We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, Scenic, and makes you want to come back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Del Beach & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Utica, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Historic, Scenic, and makes you want to come back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for just under a week. It is a beautiful complex and despite the age of the hotel, the rooms are modern and in good working order. Due to an unfortunate design flaw in my bathroom, I needed to change rooms. The staff were quite accomodating and allowed me to examine 4 different rooms, before choosing. I had no other difficulties after that point. I do recommend the main building (Victorian)- the lobby and courtyard are beautiful. The views of the entire complex are amazing at night.
The bar has some very unique historical drinks, albeit a bit overpriced. The restaurant Sheerwater serves excellent fresh seafood ... the on-site restaurant Eno Pizza and Wine Bar, is a fun and trendy site- with excellent artisan pizza.

Room Tip: Request the Victorian Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind endorsement. We are pleased that you enjoyed this iconic resort and its dining selections. The 125-year old Victorian building does have its charm. Originally there were about 425 guestrooms and 71 public restrooms. The addition of private restrooms and removal of fireplaces lowered the guestroom count to 368 and ensured that no two rooms are identical. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,134
    672
    353
    229
    171
See reviews for
721
716
49
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I love the Del! How can you not love it, the location is incredible. There are new places to explore around every turn. I thoroughly enjoyed their spa and it's staff as well. What an includible place to stay. My only disappointment, and it was a big one, was the cleanliness of my room. I stay in many hotels each year, it can be a small one or a large resort, but I expect the bathroom to be clean! Water stains on the mirror and sink from the previous guest, coupled with dust in all the corners. But worst of all was the mold in the grout line and caulk of the tub. Unlike other reviewers, I DID share my disappointment with the front desk and they fell over backwards trying to make it right. (I did not accept any of their offers, only want to see them communicate the complaint.) I thought the person I talked with truly cared and was disappointed for me. I only hope that housekeeping gets the same message. Hotel Del, I will be back again in the Spring and I look forward to giving you another chance to make it right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty and candor and we are equally as disappointed as you were in the unacceptable service issues you encountered. We do share customer feedback with the appropriate management so we can make the necessary improvements. We are pleased that you enjoy the resort and grateful for the opportunity to provide you with legendary service in the near future. Thank you for your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and when we were planning on where to go we didn't have to think about it. Its a no brainer, we go back to "The Del".!!!!!!! The service we receive is excellent, the entire staff goes out of their way to make sure we are treated well. This is the 2nd time we have visited the Del this year and 7th in the last few years. They outdo themselves in every way possible. If you like to be pampered, relax and appreciate one of the best hotels that is on the Pacific Ocean, this is the place to stay. You will not be disappointed !!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary and we are thrilled that you chose to celebrate at The Del. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff as well as your loyalty to this iconic resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Absolutely beautiful. Got the sense of history and a by gone era. It gave us great convenience for walking to shops and restaurants in Coronado. Thanks to a conference we got to experience this otherwise would have totally been out of budget.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience one of the last remaining Victorian seaside resorts and explore the charming village of Coronado. We hope your travels bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Wales
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed 4 night at the convention rate of US$230 +~US$26 tax.

The hotel itself is a national landmark and a beautiful building. It's in a beautiful location on a beautiful beach.

I arrived lateish on Sat night and headed down to the hotel bar for a snack. Big mistake. Limited menu and US$22 for a burger. Three beers and a burger was over US$50 - ouch. The next day i discovered that there are a lot of bars and restaurant a short walk away so life improved.

During the convention the hotel food was excellent. The gym wasn't particularly large but nor was it crowded on Sunday morning - I guess people go out to the beach.

Downsides: I was in a room overlooking the delivery area = noisy at times. I did notice that there was a lot of water noise. People flushing,etc. I guess that is the age of the building showing through.

Generally though the rooms were good, The free wifi (well included in the resort fee) worked well. Mailroom people very helpful. Fedex office allows you to print boarding passes, etc. 24x7 for a fee.

I'd happily come back but would stay away from the hotel outlets which are very expensive use the local stuff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed The Del and its location on the Best Beach in America. We apologize if aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your input look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Certainly a nice hotel. I was there for a conference and the meetings were held in the main ballroom with a gorgeous view of the beach. The thing that struck as odd was that there were almost no trash cans anywhere (like garbage cans aren't classy enough). I just imagine there's a large staff of people walking around picking up flotsam and jetsam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind support and we are pleased that you enjoyed your business trip to this iconic resort. We do have trash cans throughout the property! They are encased in white housing structures with red roofs so they blend into the resort environment. We hope your travels bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We live in La Mesa, CA, which is a city near San Diego. It is about a 30 minute drive to the Hotel Del Coronado, and we had never been there. We went there for the first time at Christmas as a stay home vacation for the holidays. The decorations were spectacular! We got a room that did not meet our needs, and they found us a different room. They have so much to see and do there, and the beach alone is worth the trip. We now go there at least every other year for a treat. It is expensive, and yet when we tried other facilities in our are were disappointed. We have stayed in most of the different areas of the hotel, and each brings a unique experience. We love the hustle/bustle of the place and seeing people from all over the globe who come here. The staff is always accommodating and willing to help. We have enjoyed several upgrades for better views, and they usually seem to be available when you check in as long as you have a reservation. The shops are all part of the experience, and they have several restaurants for great dining. The hotel is also within walking distance to other dining areas and shops.

Room Tip: Main hotel or the towers for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are delighted that you discovered The Del and visiting the resort has become a tradition. The holidays are a magical time to visit. We appreciate your loyalty, recognition of our great staff and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.