We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful "Del Coronado"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Save Saved
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off - Limited Time
Ranked #12 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful "Del Coronado"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I travelled from Nova Scotia, Canada to Coronado , California for Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. From the moment we stepped onto the hotel property we were treated like celebrities. The staff of this hotel are phenomenal, many we spoke to were second generation workers of the hotel, and all were so proud of the property. We stayed in the Cabana section of the hotel, off to the left of the main pool, and only steps from the beautiful Coronado Beach. The hotel is incredibly clean, the beach is meticulously groomed, and the gardens around the hotel are gorgeous, especially considering they only get 9 inches of rain a year !!
The food was delicious, the island itself is a jewel to discover. It is connected to San Diego by a bridge, only a 10 minute water taxi ride direct to downtown San Diego, and well worth a walk around Coronado island. Home to many retired Air Force officers and military folk, it is a tiny little piece of paradise. The hotel was hosting many conventions and several wedding while we were there, but we never once felt crowded or overlooked by the staff. The service in every area of the hotel property was second to none. We travelled a very long way to get there but the memories we made at the Hotel Del Coronado will surely help us to find our way back there again. Thanks for everything !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we are thrilled that you had such a memorable experience at The Del. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,158
    687
    362
    238
    174
See reviews for
748
735
49
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel del Coronado on a visit to explore the San Diego area. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and elegant. From the moment we arrived we were treated very extremely well by a very friendly staff. Loved the old fashioned elevator complete with attendant! Our room was absolutely beautiful with stunning views of the beach. The only complaint about the room is that the mini bar isn't stocked. The shops at the hotel are great. We were there for the hotels anniversary and we received a book on the history of the hotel which was wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and provide the perfect environment for early morning strolls on the beach - nice and quiet! We would definitely suggest the smore's on the beach ... we had so much fun, it makes you feel like kids again. You really don't even need to leave the property to venture out into town because there is just so much to do. This was really a beautiful hotel and we were so happy to have visited.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Del and appreciate the historic ambiance that makes this iconic resort so special. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and hope your travels bring you back this way again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very simply put, its a great hotel with beach, good food, and everything you expect in terms of experience....its an American treasure. But beware, it comes at a cost. Rooms themeselves are simple and a little pricey, but no one goes to SD to sit inside...its all the extras like food that cost even more. I recommend everyone staying there at least once though, its worth it.

Room Tip: dont waste time paying for ocean view room...get up and walk the ocean front with your coffee in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We appreciate your recommendation and are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked a room here for a meeting in San Diego and we decided well why not get together somewhere beautiful on the water like the Del. It was lovely but I have to tell you there's some funky old energy here. There are legends of hauntings here, and while nothing particularly spooky happened, I had this continual feeling of uneasiness in room 3508. Which also by the way is at the top of a middle tower and has a flight of stairs leading up to it. Unique and lovely but very small room with a terrible bed.

I asked about an upgrade and they happily moved me to a stunning full-on ocean view for just an additional $50. The bed seemed better in there too and it was a much larger room, so lesson learned is to always ASK for a better room if you're not happy with the one you are given. This hotel has a lot of unique rooms so be aware there are many options, and ask questions. The rooms are lovely and updated. The showers were great for me as I love serious water pressure! Hallways and common areas seem to need some upgrading. The carpets in the hallways are looking a bit daggy, and there are some parts of the resort that smell musty and old. (However I do want to note the rooms seems completely updated.) I do think overall though the rooms are overpriced, and I've stayed at plenty of expensive hotels.

The staff was great. I loved the daily brunch, and my friend and I had a fantastic dinner at 1500 Ocean - I really recommend the lamb - and our waiter Leo was wonderful. What did impress me with the staff is after talking with them, I learned many of them have been at the hotel for 20+ years!

The boutiques at the resort are actually great - i found some super things for myself and gifts for family too.

My largest complaint about staying here... and a reason I won't return... is the resort is like a mile right down the beach from a military base (and its landing strip) and there is continual air traffic coming in the entire day. The helicopters and planes get super close to get ready to land, and they are DEAFENING. During our dinner there were many times we could not hear a thing and had to pause our conversation until a Top Gun jet went by. They did seem to stop after 10pm but it got quite ridiculous.

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of unique rooms so be aware there are many options, and ask questions. 3508 had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your room. We like to think we have something for everyone—from the charm of the historic Victorian Building where no two rooms are alike to the more spacious and contemporary Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury cottages and villas at Beach Village. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and will share your comments with Leo. We apologize for the noise inconvenience of the Coronado Naval Base and hope you will reconsider a return to The Del in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

So historically massive! Loved all of the history. VERY expensive.....but being in the town of Coronado made up for it. The beach was full of seaweed when we were there....but beautiful nonetheless. Wonderful hotel shops!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are delighted that your stay at The Del met your expectations and that you appreciate the historic nuances that make the resort so special. We hope to welcome you back again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were married 20 years ago and when we decided to go on a Panama Canal cruise that left out of San Diego for our 20th anniversary, we knew we were going to have to stay at the Del! When I called and made the reservation I couldn't remember the room number from before, but they told me that they would be able to put us somewhere close to the same place. When we arrived the room they gave us was so much better! The wonderful staff gave us a corner room on the very front at the highest location. We could open our windows and take in the ocean breezes and see for miles! Great views! Our room had been renovated and updated. The bed was very comfortable and very clean! There is a gym on property with free weights, equipment and even group exercise classes. We did Yoga on the beach every day! We walked the hotel's beach at sunrise and sunset just trying to take it all in.

We enjoyed Eno Pizza, although it would have been nice if they had a side salad on the menu. There were only a couple of salads on the menu and they were both full size. No big deal. We didn't go there for the salads! We loved the B & S Bar. Great food and atmosphere. The live music there every night was quality and lots of fun! The goat cheese and pesto appetizer is the bomb! Makes my mouth water just thinking about it. One of the most relaxing things we did was hang out on the deck around the pool with ocean views and listen to the band that played there in the afternoons. We had huge, delicious burgers there and the best Bloody Mary that I have ever had! The food prices are a little on the expensive side, but we had counted that cost and it was worth it to us. You could easily walk off property to restaurants that are close. We didn't get to experience the breakfast buffet, but plan to on our next trip. We enjoyed all the little shops in the hotel. Everyone was in a great mood! Who wouldn't be when surrounded by such beauty? No one was happier than me, though, except maybe my husband who had a smile on his face the whole time we were there. We loved our time here at the Del and cannot wait to go back. We are already planning our next trip...soon!

The hotel staff were extremely nice and accommodating. Very pleased!

Room Tip: Stay in the Victorian part of the hotel. The rooms have been updated and many on the ocean side have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at The Del and had such a memorable visit. It sounds as though you were able to experience much of what the resort has to offer and we appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next special occasion or just when you crave another Bloody Mary on the Sun Deck. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband & I upgraded to a Signature Suite in the Victorian building for my 50th birthday. I can only say that I felt like a spoiled little princess. We really enjoyed the friendly staff and the size of the property. The view from our big balcony and the beach was spectacular. Easy walking to other restaurants and Seafort where we had a sunset cruise with Murphy. Would definately go back to The Del.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Happy Birthday and thank you for celebrating your special birthday with us. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your room and our beachfront location. We hope to become an annual tradition and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.