experience.

We appreciate you being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back to The Del!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had an awesome time at the Del. We stayed in an amazing family suite with a separate bedroom for the kids with a bunk bed and trundle (3 beds total). The kids room came equipped with a stocked toy box, an X Box and a marine theme. Our girls loved it! We really enjoyed the Del Beach experience. We got one of the beach beds with a clamshell and felt like we were in paradise. We watched the sandcastle man build an amazing sand castle. The beach was so clean and sand was so soft. We experienced a great meal at Sheerwater out on the patio where we watched the ocean. They immediately brought a little cup of cherrios and goldfish for each of our girls followed by a wonderful bowl of cut up fresh fruit. This kept the girls busy while they waited for their entrees. The kids menu was great with lots of options. We loved the beach so much we never experienced the pool although it looked really nice. We did rent a Surrey and rode around the island. It was tough but a lot of fun. I highly recommend it. We finished off our trip with lunch on the Upper Deck. The menu was very limited (hamburgers, hot dogs and a couple of salad options) but the food was tasty. The customer service at the resort was fantastic. I would highly recommend going to the Del Coronado for a family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We agree wholeheartedly! The Del is the perfect place for an amazing family vacation. Thank you so much for your endorsement!

I'm not sure whether you stayed in one of our Blue Dolphin Suites or one of our Blue Octopus Suites - we designed these suites specifically to meet the needs of your family and are delighted your daughters loved the accommodations. Yeah! We've worked diligently on our kids' programming in Sheerwater - it sounds like we're on target. Thanks for confirming we're heading in the right direction.

We sincerely appreciate you being our guests and thank you for vacationing at the Hotel del Coronado! Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We love this vacation destination. We visit year after year and are never disappointed. The service is unbelievable. If you have any problem, the staff will immediately offer to fix the situation and offer to compensate if necessary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words - our goal is to provide our guests with memories they'll take with them for years to come. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Del.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at the Hotel Del. We used the Del Perks package. Our room in Ocean Towers was large, elegant, quiet, and very comfortable, and they had champagne waiting for us upon arrival (we were celebrating our anniversary). All the people we encountered -- at check in, in the restaurants, and at the pool -- were friendly and helpful. We had wonderful meals at 1500 Ocean, Sheerwater, the MooTime Creamery (love that they have this!) and the Crown Room (for Sunday Brunch). The entire experience was excellent and we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We really liked Ocean Towers. It is close to the adult pool and the beach, and the walk to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you! We're delighted you selected the Hotel del Coronado for your anniversary celebration. Congratulations!

True, you cannot beat our Ocean Towers accommodations - proximity to our Boardwalk Pool and Coronado Beach is perfect! We're delighted you loved your experience and the various dining options at The Del - we can't wait for you to come back either!

Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixx
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Even though I grew up in SD, staying at the Del makes coming home fun and amazing. I will stay there every time I go back. The cabanas were great, smores, everyone was super nice, no complaints from me!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your endorsement! We're delighted that a stay at The Del is synonymous with coming home. We look forward to welcoming you back time and time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#9 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.