We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had such a wonderful time here! Pool was heated! Easy beach access! Service was amazing! Rooms were typical, nothing impressive, overpriced but the hotel itself made up for it. Food was ok, overpriced for hot dogs and dried burger patties. My kids wanted cheesburgers, we were charged for cheesburgers and ended up getting hamburgers which was so dry....it was too busy and packed to even request for melted cheese it would have taken another hour for us to receive our food. Was not impressive! Cost us $80 for 1 hot dog & 1 cheesburger & a side of fries & 1 medium drink. Should be expected...its hotel food, just felt if we were paying this much at least give us a good dog and a good burger worthy of the money spent! I think this hotel developed quite a history and name for itself that people stay here because of the reputation and the history behind it. Guest of the hotel or non-guest of the hotel, the staff at this hotel treated everyone very nicely!

Room Tip: ask for a suite that give you direct beach front access and close to the pool area. The hotel is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The Del. We apologize that aspects of your meal did not meet your expectations and will share your review with our culinary team. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,419
    821
    433
    283
    202
See reviews for
915
911
57
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are still at the Del as I'm writing this. We brought our kids here for the first time 3 years ago and have been dreaming of coming back ever since. This place is so special, it's pure magic. We had one small hiccup at check in that the staff bent over backwards to fix. Service is incredible, the location can't be beat and food in the restaurants is always great. Is it expensive? Yes, but you can't put a price on the charm of this historic place where you can feel the ghosts of yesteryear around every corner. And there are no words to describe the feeling you get when the sun is setting and the sky turns pink and reflects off the gold in the sand. We will be coming back here for years, hopefully one day with our grandchildren!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are thrilled that you felt compelled to write during your visit and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time here. We think our 125 years old history and wonderful location really contributes to a special charm and richness, too. We always strive to provide exceptional service and appreciate your recognition of our staff. We are looking forward to your return with your children and future grandchildren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just came back from visiting Coronado. For the first three days we stayed at the Del and don't get me wrong, the hotel was nice but lacking. First of all, we were given the impression that we would be in the main (older) part of the hotel and this did not happen. I don't know what the issue was because I had made the reservations in early January but the front desk clerk apologized nicely and put us in another building.Upon our entry into our assigned room, we were disappointed because the room was straightened but still showed signs of dirt. I guess it is a minor thing because of the beach community but maybe not? The first night at the Del we visited one of their bars and the staff didn't seem like they wanted to have anything to do with us. They appeared more interested in taking care of their servers and talking amongst themselves. This was maybe just bad luck but was starting to become a pattern. I will say this, we did encounter some outstanding staff, the bellmen, all the pool staff and some of the valet come to mind. The overall experience seemed over promised and under delivered and we will not be going back anytime soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We apologize that we were unable to fulfill your request which is based on availability and that aspects of your visit here did not meet your expectations. We will share your input with our staff to make necessary improvements for the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden Dunes, IN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have three children (11, 9, 5) and were headed out west for a California vacation. We planned to spend 3 nights at the del and then move on to experience different activities. Our first three nights were lovely. We stayed in an ocean front room in one of the newer towers. The view was very nice, the room nicely sized for a pull-out for our oldest, and the decor was updated and very nice. The best part of the del was the atmosphere and activities that kept all entertained. We beach combed in the morning viewing everything from starfish to living sand dollars. This was all happening while Navy seals ran the beach in training. The brunch was wonderful Sunday morning, and afternoon activities included a family surf lesson and then surf board rentals once we got the hang of things. There is an ice cream shop, candy store, coffee shop, and a lovely deck with fire pits to enjoy the sun set with an adult beverage. We also enjoyed the samores on the beach. The kids were having fun, which allowed us to relax. We left after our third night to travel onwards. At the end of our trip, we found ourselves at a golf resort that was too stuffy for our taste. They were kind enough to allow us to back out of our reservations and our entire family decided to give the Del a call to see if we could come back. They had room and we did return for the remainder of our trip. This time no view, but a nicely sized jr. suite in the old Victorian portion of the hotel. The room had high ceilings, lots of room, and was nicely decorated. While I prefer looking at the ocean, the location of the Victorian portion of the hotel has its advantages. Those include proximity to the shops, coffee shop, and restaurants. Each location has its advantages, but we were very comfortable in each location.

Room Tip: If you like the ocean, then a room in the ocean tower is a nice choice. If proximity to meeting roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed both of your visits to The Del and were able to experience our award- winning Sunday Brunch as well as take advantage of the numerous activities we offer. We like to think each of our accommodations (Victorian Building, California Cabanas, Ocean Towers, and Beach Village) have distinctive qualities to appeal to everyone and we are glad that you liked both locations. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fun-filled and relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

we really had a great time. great location, beautiful spacious rooms. They had outstanding facilities and the staff was very helpful. The hotel has a wonderful feel to it, great shops and so on. i would recommend it to everyone, one of the nicest hotels we#ve visited in a long time. oh
i loved the bathroom products they provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are pleased that you had a lovely time at The Del. We like to think that the history that has been built here for 125 years contributes to a unique and enjoyable ambiance. Our online shop sells the bath products so that you can always keep a part of The Del with you at home. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Del last week ..... The hole is grand and old without feeling outdated....the spa was outstanding with great facilities and very friendly staff ... The beachfront deck on Saturday and Sunday with live music and cocktails was a real treat ... Tourists were a numerous but not too distracting... Rooms have been updated very tastefully and with comfort in mind.....well worth a stay

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and appreciate the rich history of The Del. We strive to always provide legendary service and value your recognition of our great staff. We hope you come visit again for some more beachfront fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you are expecting the hotel rooms to reflect the price paid per room, you will probably be disappointed. It is a very expensive hotel for the type of room that you will get. That said, the hotel has a wonderful feel to it...it is very rich in history and there is so much to see while walking around. We had dinner at the pizza restaurant on the property and it was absolutely fantastic. The town of Coronado is very lovely and there is a lot to see within the resort itself. I would advise going into the stay knowing that your room will be comfortable, but not grand or luxurious but that there is plenty to see and do within the town and hotel to keep you busy.

Room Tip: The towers are really generic, make sure to ask for a room in the old building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience the sights and activities that The Del and Coronado have to offer. And, we are delighted that your dinner at ENO was fantastic – we think the pizzas from our wood-fired over are wonderful, too. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, EasyToBook, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.