We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun with a young guest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fun with a young guest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Upon check-in the exceptional front desk staffer, Christopher, stepped up with a poolside bungalow and the kid's adventure program. Those two elements combined with plenty of beach time and the result was a very pleased 8-year old who has seen more than his share of historic properties. Thank you Del!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our new DelVenture program for youngsters. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and will share your comments with Christopher. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,302
    763
    407
    269
    197
See reviews for
859
830
53
478
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Went to the Del for a short stay with family while in the area. While checking in we were told our room would be ready shortly because the occupants had vacated. After 3 hours of waiting on the sun deck where we returned to the front desk to ask for any room. They gave us a nice walk-out. Room was nice/clean. The toilet immediately overflowed. Our mistake in not reporting at that time but we were anxious to get out to the beach. Next morning the toilet nearly overflowed and the shower backed up with water. We reported and the crew worked for 1/2 hour in our room, the adjacent room and the drain clean - outs in the hall. We were told the problem was fixed but we corrected them as our room was still backed up. We decided to check out early and use the lobby restrooms on our way out. I told the front desk but they had no record of the problem but said the would look into it and make a correction to my bill if warranted. Surprise - never heard a thing from them.

Room Tip: Spa was closed. Breakfast is buffet only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we sincerely apologize for the maintenance and service issues you encountered during your stay. You should have been offered a room change based upon availability and we are saddened that you decided to leave early. We will share your review with our Front Desk team and appreciate your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Loved our three nights at the Del. the staff were all very friendly and professional. Even our garden view room was nice...quaint, with twi chairs and ottomans, a keurig coffee pot, and a mini fridge. The nicely appointed fitness center has several complimentary fitness classes, so twice I had "yoga on the beach"... What an awesome setting. The hotel is very clean, and of course is in a fantastic location with a wide expanse of beach, walkable boardwalk paths, and easy walking distance of many restaurants and shops. Staying here has spoiled me and even tho I love San Diego too, I will never again want to stay anywhere else in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Del and had the opportunity to experience much of what the resort has to offer. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I had a short two-night stay. This is a wonderful, picturesque hotel and is in remarkably nice shape for its age and proximity to the ocean. The rooms are nice. The one piece of advice I would give is to consider a room with a balcony. Being an older hotel, the coastal charm really oozes when you are sitting on the balcony watching the day pass. Another bonus: with San Diego you are almost always going to get nice weather!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We appreciate your kind support. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Del and our beachfront location. We have enjoyed unseasonably warm weather this winter and hope you return again for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Missouri
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a very interesting property and worth just visiting while you are in town even if you do not stay here. The woodwork is amazing and the property is massive. There is a nice beach behind the hotel and the whole property is well kept. Parking is expensive but that is the normal anywhere near San Diego. Be sure to check out the shops and the history displayed throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and we are pleased that you appreciate the historic ambiance this legendary resort has to offer. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I just returned from a romantic getaway at the Hotel del Coronado on March 6-8, 2014. The hotel, the grounds and the beach are exquisite. The entire property is spotless and the service was outstanding. I ate at the Sheerwater restaurant at the hotel and the breakfast brunch was outstanding. I also enjoyed a massage at the Spa at the Del (onsite) which was excellent.

I'd like to give a very special thanks to Andrea at the front desk. She provided OUTSTANDING service and was extremely pleasant and friendly. Many thanks, Andrea!

You can't go wrong at the Del. The beach and pools were excellent, as was the food, the ambience and the overall friendliness of the staff.

I'll be back soon!

Room Tip: I stayed in an ocean-view room in the Ocean Towers. Gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent getaway to The Del and thank you for your endorsement. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff and will share your great comments with Andrea. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Del is celebrating a 125th anniversary this year and while showing her age in some spots, the history, the unequaled beachfront location, the great food and fabulous staff make the hotel a fabulous choice.

Room Tip: ask for a newer room rather than in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind support and we appreciate your loyalty. We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.