We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Del Coro-Not-Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel del Coronado to your Saves list
Hotel del Coronado
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3 Nights, Get $300
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Coronado
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Del Coro-Not-Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here with family over Spring Break and we were very unimpressed. We booked a junior suite and while the room was spacious, it was dated and had a musty smell. There was one bar of soap next to the sink and an empty mini refrigerator. The first afternoon we were there, we went down to the pool to find it closed due to a child accident (ala caddyshack, ok [--] happens). That next morning, the fire alarm woke us up at 5am and nobody knew what was going on. Eventually the alarm stopped and the hotel made one, barely audible announcement over the loud system and evey time I called the front desk, it went to voicemail. Our kids were very upset and did not get back to bed which created a great day for us parents that day with 2 overtired kids! Checking out, I complained to the manager who used what seems to be the first line of defense "are you having breakfast with us...?". When I told her since our night was basically ruined and asked to take one of the nights off the bill, she said she could not do that but could apply a $200 credit to our bill. Any luxury 5 star hotel would have removed the night without any prodding but we took the credit and was happy to check out. While you may read this and think my wife and I just had a bad experience and didn't get what we wanted and are therefore writing a negative review, you have been warned. For the prices they charge, you are better off staying elsewhere. While its nice to have the beach/ocean right there, I would look somewhere else on Coronado or better yet, stay in the city of San Diego and take a ride on to Coronado if you want. This hotel is in dire need of a facelift if it wants to be a luxury hotel and we were so surprised especially after reading a great review in USAToday recently (guess their dollars are going towards PR and not the hotel itself). This hotel reminded us of The Breakers in Palm Beach but if you've been to The Breakers, it is 10x nicer with better amenities and service. If you are used to luxury hotels, think twice before booking the Dell.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the Del. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and will share your review with appropriate management to make the necessary improvements. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,304
    765
    407
    269
    197
See reviews for
859
831
53
479
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding room block (thus I assumed rooms with no view). We had a amazing view right on the beach. The room was spotless and nicely updated. The staff was extremely friendly and chatted with us at the pool and restaurants. They let us check in very early with no problem as well. My grandmother traveled the world for the vast majority of her adult life and I still remember as a little girl her telling me that her favorite hotel in the U.S. was Hotel Del (it came on Unsolved Mysteries). Very good experience!

Room Tip: There are various buildings all over the property. I recommend asking for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Del and your amazing view. We appreciate your recognition of our exception staff. Thank you for your kind support and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have dreamed of staying at the Del for years, and finally brought my family to enjoy. I was very disappointed and upset about the experience. Our room was not in the historical hotel and was a handicap room. It would have been nice to have been told this up front. The chairs in the room looked like they belonged in a junk yard. The room was not vacuumed. Peanuts and gum were on the floor. I read all these comments about service....what service? As a guest, there was no special service at all. Anyone can walk in off the street and eat in any of the restaurants and get service prior to the guests. They do not go above and beyond for their guest. The two guys that helped with our fire on the beach were the only two people knew how to provide good customer service. That was the best thing that happened on our trip. The concierge was not knowledgeable - he gave us the wrong hours for Sea World. The beach is beautiful, but I would not waste your money to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your Del experience. We are glad that you had a positive experience with your beach bonfire and apologize that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We will share this review with the appropriate management to make the necessary improvements. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Wife and I took the kids for our spring break. Two rooms at $500 a night. Rooms in the academic sense that they had a bed and a bathroom. Half eaten fig newtons on the floor, curtains with blood and other unknown stains on them, room decor about 10 years old. This place is so overpriced and in desperate need of a major updating. For $500 a night we stay at a two bedroom two bath brand new 1200 sq feet condo on the beach in Maui. Clean beaches, clean rooms and the rental car is included. The main pool at the Hotel Del is crowded with lounge chairs so much so that you cannot walk in between them. The pool is 5 feet deep in the middle the rest if 2 and 3 ft deep. Beach is dirty, cold water and nothing special at all. It is a shame this used to be a great property but is really in a state of disarray. The lobby and shops are updated and impressive, but apparently no money has been spent trying to make the actual sleeping rooms for $500 an evening remotely appealing and clean. Save your money and go to a resort that actually cares about the appearance and accommodations of their rooms and common areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay here at The Del. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel del Coronado for our 7th anniversary.I will make this review short and sweet.This hotel is the best in San Diego!.....

Why?
#1. Best Location (the only Hotel that is ON the Beach in San Diego,and I mean on the beach not across the street!!!
#2. The Beach that the hotel sits on is Beautiful!!! (Coronado Beach) the sand actually has a gold texture to it!
#3. Historical and Beautiful grounds and atmosphere
#4. Impeccable service
#5. Great places to eat on site
#6. Shopping inside the hotel
#7. Romantic Setting
#8. Live music at the restaurants.
#9. Outdoor patio bar overlooking the Ocean
#10.LOCATION!!!! I know I already mentioned location,but while in San Diego we looked at the other hotels while in the area and this one is by far in the BEST LOCATION!!!! Well worth the Price!!

Room Tip: Try to get a partial or Ocean view with a sitting balcony... it is well worth it looking out at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at The Del and that you were able to experience everything The Del has to offer. The resort has a long history of romance and we’re thrilled you’re now a part of it. Thank you for your enthusiastic support and we hope to become an annual tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Love The Del, as usual. Probably been there a dozen times, and we never tire of the impeccable service, beautiful scenery, delicious meals, and fun shopping excursions! We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We love the full ocean-view rooms--beautiful to wake up to the Pacific Ocean every morning...and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to The Del. We are thrilled that every time you visit you are able to experience the amenities, services, and nuances that make the resort so special. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

it is a very beautiful and historic hotel.....with its own ghost! Anyway the best part of the hotel was an elevator with a attendant. The staff was very helpful and cordial. I needed a microwave to heat some food and they had one in my room in a short while. The smores on the beach is a unforgettable experience that should not be missed.if possible try to get a room as high as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments and loyalty to The Del. We are glad that you were able to experience the history, dining, and little nuances that make the Del special. Thank you for your recognition of our staff, as we are always aiming to provide legendary service. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Business Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#8 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#11 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel del Coronado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.