We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review hotel del coronado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advanced Purchase Offer
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“review hotel del coronado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

great hotel!
Regina (housekeeping) was wonderful!!!!
hotel location was great and close to everything in Coronado.
staff was very helpful and accommodating.
breakfast is very good (buffet) and all restaurants have great food.

Room Tip: suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us along with your dining experiences. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and will share your comments with Regina. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    800
    426
    279
    198
See reviews for
886
877
55
509
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Service is basically non existent. Their staff is obviously overwhelmed. Beds are super hard! Bedroom had roaches probably from no one picking up the room service trays outside. You have to pay to rent an umbrella. Beach towels are free, but threadbare. Main pool is a zoo. Good luck finding a chaise. No service for setting up on the beach. Ate at Sheerwater and they did not have an outside table like we requested over a month ago available. We were also rushed in and out for a $300+ dinner! Smores on the Beach was nice though, but it was very help yourself as well. Bring water though for smores, as they don't always have some. Hotel is super crowded as well with day visitors not actually staying there.

Basically, you are paying for the beach location. The hotel looks beautiful for visitors, but actually stinks to stay in. Service is super down hill since KSL bought it. We will be staying at the Loews next time or just renting a house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we apologize for the service issues you encountered. We strive to provide legendary service and it appears we have fallen short. We will share your feedback with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements and appreciate your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a very injoyable stay. Our room was not huge but very stylish. Old walls and woodwork but up to date decor. And it is more like a resort than a hotel. You don't have to leave if you don't want to. They have everything. The Beach is wonderful and not crowded as it is huge. And as we were not traveling with kids, the adults only pool is great! I can't say much about the restaurants. We went into town to eat most of the time. The only negative is it is very pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind support. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our location on the Best Beach in America. We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel Del Coronado is our top spot to take out of town visitors that come to see us in San Diego. We absolutely adore this hotel. It is a beautiful historical hotel and is especially magnificent at christmas!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We appreciate your endorsement and pleased that you share this special resort with family and friends. The holidays are a magical time at The Del and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel. We took our kids for Spring Break. There is alot to do at the hotel with the pool, beach and activities for the kids. There are alot of restaurants in the hotel as well as within in walking distance. The Sunday brunch was the BEST I have ever had. The kids still talk about how good it was. This is a beautiful hotel and worth the money. We will come back soon.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the beach are awesome. Waking up to that view is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind support and we’re pleased that you and your family had such a memorable visit to The Del. Our award-winning Sunday Brunch is an amazing experience and we hope visiting the resort becomes an annual tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell Hall, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I really love the Del. It feels like a home away from home. The location is perfect. The weather is great. Great surrounding restaurants. It's an old Historic building but it has character. I had one incident but the director took care of it instantly. Very impressed. I will be back next year. Great service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are delighted that you think of The Del that way and appreciate the historic ambiance that makes the resort so special. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Del several times. The beachfront location on Coronado can not be beat. It must rely a little less on location & put more emphasis on service & upgrades. Service at both Babcock & Story & Eno was very slow & marginal. The food at Eno was very good however lunch at B&S was very low quality. Beach service is basic. You can get chairs & towels for the beach however there is a daily charge for a beach umbrella. Good luck finding help with beach set up... It is not standard.
As far as rooms go we always stay in the first floor of the California Cabanas. We love the patio with a view of the ocean. The rooms are showing some wear ' the A/C was less than efficient. For the cost of rooms at this hotel I would expect quality & service to be more in line with that of a 4 star property.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your loyalty. We apologize for the service issues you encountered and will share your review with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements. We appreciate your valuable input and hope in the future to impress you with the legendary service we strive to provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.